We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ok, not the best”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Kimpton Donovan Hotel
Ranked #23 of 141 Hotels in Washington DC
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 11 June 2014 via mobile

I was sorely disappointed with my stay here. It's not that the hotel itself did anything wrong per se, however I found my experience here mostly enjoyable and not worth the price. I had accepted a "deal" on Hotwire, only to find out later that the discount I received was the same discount granted to AAA Members and seniors.

I later learned that college-aged folks enjoy staying overnight so they can party on the rooftop bar where there is a pool that is closed at night.

The hotel was small, with narrow confined rooms, odd decor at best. The bed looked to have an incomplete canopy that could fall at any moment. The shower looked to be a space shuttle ready for take-off.

The staff was generally nice, though not everyone was the most accommodating.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank TourLocalLife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elif H, Assistant General Manager at Kimpton Donovan Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 June 2014

TourLocalLife,

Thank you for your review!

I am very dissapointed to read that we could not meet your overall expectations.

Our rooms are newly renovated but truly sorry to hear that they are not to your liking. We do host special occasions such as wedding receptions and different type of catering events at our hotel. I do hope that you were not disturbed by that as it should not be heard from our guest rooms.


If you decide to come back to visit us in the future, please reach out to me at elif.hendrickson@donovanhousehotel.com with any requests or questions you might have.

Thank you again,

Cheers

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,767)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,126 - 1,132 of 1,767 reviews

Reviewed 8 June 2014

Pros: 90% of staff is friendly & on top of their game; nice restaurant; good security features for a city hotel; cute rooms; nice desk in room; cute robes; good clothes iron in room.

Not so great: Room size a bit on small side (although for a city hotel, I suppose that could be expected); Failed to leave breakfast order menu in room after first night (no-no for business traveler who needs to work from room in mornings over breakfast); not the best bathroom and shower design - showerhead so close to wall that you cant truly get much of yourself under it) - although it does look really cool. Restaurant serves "small plates" - no entrees - so you have to order a bunch of small dishes. They get very busy and service and food delivery times go downhill. So if you are there for business rather than "experience" better to get dinner in before it gets too late - otherwise it will take quite awhile.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Zmia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elif H, Assistant General Manager at Kimpton Donovan Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 June 2014

Zmia,

Thank you for your review!

I truly appreciate your constructive feedback as this is the best way to improve our service and products. We hope that you will give us another opportunity to correct our service

We hope to see you soon...

Elif H.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 June 2014

i've stayed here a couple of times while traveling for business in DC. great location just blocks from White House and McPherson Sq metro stop. it's a boutique hotel and wonderfully quirky and stylish. The spiral showers are the talk of anyone staying here! Staff is very accommodating which I was a bit surprised at since my experience with staff at other boutique hotels has been less than positive. Cost is relative to other places in the area.. it won't be cheap.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Julie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elif H, Assistant General Manager at Kimpton Donovan Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 June 2014

Julie P.,

Thank you for a great review!

It is great to read that you truly enjoyed your stays with us. I love reading reviews like yours where true Kimpton experience is enlivened.

We look forward to having you back with us!!!

Thank you,

Elif H.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 June 2014

I have been meaning to write this review since March 2014. I am an Special Event Planner. I work with many hotels in the DC area. Donovan House is a treasure. Managers wine hour every week night. Awesome bar wonderful food choices. Front desk staff totally amazing...Brittany and Kevin...Kudos to you...Marina Wagner, know exactly how to present and represent her Kimpton Property. All the rooms are different...Donovan House, I will see you in October. Due to the great service, I will also be using Hotel Monaco as well. Thanks and keep up the good work!!!



Smithsonian Astrophysical Observatory

Room Tip: Don't bother going out for dinner, dine at the restaurant in the hotel. Prices are fair and dri...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jenine617
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elif H, General Manager at Kimpton Donovan Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 June 2014

Dear Jenine 617,

Wow!!! What a great review!

I truly enjoyed reading your comments and personally thanked our staff for exceeding your expectations. It always make me feel so proud to be part of this great team.

I would love to personally meet you when you return in October.

Thank you and see you soon!!!

Elif H

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2014

My husband and I booked this hotel for a little getaway in late May 2014 and the hotel exceeded our expectations. We arrived around 11am on a Tuesday and were given access to our room immediately. The rooms were nice and clean. We really loved the spiral shower and our "city view" was fabulous even though we were only on the 5th floor! The rooftop pool was a lovey haven after a long day of traveling. We ordered cocktails and sushi from the Zentan Restaurant... probably some of the best sushi we have ever had! The best surprise came at 5pm when the lobby transforms itself into a "happy hour lounge" and offers a "free wine hour" until 6pm. You have your choice of red or white wine and can have as many refills as you like. They also feature complimentary appetizers and sushi from the Zentan Restaurant, along with some of the most delicious spicy trail mix. The staff was nice and friendly and knew us by the end of our stay. They recommended great restaurants, lounges and things to do around the city. But one of the best lounges we encountered was the Donovan's own Rooftop Pool Lounge which opens at 6pm! Great atmosphere, reasonably priced drinks and gorgeous views! We also took advantage of the free bike rentals which was a wonderful way to view the D.C. area. Needless to say we loved our stay and the Donovan House and would stay here again!

Room Tip: Ask for a "city view"
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Vivian S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elif H, General Manager at Kimpton Donovan Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 June 2014

Dear Vivien,

Thank your choosing our Hotel for your little gateway. I am so thrilled to hear that you had a great time and we exceeded your expectations.

We can not wait to have you back with us soon.

Cheers

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2014

Nice features: complimentary wine early evening, friendly staff, location, easy access to Metro, comfortable bedding, beautiful views and serenity of rooftop pool/lounge in day time. Just eh: hipster/ dark décor a little depressing; pool not ideal for kids because small and intimate; rooftop pool closed in evenings; attached restaurant very pricey and offerings mostly limited to sushi; small lobby. Overall, I felt the hip hype was overrated. This might have been a more ideal for a couple, but I brought my two kids and found it to be a bit too 'adult' for the kids (i.e.: be quiet and well behaved in the pool).

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank serenaleland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elif H, Assistant General Manager at Kimpton Donovan Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 June 2014

Serenaleland,

Thank you for your review!

I do appreciate you pointing the goods and areas to improve on your review.

As much as we would love to keep our pool open for later hours, it is closed for the security and safety of our guests when the bar is open for both internal and external guests.

Your valuable feedback is also shared with our restaurant team, so thank you.

We hope that you will give us another opportunity in the future.

Thank you for staying with us.

Cheers,

Elif H.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2014

This Kimpton hotel continues the Kimpton brand philosophy of hipness - there's a log of eggplant paint on the walls and the Star Trek transporter showers are good for a chuckle or two (although you won't fit if you're 6' 6" or taller). One can imagine Kimpton properties as the official hotel of Austin Powers.

Past the fun mid-century touches and the egg chairs suspended in the lobby, however, the hotel still has to function as a hotel. In that, this property comes up average at best.

This was a renovation of a property at Thomas Circle, perhaps the DC Circle farthest away from any good Metro connections or stops; luckily, many good eateries are within a short walk. The elevators are slow, small and retro (to put it mildly). Everywhere in this property, ceilings are low and hallways are NYC-style small. Rooms themselves are reasonably ample, but then you open up the closet to hang up clothes, and you realize that's impossible because the in-room safe and three drawers are taking up all but the top 2 feet of space below the closet rod. I ended up having to hang shirts above the second bed, taking advantage of the completely non-functional but definitely hip trim above the beds.

One thing this property does right: The TVs are practically a religious experience. Probably 60 inches, inset into a decorative border that gives you a true cinema experience from the comfort of your bed. Good HD channels to boot.

Unfortunately, location and lack of practical detail would probably steer me away from this particular Kimpton property in the future. When you reno a property in this day and age, it's possible to be both kitschy-hip AND practical. Kimpton needs to learn this.

Room Tip: If you need closet space, ask specifically at check-in if the assigned room has a clear closet - or...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank DenverBrian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elif H, Assistant General Manager at Kimpton Donovan Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 May 2014

Dear DenverBrian,

Thank you for sharing your valuable and detailed feedback with us.

Our elevators are scheduled to be renewed very soon and we will certainly take your feedback into consideration for our future renovations.

I appreciate the details on your review as this is the best way to improve our service and products for our valuable guests.

Hope you will give us another chance in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
Kimpton Mason & Rook Hotel
#41 of 141 in Washington DC
604 reviews
Kimpton George Hotel
#20 of 141 in Washington DC
2,219 reviews
Dupont Circle
Kimpton Hotel Palomar Washington DC
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sofitel Washington DC
#19 of 141 in Washington DC
3,281 reviews
Dupont Circle
The Dupont Circle
The Dupont Circle
#22 of 141 in Washington DC
3,393 reviews
Dupont Circle
Kimpton Hotel Madera
Kimpton Hotel Madera
#56 of 141 in Washington DC
1,297 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kimpton Donovan Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kimpton Donovan Hotel

Address: 1155 14th St NW, Washington DC, DC 20005-4111
Phone Number:
Region: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Upper Northwest
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Luxury Hotel in Washington DC
#16 Green Hotel in Washington DC
#24 Business Hotel in Washington DC
#35 Family Hotel in Washington DC
#41 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range: £108 - £515 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Kimpton Donovan Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 193
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Kimpton Donovan Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Donovan Hotel a Thompson
Donovan House Washington Dc

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing