We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Interesting Place” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of National Museum of Crime & Punishment - CLOSED

National Museum of Crime & Punishment
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: Yes
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
College Park, Maryland
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Interesting Place”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 January 2012

The museum is really interesting. Check out the CSI labs online. My wife and I went to the one on blood splattering and it was fabulous! We will come back for other CSI labs and won't have to pay to get into the museum. Be sure to drive the police car in the simulation and go along with the police to serve a warrant (don't get shot)! We stayed about an hour, went out to eat in Chinatown and came back for 2 more hours since the museum didn't close until 8:00. It was a great outing! One warning - this is not a place for young children since it profiles a lot of criminals. It is also accessible which was great!

Visited January 2012
Helpful?
Thank Melvin G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CrimeMuseumStaff, Director of Sales at National Museum of Crime & Punishment, responded to this review, 27 January 2012
Thank you so much for writing this amazing review! We are so happy to hear that you had a great time with your wife. The Blood & DNA lab is great. I'm glad you enjoyed it! We also offer other labs like The Total CSI Experience, Fingerprinting and Impressions, Body Decomposition, and many more. Next time you are here definitely try a different one. Thank you again! Hope to see you here soon! :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

925 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    484
    302
    91
    36
    12
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Virginia Beach, Virginia
Level Contributor
93 reviews
33 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Better than the spy museum!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 January 2012

My husband and I enjoyed visiting this museum and were upset that we hadn't decided to go there earlier in the day to really see everything. We went in at 6pm or so and really two hours is not enough to take in all that was displayed. They covered everything from outlaws, mobsters, present day criminals, various types of prisons, the history of each, and so much more. There isn't enough space here to detail everything. Go here first, and then maybe if you want and have some energy left, then go to the spy museum.

Visited January 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank amr1976
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CrimeMuseumStaff, Director of Sales at National Museum of Crime & Punishment, responded to this review, 19 January 2012
Thank you so much for writing this awesome review! We are glad to hear you had a great time. We do have a lot of interesting information and can completely understand how sometimes two hours is not enough! You will just have to come again! Next time you are here participate in one of our public CSI labs. They are so much fun! For more information go on our website! Thank you again! :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bronx, New York
Level Contributor
21 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Intriguing”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 January 2012

Amazing that it is the location of AMW. The walk through of the museum was so interesting and educational. Definitely recommend as a must visit while in Washington, DC

Visited January 2012
Helpful?
Thank NewlyMrsRodriguez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CrimeMuseumStaff, Director of Sales at National Museum of Crime & Punishment, responded to this review, 19 January 2012
Thank you so much for writing a review! Next time you visit, try one of our public CSI labs on Saturdays. They are extremely interesting and educational. Thank you again for your business!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Baltimore, Maryland
Level Contributor
324 reviews
186 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 177 helpful votes
“Morbid, Shocking, Interesting-You Will Love It!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 January 2012

A museum that covers the issues of crime and punishment for the last five hundred years may seem a little morbid, but it was interesting. Nothing too morbid or frightening if you are traveling with young children. There were plenty of young children on the day we visited. Lots of real artifacts mixed with replicas to help tell the story of crime and punishment. We though we would be in the museum for about two hours and ended up spending nearly four! We took the self guided tour and did not take the CSI tour which has an additional cost. Plenty of parking on the street, but metered spaces are limited to two hours. So, you may need to run outside and pay for additional time (as I had to do). Wheelchair and stroller accessible.One member of our group was in a wheelchair and we had no trouble getting her around the museum.

Visited January 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank LoveEurope411
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CrimeMuseumStaff, Director of Sales at National Museum of Crime & Punishment, responded to this review, 19 January 2012
Thank you so much for writing this review. There is definitely something in the museum for people of all ages. I am glad to hear you spent so much time here. The information we have is so interesting that it is easy to stay in here for hours! :) Next time you are visiting try one of our public CSI labs or our Top Detective Challenge. Check out our website for more information. Both are so much fun! Thank you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC
Level Contributor
198 reviews
85 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
“Just like being in CSI”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 January 2012

Get your tickets...awesome ..spent at least 3 hours here

Helpful?
Thank AsianBelle98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CrimeMuseumStaff, Director of Sales at National Museum of Crime & Punishment, responded to this review, 19 January 2012
Thank you for writing a review! Come back and participate in one of our public CSI labs! They will really make you feel like your are a CSI! :) Thank you for your business!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed National Museum of Crime & Punishment also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing