We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Neat place to visit”

National Museum of Crime & Punishment
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: Yes
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
lovethebeach79
Level Contributor
32 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Neat place to visit”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 June 2014 via mobile

We visited with a 12 and 15 year old recently. Everyone in my party liked the museum and there is a lot of interesting information to look at and read. It is cheaper to buy tickets online or look for a discount elsewhere, not sure I would have paid full price to go with all the other free museums to visit in DC, but we did enjoy our visit.

Helpful?
Thank luvthebeach79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CrimeMuseumStaff, Manager at National Museum of Crime & Punishment, responded to this review, 2 July 2014
Hi luvthebeach79!
We are thrilled that everyone in your group liked the museum and found the information interesting! Thank you for your review and thank you for visiting us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

925 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    484
    302
    91
    36
    12
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Van Horne
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Good place to visit, when you have a little time to "kill".”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 June 2014 via mobile

We (my husband an I, and our two sons- 14 and 10) visited the Crime Museum on our last day in DC. We had a couple hours to kill, before we needed to catch our shuttle to the airport.
What a neat place. Multiple exhibits took you on a journey through the "tools" of punishment used in medieval to modern times. Examples of the weapons used by some of the more famous lawmen (Wyatt Earp) and criminals (like John Dillinger or the Unibomber). Tons of info on notorious gangsters and serial killers- including props from movies. They also had areas dedicated to crime scene investigators, detectives...the good guys!
My sons really enjoyed the patrol training simulators (where the could "shoot" the criminals and "drive" the cruisers).
This is not a FREE museum, like so many others in DC. But, the admission cost wasn't terrible.

Helpful?
1 Thank Michelle B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CrimeMuseumStaff, Manager at National Museum of Crime & Punishment, responded to this review, 2 July 2014
Hi Michelle B!
We are so glad that your family was able to visit us during your trip to DC! Happy to hear that you enjoyed the various exhibits and your sons had a great time with the interactives! Thank you for your review! We hope to see you all again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kristiansand, Norway
Level Contributor
228 reviews
120 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
“Nice and interesting place”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 June 2014 via mobile

If you're into crime, police, gangsters or even pirates and western outlaws. Then this is great for you.

Tip: dont't waste your time on the detective part if your into it for the prize. If you do it for the challange, go for it.

Helpful?
1 Thank enurweb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CrimeMuseumStaff, Manager at National Museum of Crime & Punishment, responded to this review, 24 June 2014
Hi enurweb!
We are so happy that you came to visit us! Thank you for taking time to write a review!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dubuque, Iowa
Level Contributor
55 reviews
38 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Fun museum”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 June 2014

This spent hours in this museum. There were a lot of hands on activities for the kids both big and small. This was well worth the money.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Diane R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CrimeMuseumStaff, Manager at National Museum of Crime & Punishment, responded to this review, 24 June 2014
Hi Diane R!
We are so glad that you had fun at our museum and enjoyed the interactives! Thank you for your review! We hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
key biscayne, Fl
Level Contributor
110 reviews
31 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“A lot of fun!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 June 2014

A great place for all! Spent at least three hours here enjoying the exhibits and solving the mystery. Everyone in our family thoroughly enjoyed this museum and I highly recommend for families with pre-teens and teens. Smaller children would enjoy the exhibits but might not fully comprehend the crime solving.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank punnina65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CrimeMuseumStaff, Manager at National Museum of Crime & Punishment, responded to this review, 24 June 2014
Hi punnina65!
Thank you for visiting us! We are thrilled that your whole family had a great time! We appreciate your recommendation and your review! Hope to see you all again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed National Museum of Crime & Punishment also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing