We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“So un expected”

National Museum of Crime & Punishment
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: Yes
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Reviewed 11 July 2014

From start to finish you are engaged and fascinated . From the information on the Wild West to modern times there is so much to see and for me I like to interact and here you don't know where to start

3  Thank sandra523
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CrimeMuseumStaff, Director of Sales at National Museum of Crime & Punishment, responded to this reviewResponded 23 July 2014

Sandra523,

We are thrilled you enjoyed the museum. Thank you so much for the 5 star review! We love having fans across the pond!

Susan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviews (921)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages
All reviews
"law enforcement"
in 50 reviews
"bonnie and clyde"
in 21 reviews
"famous criminals"
in 16 reviews
"al capone"
in 11 reviews
"csi"
in 146 reviews
"forensic"
in 82 reviews
"scenes"
in 10 reviews
Filter

302 - 306 of 921 reviews

Reviewed 9 July 2014

This is my absolute favorite museum I have ever been to. The set up is great. The ambiance is perfect. If you love criminals and crime, this is the place for you!

2  Thank courtneye736
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CrimeMuseumStaff, Manager at National Museum of Crime & Punishment, responded to this reviewResponded 11 July 2014

Hi Courtney E!
We are THRILLED that we are your absolute favorite museum of all time!! Thank you for your review and for the compliments! We can’t wait to see you again soon! :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2014

This place is big - and yes it is expensive - but you could spend all day in here. We spent 4 hours and did not really see everything on the other two floors. Many fascinating exhibits and details. Lots of interactive things to do. The simulators were fun (driving and target engagement). The entry floor is all about crime and punishment, the next floor down is CSI/Forensics, and I am not even sure what is on the 3rd floor. I would skip the audio guide - not much information on it. They have a "scavenger hunt" type thing to do - which is fun also - but costs an extra 10 bucks. My 17 year old had a lot of fun with that. There are a couple places to sit there - but seating is limited if you are going to be there for a while. The bathroom is almost at the end of the first floor, which makes it kind of hard. Would definitely go again, but spend all day and take some food with me. Gift shop is very small by the way.

Thank William H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CrimeMuseumStaff, Manager at National Museum of Crime & Punishment, responded to this reviewResponded 11 July 2014

Hi William H!
We are so happy that you had a great day at our museum! Also happy to hear that your 17-year-old had fun with the Top Detective Challenge! We recently opened our brand new Counterfeit Crime gallery on the lower-level; you will have to come back and check it out! :-)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2014

This museum takes you on a 3 floor trip of america's nastiest from John Wayne Gacy (scary) to Bonnie & Clyde (romantic) with all others in between, from pirates to wild west, to prohibition era to modern (Gacy). You can discover little known fact about the criminals, crimes & institutions and lawmen that contained them- very interesting. Also lots of interactive exhibits to keep teenagers entertained including police line-up,fingerprinting, emergency vehicle driving and shooting gallery. Interior is a bit too dark when you are there for a while (took 3 hours to go around & could have stayed longer), but eventually you suffer information overload & leave. Could do with a coffee shop on the premises which would break up your visit.

1  Thank Carmel H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CrimeMuseumStaff, Manager at National Museum of Crime & Punishment, responded to this reviewResponded 11 July 2014

Hi Carmel H!
Thank you for your informative review! We are thrilled that you had fun at our museum! For future reference, you are able to leave the museum and return if you need a coffee or snack break! We hope to see you on your next trip to DC!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 8 July 2014

Did not like it at all, a waste of time. Some interesting things but nothing that you can't find on the internet. Rip off pricing.

1  Thank Margar88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CrimeMuseumStaff, Manager at National Museum of Crime & Punishment, responded to this reviewResponded 11 July 2014

Hi Margar88,
We understand that our museum may not be for everyone, but we do appreciate your feedback. Thank you!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed National Museum of Crime & Punishment also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing