We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Prettiest Place in the Midwest”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Door County

Door County
Book In Advance
More Info
US$26.38*
and up
Door County Paddle Board Rental
Ranked #287 of 1,576 things to do in Wisconsin
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Known for its numerous historical and working lighthouses, Door County in eastern Wisconsin is rich in cultural attractions and outdoor activities.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Prettiest Place in the Midwest”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 March 2014

When I had a friend from New England who complained constantly about how ugly Illinois is (and the Midwest as a whole) compared to the New England states he was used to I packed our bags and drove him from Chicago to Door County, Wisconsin for a Fall camping trip. I photographed him pointing from a rock outcropping pointing towards Lake Michigan with an enormous smile on his face just after he spoke these words about the Door County landscape, "It's as beautiful as Maine! I feel like I'm in Maine!!"

What more can be said of Door County except that it is even more beautiful in the winter than it is in the summer. We spent Thanksgiving up there and were lucky to have the most beautiful snowfall for our 5 day visit.

Door County, any time of the year is a MUST SEE!

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank annall_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

135 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    94
    23
    9
    2
    7
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Bloomington, Minnesota
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A Little Heaven on Earth”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 December 2013

My mom and I have vacationed often in Door County and have always loved the trip. Lots of shops, great restaurants, and beautiful golf courses all up and down the Door. Also, one of the most peaceful places to go and just relax.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Laura O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grand Rapids, Michigan
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Lovely, relaxing time in Door County, WI”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 October 2013

Third week of September 2013: Started with a couple of nights at Little Harbor Inn on Sturgeon Bay. Did some exploring from here then moved up to Homestead Inn at Fish Creek for three more nights. Branched out from there to explore also. Great time of year--less crowded--but still warm, sunny weather. So many things to do we could have enjoyed another week!

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank sewkraz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Streator, Illinois
Level Contributor
109 reviews
30 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Great time”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 October 2013

Been through Door County twice in my life. Most recently a bit over a year ago. And to call it an attraction is probably good to do. With all the small towns along the way and the Bay and Lake on either side, you can find something to do somewhere. It's got a little bit of everything for everyone. There are the Lighthouses, the good food, the wineries, etc. You shouldn't get too bored while you are there.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank 1roadwarrior10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Bend, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Door County Adventure”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 October 2013

My friend and I went up to Door County the end of September. We stayed in Fish Creek. It is a great location. It was a little before peak colors. Fish Creek is one mile from Peninsula State Park where we rented bikes and did one of the many bike trails to explore. We saw the sunset from the park overlooking Lake Michigan which was awesome! The shops and stores are quaint. Orchard Winery is nearby where we got a lesson on wine making and a tour of the vineyards. A theater in Fish Creek provided a fun night out. Overall our weekend was great! We would like to go back up there again and explore further up north next time.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
5 Thank SuzyQ Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Door County also viewed

Baileys Harbor, Door County
 
Sturgeon Bay, Door County
Washington Island, Door County
 

Been to Door County? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing