We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Food, convienient location”

Jim 'N Nick's Alabaster
Ranked #3 of 72 Restaurants in Alabaster
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$10 - US$25
Cuisines: American, Bar, Barbecue
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Kids, Groups
Dining options: Dinner, Drinks, Lunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: Slow smoked Bar-B-Q, sweet Southern hospitality in a relaxed atmosphere. All scratch-made trimmings, fabulous salads, rolling-pin-fresh pies and famous for our cheese biscuits. Full bar, catering, private dining, outdoor seating, drive-thru, to-go all available. Give us a try & you'll know why we've been voted Birmingham's best Bar-B-Q many years running!
Bowling Green, Kentucky
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Good Food, convienient location”
Reviewed 17 February 2014

Good Food, convienient location, barbecue sauce is a favorite of mine. Chicken or Ribs you cant go wrong, make sure you try the Cheese Biscuits

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank Rick V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

110 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    59
    29
    13
    4
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Jefferson City, MO
Level Contributor
234 reviews
192 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
“I really enjoy the Turkey”
Reviewed 13 February 2014

I would read negative reviews of this place with a great deal of skepticism. Jim and Nicks is consistently great food, and I have never had a bad server. The turkey is cooked to perfection and is served with a white sauce. Yeah, that seems odd at a BBQ place, but its actually quite good. The little biscuits they give you are great too. The banana pudding is very thick and very rich, and is a dessert that will last you all day. But my favorite thing on the menu is the Collard Greens. I've not tried the creamed variety, but the plain old cooked collards are about the best you're likely to find. Definitely put this place on your trip!

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank DeWitt65101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
P. C. Fl.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
“Worst food Ever!”
Reviewed 11 November 2013

1st server was great but she had to leave. The only thing decent was the sweet tea and banana pudding. Pork was greasy . Fried chicken was burnt in places.Mac and cheese, mashed potatos and fried green tomato were disgusting.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mccubed2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, Alabama
Level Contributor
103 reviews
76 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Southern barbecue at it's best.”
Reviewed 10 August 2013 via mobile

Jim N' Nicks is an excellent barbecue no matter the location. I especially enjoy the barbeque chicken. Always choose the cheese biscuits. Their deserts are second to none.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Doctormonty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miami, FL
Level Contributor
28 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Excellent all around”
Reviewed 4 July 2013 via mobile

We ate here on a Monday night so it was not busy. Our server was great. The pulled pork was sweet and smoky with lots of flavor but I would not order the fries again. Mac and cheese and creams spinach were delicious but save room for dessert! Lemon pie and chocolate pie were the best I ever ate!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank chris_miami
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Jim 'N Nick's Alabaster also viewed

 

Been to Jim 'N Nick's Alabaster? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing