We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Incredibly Nice Experience”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Alexander City
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Mistletoe Bough Bed and Breakfast
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Incredibly Nice Experience”
Reviewed 28 May 2013

We agree with previous reviews that it was more like staying with friends than at a regular bed and breakfast. JoAnn was a delightful and interesting hostess. The food was delicious and the room was very comfortable. We thoroughly enjoyed the Nanny Room with the private deck. We'll have great memories for many years to come of sharing a bottle of sparkling wine and relaxing on the deck overseeing the gorgeous yard. Highly recommended as a romantic get-a-way for young couples like us. We had a GREAT time! We'll definitely be back.

Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Gina L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

64 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    61
    3
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
8
42
4
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Virginia
Level Contributor
139 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 May 2013

What a beautiful setting and house in central Alabama...ideal southern hospitality and exquisite decoration in this beautiful old home...breakfast was delicious with fresh herbs, fruits, and a yummy egg omelet and hot biscuits. You'll love just sitting on one of the home's many porches. Also close to the downtown--only a 5-10min walk to local restaurants and antique shops.

Room Tip: for a lot of space and king size bed, choose the master suite
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank xenaht2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AuntJoAnn, Owner at Mistletoe Bough Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, 26 May 2013
Mistletoe Bough guests are the nicest people on the planet.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
1,360 reviews
311 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 499 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 April 2013

JoAnn the owner is a real firecracker and I had a great stay here for two nights. It felt like I was staying with friends.

I had Andrea's Room and it's high ceilings and wooden floors were lovely. It was expansive yet cozy.

With a gas heater, small TV, sofa and soft chairs to sink into. The bathroom is long and skinny but efficient.

A hot drinks station is outside on the landing. The off-street parking is a definite bonus.

The breakfasts JoAnn comes up with are fantastic. In fact, if I lived in town I would come over for breakfast regularly.

Stay here when you want to see the Wellborn Musclecar Museum and Russell Lands.

I highly recommend this B&B.

Room Tip: Andrea's room was lovely with a bathroom smothered in sweet peas.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ThePackedBag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oklahoma
Level Contributor
361 reviews
141 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 195 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 February 2013

You could feel the love that Jo Ann has for her beautiful home. Then you can see that love in all of the attention to every little detail that has been personally addressed. Her love of Sweetpeas and Wisteria show up not only in the stunning place settings at the table but the great paintings and pictures that adorn the rooms. That is just some of the delightful icing on the cake of this splendid home. Even though it was winter the gardens were great, with the camelias glowing like rubies. The breakfast was beyond delicious and served as though we were celebrities. Oh yes, the beds were great too.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tigilau
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shalimar, Florida
Level Contributor
655 reviews
129 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 329 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 November 2012

This B&B is visually beautiful, and the warm hospitality of the host just adds to the experience. From the moment we arrived, the southern hospitality was evident. The room was large and yet cozy. Breakfast was delicious. There was a good restaurant in walking distance. Overall a lovely stay.

Room Tip: The Master Suite was very comfortable with a large bed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Andrea T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Monticello, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 1 November 2012

Rooms are enormous, elegant, high-ceilinged. This is kind of like visiting relatives who own a 120 year-old mansion, complete with cats and dog and a good breakfast. Old plantings in the yard with an ancient outhouse out in back, complete with small stained glass windows on the sides, from days predating indoor plumbing. Seriously.
And JoAnn loaned me a jacket for an outdoor wedding that happened on an unexpectedly cold night. Whether you're in town for an event, or the inn is your destination, it's a total experience. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ann G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auburn, Alabama
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 9 September 2012

My husband brought me here over a weekend for my birthday and it was just what we needed. We loved it, and JoAnn was simply wonderful. The food was delicious, the rooms were amazing and the whole weekend was such a joy. Plus we got to play with the new "guard dog" - Max...her adorable puppy!

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jackie p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Alexander City hotels
1.8 mi away
Hampton Inn Alexander City
Hampton Inn Alexander City
#2 of 6 in Alexander City
176 reviews
1.7 mi away
Days Inn Alexander City
Days Inn Alexander City
#1 of 6 in Alexander City
208 reviews
1.9 mi away
Super 8 Alexander City
Super 8 Alexander City
#3 of 6 in Alexander City
169 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#4 of 6 in Alexander City
45 reviews
1.8 mi away
American Inn - Alexander City
American Inn - Alexander City
#5 of 6 in Alexander City
5 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mistletoe Bough Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mistletoe Bough Bed and Breakfast

Property: Mistletoe Bough Bed and Breakfast
Address: 497 Hillabee St, Alexander City, AL 35010-1823
Region: United States > Alabama > Alexander City
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Alexander City
Number of rooms: 5

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing