We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Completely wonderful stay”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Alexander City
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Mistletoe Bough Bed and Breakfast
Lafayette, Indiana
1 review
“Completely wonderful stay”
Reviewed 21 September 2013

Absolutely the best b&b my husband and I have experienced. The property could not be more charming nor the owners more hospitable. We had some travel difficulties which delayed us dreadfully, and Joann was so warm and understanding and, above all, accommodating. She still somehow managed to be gracious in the wee hours of morning. Utterly fabulous.

Room Tip: There are no bad rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kelly R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

66 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    63
    3
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
8
42
4
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Moscow, Russia
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2013

This place ranks up there with any of the bed & breakfast' in which I've stayed while visiting Savannah. What a beautiful, old home. The owners are very welcoming, and the breakfast was awesome! I was born in Alexander City but had never stayed at Mistletoe Bough. I decided to forgo the normal vacation stay with relatives, opting instead for this historical home. What a great experience. I would suggest it to anyone that travels and appreciates the bed & breakfast experience over the $49 motel bargain. Well worth the money.

Thanks. Kevin H.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Kevin H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chelsea, Alabama
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 July 2013

My husband and I would highly recommend this bed and breakfast. JoAnn was a very cordial and knowledgeable hostess. Because we mentioned we were interested in historical homes, she took the time to fill us in on the background of this beautiful home, built in 1895.
The breakfast she served was very delicious and attractively set. We have visited several bed and breakfast homes over the years and this one rates very high with us.
This was our 46th wedding anniversary and she graciously took some pictures of us and had chocolate covered strawberries awaiting us on our arrival. We would definitely come back!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Sabra S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Prospect
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 July 2013

As other reviews have stated, you really do feel this is your 'home'. It's beautiful, but still warm and comfy - very homey! We stayed in the Master Suite for 2 nights and were the only guests, so we know we got all of JoAnn's attention - and loved every minute of it! On arrival, we had homemade cookies and chocolate dipped strawberries. We had coffee service whenever we wanted. Breakfast was very lovely - pancakes one morning, omelettes the next. We were on a road trip further south - my only suggestion would be to not stay in Alexander City on either a Sunday or Monday, as there is NOTHING open! We had a lovely golf outing at StillWaters - this is a fabulous course that gets little play, so get out there!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank HomeAgain50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AuntJoAnn, Owner at Mistletoe Bough Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, 4 July 2013
What can I say but thank you. Our guests are the nicest people in the world.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 10 June 2013

If you want to find out if Southern Hospitality is a reality, then a stay at the Mistletoe Bough will put any doubts to rest. From the movement you arrive you are welcomed and made to feel like family, and quickly get a new sense of appreciation for the kind of hospitality that only exists in the south. The Innkeeper (Jo Ann) literally went way above and beyond the call of duty to ensure that we had everything we needed and that our stay exceeded expectations.

The Mistletoe Bough B&B is located in historic Alexander City. It’s like a time machine back to simpler days where tranquilly and simplicity provide abundant relaxation. The Inn itself is a piece of art, and a true testament to craftsmanship from a bygone era. The Inn is tastefully decorated in period furniture and carefully restored to its previous splendor. The rooms are spacious, and guests have ample room to for their own enjoyment. Breakfast is served at 9:00am and was a culinary delight. It felt like being at home, but you don’t have to do the dishes.

We were there for the Alexander City Jazz Fest, which was amazing. My wife and I totally enjoyed it. We will be back, and rest assured there is only one place we will be staying.

Room Tip: All of the rooms are unique, so it depends on personal preference, but there is no bad choice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CWKDID
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2013

We agree with previous reviews that it was more like staying with friends than at a regular bed and breakfast. JoAnn was a delightful and interesting hostess. The food was delicious and the room was very comfortable. We thoroughly enjoyed the Nanny Room with the private deck. We'll have great memories for many years to come of sharing a bottle of sparkling wine and relaxing on the deck overseeing the gorgeous yard. Highly recommended as a romantic get-a-way for young couples like us. We had a GREAT time! We'll definitely be back.

Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Gina L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Virginia
Level 6 Contributor
139 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 May 2013

What a beautiful setting and house in central Alabama...ideal southern hospitality and exquisite decoration in this beautiful old home...breakfast was delicious with fresh herbs, fruits, and a yummy egg omelet and hot biscuits. You'll love just sitting on one of the home's many porches. Also close to the downtown--only a 5-10min walk to local restaurants and antique shops.

Room Tip: for a lot of space and king size bed, choose the master suite
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank xenaht2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AuntJoAnn, Owner at Mistletoe Bough Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, 26 May 2013
Mistletoe Bough guests are the nicest people on the planet.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Alexander City hotels
1.8 mi away
Hampton Inn Alexander City
Hampton Inn Alexander City
#3 of 6 in Alexander City
178 reviews
1.7 mi away
Days Inn Alexander City
Days Inn Alexander City
#2 of 6 in Alexander City
211 reviews
1.9 mi away
Super 8 Alexander City
Super 8 Alexander City
#1 of 6 in Alexander City
171 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#4 of 6 in Alexander City
45 reviews
1.8 mi away
American Inn - Alexander City
American Inn - Alexander City
#5 of 6 in Alexander City
5 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mistletoe Bough Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mistletoe Bough Bed and Breakfast

Property: Mistletoe Bough Bed and Breakfast
Address: 497 Hillabee St, Alexander City, AL 35010-1823
Region: United States > Alabama > Alexander City
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Alexander City
Number of rooms: 5

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing