We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great pizza,nobody does it better”

Matas Greek Pizza and Grinders
Ranked #4 of 69 Restaurants in Anniston
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Pizza, Greek
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Kids
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Seating, Takeout, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: http://travel.yahoo.com/p-travelguide-14820669R-matas_greek_pizza_of_anniston-i
Anniston, Alabama
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great pizza,nobody does it better”
Reviewed 28 May 2014

ok food super good.Greek pizza hoogie,Greek salad, & more! Great for takeout,eating in_-not so much,feels not so clean.better than it use to be,but they need to scrub that place down..., but I do love it!

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank cacpmma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

138 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    85
    32
    11
    3
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Mansfield, Ohio
Level Contributor
76 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Best pizza in town”
Reviewed 15 April 2014

I love this pizza. Reminds me of the mom and pop places up north. If you decide to eat in, however, it is a little run down.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Brian B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anniston, Alabama
Level Contributor
27 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Best pizza on the planet!”
Reviewed 15 April 2014

Don't come to Anniston with out a trip to Mata's! There's nothing like the house special and a Greek salad!

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mnelsonla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brighton, Tennessee
Level Contributor
41 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Best Pizza I Ever Ate”
Reviewed 3 April 2014

In Anniston for one night only. A friend from Memphis recommended this place. Wow!! Pizza was thick with meats and heavily topped with perfectly melted cheese. My husband and I will be craving this in the future. Odd location, no sign but they were diung a booming business.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Becky F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
65 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Best Pizza ever”
Reviewed 5 March 2014

Order food to go! Their pizza is the best bar none! No chain can come close. Greek salad outstanding! Hoagies and grinders delicious. Just order with abandonment. Baklava for dessert yummy! I just dont care to eat there. The building is cramped for space but if you can get a table, you can enjoy some good cold draft beer with your pizza!

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank mcculy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Matas Greek Pizza and Grinders also viewed

 

Been to Matas Greek Pizza and Grinders? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing