We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Spent the day with this chair!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Big Chair

Big Chair
Ranked #4 of 12 things to do in Anniston
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Thirty-three-foot-tall office chair built from ten tons of steel.
McMinnville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
57 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Spent the day with this chair!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 July 2014

This chair is great. People may wonder what can you do with a large chair so big you can not even sit in it. I visited the largest chair in the world and just had a fun filled day. I could not get up to sit in the chair, so I had to just walk around on ground weaving between the legs of the big chair. So much fun, just looking up at it and wondering what it would be like if I could sit in it. After a few hours of walking around under the largest chair in the world, I was getting thirsty and hungry. Lucky for me Sonic is just down the road so you can go down and have a treat. After lunch, I walked around under chair having some more fun. In the end I had to leave, and thus ended my day with the largest chair in the world. If you are in town, stop by and get your picture with the worlds largest chair and hang it on your wall at home. What fun memories!

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
10 Thank Pete S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

33 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    7
    3
    11
    8
    4
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Arlington, Tennessee
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Pretty cool!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 April 2014

It is so HUGE!!! It is very easy to drive around and get out to get a better view. It is located in Downtown Anniston.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Mimi2341
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anniston, Alabama
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Yup, its a BIG Chair. just sitting there....”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 July 2013

By itself its not really a reason to visit Anniston--- unless you are really into Big Chairs, but Hey, It's Free, its Funny, its Weird and its right down the street from good food or fast fast food-- your preference--- its totally worth the detour off Quintard for the laugh and the picture for facebook. It is near historic downtown, in a slightly older, business area and not very well lit at night, so go see it during the day. The funny pic will work better then anyway!

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Parker H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mansfield, Ohio
Level Contributor
76 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Just drive by it. not intersting”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2013 via mobile

This is more of an eye sore than anything. yeah it was a big deal at one time since it was in Guinness book but other than that not worth the time to drive off the main strip in Anniston to pass by unless your into big balls of yarn and stuff like that

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Brian B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford, Alabama
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Yes, its a big chair, and it does have a point!”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 April 2013

The Big Chair site is located next to an office furniture store. I suppose it is their "mascot" of sorts. It's kind of neat for a quirky out of the way sort of thing. But if you are in Anniston and have the urge to drive by, go and see the Big Chair. The kids will certainly appreciate it more than the adults, like perhaps its the Jolly Green Giant's office chair, who knows.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank CindyatCedars
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Big Chair? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing