We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Not Recommended!” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of American Inn And Suites

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
American Inn And Suites
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Ashville
Lee's Summit, Missouri
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Not Recommended!”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 August 2014

Motel is in a parking lot and does not have the name on the building, only sign showing that is a motel is the one by the road. The people that checked us in were strange. I could hardly understand what he was saying, and the lady didn't know what was going on. They kept talking to each other in another language. They were not rude, but definitely not friendly. Told us the room was "over there" and pointed in a general direction. The carpet in the room was filthy-so filthy that my socks were ruined. It was disgusting. The air conditioner worked well. The room needed a lot of updating and cleaning. There was hair, that was not mine, on the pillow and sheet-pretty gross. Made me wonder how well the room had been cleaned after the last guest. There were holes in the parking lot that were filled in with plants! The ice machine was not working. The vending machine was not working. There was a wasp nest by the vending machine. There was old chemicals by the vending machine. Oh yeah, I almost forgot the breakfast offered in the lobby. It was 2 plastic containers-one with fruit loops and the other with raisin bran. In the refrigerator was a small amount of orange juice in a pitcher and a swig of milk left in a gallon jug. It was the most ridiculous "breakfast" I have ever seen offered by a hotel/motel. Why even bother?? I would never recommend staying here. It is filthy and not a good value. Only good thing was the location.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank nichole b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

13 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2
    0
    1
    3
    7
See reviews for
5
3
1
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    2 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    2 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Ithaca, New York
Level Contributor
47 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2014

We've stayed in worse, but we'd rather not stay here again.

As a general rule we don't make reservations when on roadtrips. We stop when we get tired and take our chances. It's all part of the adventure! This little gem was, what we call, character building.

This place needs some serious TLC. The backsplash on the sink was made of crumbling particle board that was attempting to cover the crumbling particle board behind it. The water in the tub hissed and dripped without remorse. The A/C unit worked well! A big plus seeing as it was the middle of July. The towels were bright and white. The linens looked clean, oh well, other than the big nasty stain in the middle of the bed we had planned on sleeping in. I worked in housekeeping for a few years as a young adult there is NO WAY IN HELL a housekeeper that cared would have put that sheet on there and not seen the stain. The other bed was nice and clean. We double checked! The bed was quite comfortable though! That's a plus.

For $60 a night we also got free breakfast. What was that breakfast, you may well ask? Coffee, orange juice, milk and your choice of Fruit Loops or Raisen Bran. Thank God I had bought some nice blueberry muffins, bananas and had made some hard boiled eggs back at the in-laws before we left the day before!

All in all, not the most horrible place either of us has stayed in, but the owners could step up their game a bit more and make it more enjoyable. Be more mindful of housekeeping issues and offer something more than cold cereal for your free breakfast for starters. An awesome breakfast would have more than made up for the much needed repairs.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Pamela P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Newfield, Maine, United States
Level Contributor
128 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 August 2014 via mobile

The bathroom had holes in the wall, peeling paint and mold around the shower head and about 2 years worth of dirt and grime in the corners of the floor. The beds are old, uncomfortable and springy. My sandal stuck to the carpet near the sink - literally. Never again.

Stayed August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Michele_G_Allen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miami, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 July 2014

This was a very nice place. Very clean and everything you could expect. The people that work the front are the sweetest family. I would def. recommend anyone to stay here if its just for the night. Dont listen to the other comments

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank stephsteph23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Springville, Alabama
Level Contributor
41 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 July 2013

Booked our room by calling and making a reservation. Was told one price when we booked & when we arrived the room was $20.00 more than the reservation, by the way they do not use reservation numbers for or booking numbers to confirm your reservations. The room was dirty, the carpet you would not want to go in your socks let alone in your bear feet, for you would stick to the carpet. The walls in our room looked like someone tossed liquid on them and wasn't even cleaned up. The bathroom was nasty the back of the door was just plain filthy. The free breakfast do not go .....pass on it for it had stale cereal and spoiled milk. It would be worth your drive to go to Pell City or Trussville to get a clean room that the owner's wouldn't try to change the prices on you.

Room Tip: It would be worth your drive to go to Pell City or Trussville to get a clean room that the owner'...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Deborah K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Springville, Alabama
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 March 2013

Stayed here one night , Wed, March 20, 2013, because we were without power due to a terrible storm. Called first, was told there was one king room left for $79,99 plus tax. Went to dinner and then went by there. You can see behind the desk into what is I suppose their living quarters... nasty! Asked if there were any rooms, was told one left for $67.99 plus tax. Gave me a card key and told me the room number, started towards that room and she comes running out... wrong room, wrong room... someone sleeping in that room and took the card key. Came back and walked with me across the parking lot and unlocked a room with a regular key? We went in... it was decent enough until we went to flush the toilet... and it didn't work. We had to take the back of the toilet off and mess with the insides to even get it to flush. Ewwww! Next morning, we go to take a shower and the water barely comes out, not to mention the fact that the shower/tub handle was barely connected. When I checked out, I mentioned it to her and she just blew me off... there were other people in the lobby... lots of Alabama Power men from other locations staying there due to all the power outages. I am giving it a terrible due to the bathroom situation and the fact she didn't even offer a partial credit due to the inconvenience and nastiness of the situation!

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Michelle R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ashville
14.8 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Gadsden Hotel & Suites
12.8 mi away
Days Inn - Oneonta AL
Days Inn - Oneonta AL
#1 of 1 in Oneonta
3.0 of 5 bubbles 117 reviews
14.9 mi away
No photo provided
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.8 mi away
Comfort Suites
Comfort Suites
#8 of 13 in Gadsden
4.0 of 5 bubbles 103 reviews
24.2 mi away
Quality Inn Trussville
Quality Inn Trussville
#3 of 3 in Trussville
3.5 of 5 bubbles 44 reviews
15.0 mi away
Garden Inn of Gadsden
Garden Inn of Gadsden
#10 of 13 in Gadsden
3.0 of 5 bubbles 87 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to American Inn And Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about American Inn And Suites

Property: American Inn And Suites
Address: 36225 US Highway 231, Ashville, AL 35953-3052
Region: United States > Alabama > Ashville
Amenities:
Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Ashville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 28
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your American Inn And Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing