We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location, Great staff”
Review of Sleep Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Sleep Inn
Ranked #6 of 11 Hotels in Athens
Reviewed 27 March 2012

While not an upper class motel, this hotel is very comfortable. The staff was very friendly and the breakfast was quite filling. Bathroom is a little small

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mwsmithmn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Niraj P, Front Desk at Sleep Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 29 March 2012

Thank you so much for taking the time to express your kind words towards our hotel and staff. We always appreciate any feedback from our guests. We are currently under renovation and hope that you can stay with us in your future stays.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (135)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

113 - 119 of 135 reviews

Reviewed 22 March 2012

We have stayed in many hotels lately and this has been the worst. This Sleep Inn is in desperate need for an update. Rooms were dull and shabby. Lobby was dull and shabby. Breakfast area was dull and shabby.

Large vehicle parking was inadequate. Staff was not professional.

Breakfast was not even average. Selection was not desirable.

Location was easily accessible.

  • Stayed: March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mschell333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Niraj P, Front Desk Clerk at Sleep Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 23 March 2012

Thank you for taking the time to give us your feedback. We at Sleep Inn take pride in assuring that our guests are satisfied. We are currently undergoing renovations and would love to have you stop back in when they are finished and hope that your experience is better next time.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 March 2012

We usually stay at a Residence Inn or Courtyard when we stay in a hotel. We stayed here because we were with a group of 11 families and the nearby hotels were booked.

We stayed only one night. The walls are really thin and we were kept awake by pipe noises and the arguing family next door.

I thought the bed, pillows, linen, and towels were OK. However, one family in our group found a bug on their pillow. The beds were true queen sized beds so two people can sleep on it with ample room.

The breakfast was mediocre. The coffee was weak. Fortunately, there's a Chick-fil-A and Starbucks just down the street.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Linh C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Niraj P, Front Desk Clerk at Sleep Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 21 March 2012

Thank you for taking the time to discuss your disappointment during your stay with us. We enjoy our guests feedback as it helps us to better our hotel. We do apologize for your discomfort during your stay and hope you will consider us in your future travels. I also would like to point out that we are currently going through renovations and hope that you can experience a different view in your future stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 January 2012

Booked this hotel because it was right off I-65 South. We were checked in by a friendly guy but our room was just ok. Was clean but in need of a remodel. We had plenty of restaurants in the immediate vicinity to choose from, which was nice. The breakfast was adequate but the scrambled eggs were green and they offered no yogurts. The parking lot needs better lights as it was dark to unload our vehicle. Security for people and vehicles is an issue.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Shar51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 December 2011

I stayed here one night on my weekly trip through Alabama. I reserved this hotel because of good prior experience with the Sleep brand. This location, however, left a lot to be desired. I was in room 221 at the end of the hall. It was 28 degrees outside, so i turned on the heater. After a few seconds of various noises, it quit working. The fan worked, but only slightly warm. I decided to take a quick shower to wash off the day, but it took about 5 minutes for the water to get hot. In the morning, no hot water at all, just barely warm. The bed was okay, but the lower end of comfortable. The night staff was really nice, and he went on and on describing thier great breakfast. I found an okay generic selection (but to thier credit, a great auto coffee machine). I had to throw my plate away after finding a hair in the gravy. Overall, not impressed and will not stay again.

Room Tip: Stay somewhere else with hot water.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cah3295
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 November 2011

I've been a visitor to the Athens, AL Sleep Inn since 2005. I have stayed there on almost every trip to Alabama since then. Originally, the hotel was operated by an Indian gentleman from Chicago. He would personally greet his guests, and the property was absolutely spotless. A couple of years ago, this man moved to another hotel, and ever since then, the place hasn't been the same. It is obvious that nobody is paying attention to detail anymore. Each time I stay there, I'm told by the desk clerk "We are under new management"... Well, I have news for you: I have not been impressed with ANY of the "new management" or your hotel, since the gentleman from Chicago left. If internet access is a requirement, forget it. You either won't have it at all, or it will be intermittent. Front desk staff will blame either Charter Cable, or the hotel's equipment. They have it rehearsed. This time, upon check-in, at 11:30PM, I had a room with dirty sheets. That has never, I repeat, NEVER happened at this hotel. The desk clerk gave me a new room. I thought, okay, no problem, I'm settled in, I can check my e-mail. Guess what? No internet, same problem during my last stay. The desk clerk said he had no complaints of the internet not working. The next morning, the lady at the desk said it had been going on for several DAYS, and offered no adjustment to my $71 bill. Congratulations, you lost a regular customer. I put up with the sporadic internet service, and moderate pricing because the place was so clean... since that is no longer a guarantee (dirty sheets) I will take my business elsewhere. Your latest regime of "new management" seems to be "penny-wise, and pound-foolish".

Room Tip: Go somewhere else - Unreliable internet access.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Roger H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 October 2011

The staff was very nice, the rooms while okay appear to have had a minor face lift recently but are in need of more.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank OleAbout
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Athens hotels
0.2 mi away
Days Inn Athens
Days Inn Athens
#3 of 11 in Athens
252 reviews
0.1 mi away
Best Western Athens Inn
0.3 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#8 of 11 in Athens
132 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Athens I-65
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites - Athens
0.3 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Athens I-65
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sleep Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sleep Inn

Address: 1115 Audubon Ln, I-65 Ex 351, Athens, AL 35611-4493
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Alabama > Athens
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 11 Hotels in Athens
Price Range: £47 - £64 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Sleep Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 60
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Sleep Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sleep Inn Athens, Alabama
Athens Sleep Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing