We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Traveling South For The Winter” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of BEST WESTERN Athens Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
BEST WESTERN Athens Inn
Ranked #2 of 11 Hotels in Athens
Certificate of Excellence
Panama City Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Traveling South For The Winter”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 October 2012

Traveling from Wisconsin to Florida for the Winter. This hotel is a renovated hotel which has room accesss from the outside. The rooms are being updated but may not be completed. If you are traveling and just staying over night this is a great value. It is just off of the freeway. Many places to get dinner. The breakfast is typical of traveler/business hotels. We would definitly stay here again.

Room Tip: Get a room on the front. Avoid the backside as there are restuarnts there that can be noisy. Also...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank N60159
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WESTERN B, Front Office Manager at BEST WESTERN Athens Inn, responded to this review, 1 November 2012
Thank you for completing the survey regarding your recent stay at our property.

Your business is very important to us and we value your feedback. By telling us what you liked about your stay and how we can improve, you are helping us deliver a superior experience for you and other guests in the future. We hope you will come back and see us again soon.

If I can be of assistance in the future, please don't hesitate to contact me at 256-233-4030.

Thank you again for taking the time to complete the survey. We appreciate your loyalty to our brand.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

405 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    164
    158
    55
    18
    10
See reviews for
171
129
22
50
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
bloomington, il
Level Contributor
61 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 September 2012

We stayed here on our way down to the Gulf Coast....it brings to mind the term "Motor Lodge" It is located right off of I-65 with an Applebees next door and Logans Roadhouse a short walk away. Rooms all face the outside, small rooms and old furniture. This is a good property for a one nite stay if you want to save $$$ from one of the bigger name hotels in the area. but, I'm not sure I would want to stay for much more than that. The staff was excellent and the continental breakfast was perfect.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bikynmike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WESTERN B, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Athens Inn, responded to this review, 2 October 2012
Thank you for completing the survey regarding your recent stay at our property.

Your business is very important to us and we value your feedback. By telling us what you liked about your stay and how we can improve, you are helping us deliver a superior experience for you and other guests in the future. We hope you will come back and see us again soon.

If I can be of assistance in the future, please don't hesitate to contact me at 256-233-4030.

Thank you again for taking the time to complete the survey. We appreciate your loyalty to our brand.


Sincerely,

Lynn Horn
General Manager
BEST WESTERN Athens Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ohio
Level Contributor
34 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 September 2012

We spent one night in Athens, AL at the Best Western on our way to Florida - would not hesitate to stay again. Room was clean, quiet. Bathroom was small and the vanity/sink is outside the bathroom (why hotels do this I have no idea). Front desk employees were very friendly - goofed once when they told us our room key would get us a 10% discount at Ruby Tuesdays...it doesn't. But, that's the only issue that happened. Continental breakfast was same as in most hotels. So if you are on your way thru Alabama - stay here :)

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Moontatt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WESTERN B, Front Office Manager at BEST WESTERN Athens Inn, responded to this review, 24 September 2012
Thank you for completing the survey regarding your recent stay at our property.

Your business is very important to us and we value your feedback. By telling us what you liked about your stay and how we can improve, you are helping us deliver a superior experience for you and other guests in the future. We hope you will come back and see us again soon.

If I can be of assistance in the future, please don't hesitate to contact me at 256-233-4030.

Thank you again for taking the time to complete the survey. We appreciate your loyalty to our brand.


Sincerely,

Craig Wynn
Assistant General Manager
BEST WESTERN Athens Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 September 2012

I previously commented about my stay St the best western. I wanted to clarify on the comments of the manager about my review. First of all. My reservation with the days inn "down the road" was for a pet room. When we got the hotel. Hotels.com booked it as a smoking room since the hotel was fivqe had no choice but to switch hotels. That's when I went to the best western. Do I'm not sure where the idea that I was kicked out came From. Second I did attempt to fix the issue with my dog. But As I stated before, it was let go. I at no point hide the fact that I had a dog in my room. I walked around the entire property with him and at one point had him in the pool area with family. In the situation with the charges. My card was charged or deified for the amounts I posted. But was unnecessary. I'm offended by the verbal Attack by the manger saying "they felt sorry for me". I have 3 small children, we were asked to leave during an active tornado warning. My children and I were afraid, and we had no choice but to travel in this weather to sleep At my brothers house. I feel like my review should not be reviewed as this shy this website is here. My situation
May never happen to anyone else. But it did happen to me and I feel like it should be known. My money has been returned. But I am still very upset with the entire stay, and the mangers aqusations about my other reservations and the reasons with my upset about the hotel in present.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Scottmilam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WESTERN B, Manager at BEST WESTERN Athens Inn, responded to this review, 17 September 2012
Guest stayed at the property after being kicked out of another hotel for not disclosing a pet, this information was disclosed by the guest when questioned about the dog she had in her room, the guest signed a folio stating she did not have a pet, and that there was a fee of $150.00 for non dis closure of a pet in a non pet designated room. Guest disconneted the phone line in her room and also hung a Do Not Disturb sign on her door so housekeeping would not discover the pet dog in a cage. We sold the room next door which had an adjoining door to the guest with the dog, and when the new guest called the desk said they heard a dog crying and barking they called the desk at which time management went into the room and found the pet in a cage, phone line disconnected, etc. we have a sign at the counter that discloses this fee and violation of hotel pet policy, if the guest said she had a pet, we had pet desinated rooms available and she would of only had to pay the $20.00 + tx fee, instead we have a $150.00 fee for non disclosure which covers cost of stripping everything out of room and black lighting and sanitizing wanding all area of the room, this cost us money in man hours and labor. When guest violate policies, they a re responsible for consequences, this is such a case. As this guest felt that it would be better to criticise the property by going on this sight for something she herself violated, If we dont enforce rules and policies,and there would be no need to have them and people will never learn. Are intentions are not to offend anyone as this is bad business but we want the truth to be known. Thanks Mgmt.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Creston, NC
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 September 2012

I stayed there after being booked wrong at another hotel. I had a pet, I forgot to mention it, so I called to the office to fix it with the clerk. He said he would "pretend he didn't hear that" so I assumed it was not a big deal to have my small dog. After a day of being there, I come back and was asked to leave because of my dog. Now the fun part. They charged my card $394.89 when I checked out, when my original cost was suppose to be $250. Then they continued to charge my card over the next 2 days for $141.04, then $172.22. With a grant total of $708.15 for 2 nights in the hotel, the last night being asked to leave and having to sleep in the floor with 3 kids since I lived 8 hours away and had no where else to stay for the night. The manager said some fee's were charged but were going to be placed back on my card. That was 3 days ago, and I have seen more charges come out of my account, and no credit at all. So unless you can let your money just be thrown away. Then don't even bother staying here. Or atleast make sure the staff is not being shady while your there and not doing there job right. Thanks to them, I have no way to pay my bills this month since I ended up giving them $708.15 for 2 nights.. Enjoy your stay.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank C_Mommy5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort Wright, Kentucky
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 August 2012

We stayed at this hotel last year. We returned again this year on our way home from Panama City on 8/7. We chose to stay here again because of the location and proximity to restaurants in walking distance. The rooms are also very nice and clean. Only 2 issues: a number of the TV channels came up with blank screens with a message "channel not available." And there was a very squeaky bed. My husband tosses and turns quite a bit, so this was a bit noisy through the night. On our reservation we requested a bottom floor room because our son is autisic and that seemed to be a very quiet room last year. I was greeted so nicely at check-in by the young lady at the front desk. It looked like they were waiting for us because she pulled a set of keys in the envelope that she appeared to have set aside for us for our bottom floor room. Very nice!! Check in took less than a minute! We enjoyed a dinner at Applebee's next door and a comfortable night's sleep. We'll stay here again without a doubt.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Emily_M1102
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WESTERN B, Front Office Manager at BEST WESTERN Athens Inn, responded to this review, 15 August 2012
Thank you for completing the survey regarding your recent stay at our property.

Your business is very important to us and we value your feedback. By telling us what you liked about your stay and how we can improve, you are helping us deliver a superior experience for you and other guests in the future. We hope you will come back and see us again soon.

If I can be of assistance in the future, please don't hesitate to contact me at 256-233-4030.

Thank you again for taking the time to complete the survey. We appreciate your loyalty to our brand.


Sincerely,

Craig Wynn
Assistant General Manager
BEST WESTERN Athens Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Indianapolis, Indiana
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 July 2012

We booked two rooms with king-sized beds. Arrived very tired and were treated courteously. The staff applied our AAA discount for us with no problem. The rooms were clean. The beds were comfortable. The showers were clean and worked well. I'd stay here again - a good value.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank busview
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WESTERN B, Front Office Manager at BEST WESTERN Athens Inn, responded to this review, 25 July 2012
Thank you for completing the survey regarding your recent stay at our property.

Your business is very important to us and we value your feedback. By telling us what you liked about your stay and how we can improve, you are helping us deliver a superior experience for you and other guests in the future. We hope you will come back and see us again soon.

If I can be of assistance in the future, please don't hesitate to contact me at 256-233-4030.

Thank you again for taking the time to complete the survey. We appreciate your loyalty to our brand.


Sincerely,

Craig Wynn
Assistant General Manager
BEST WESTERN Athens Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Athens hotels
0.3 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Athens I-65
0.1 mi away
Sleep Inn
Sleep Inn
#6 of 11 in Athens
3.5 of 5 bubbles 127 reviews
0.2 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Athens I-65
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Days Inn Athens
Days Inn Athens
#5 of 11 in Athens
4.0 of 5 bubbles 124 reviews
0.2 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#8 of 11 in Athens
3.5 of 5 bubbles 123 reviews
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites - Athens
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN Athens Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Athens Inn

Property: BEST WESTERN Athens Inn
Address: 1329 US Highway 72 E, Athens, AL 35611-4405
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Alabama > Athens
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Athens
#4 Romantic Hotel in Athens
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — BEST WESTERN Athens Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 83
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This charming Athens, Alabama hotel is close to Athens State University and just South of the Tennessee border. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Agoda, Odigeo and Ebookers so you can book your BEST WESTERN Athens Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
BEST WESTERN Athens Inn Alabama
Athens Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing