We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great friendly service at a very reasonable rate”

Stay Lodge of Auburn
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Stay Lodge of Auburn
Ranked #14 of 17 Hotels in Auburn
phenixcity
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great friendly service at a very reasonable rate”
Reviewed 2 November 2013

My family and I stayed for 3 nights and we had a very pleasant time at the hotel and Auburn area.
The staff was friendly ,our room was clean & fresh smelling,beds were sleepable ,staff were cleaning carpets in rooms & hallways and even though the frontdesk closes at 9pm and doors get locked so only guest can enter with there room keys and there is a emergency number on door that if i had any issue to call and someone would be available within minutes which made me feel safe.
I would definitly book here next time we visit the area and recommend anyone to stay.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bargainhunter1970
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

27 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    5
    6
    3
    5
    8
See reviews for
8
4
5
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Jersey Shore
Level Contributor
87 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2013

I made a last minute (3 hours before) reservation, everything else was booked. I arrived around 9, the woman at the desk was very nice and helpful, however leaving for the night. No one else was coming in, I found this a bit odd. Up to my room, I was on the smoking floor, I smoke, I don't smoke what was raging through the halls. Into my room smells fine, the party is across the hall and down one.
The room looks dated with very cheap furnishings but set up well with a kitchenette, sitting area and sleeping area. The kitchen area has a tile floor that was VERY slippery, think Mexico, I almost bought it several times. They provide 2 thin bath towels and one wash cloth and a small bar of soap. No plastic cup. The room just gave an overall dirty feel, I did look for bed bugs and there were none to be found. The bed was not plush but not horrible either. The light shades had stains some with holes and an overhead light was out.
I went to dinner and came back around 11, party still going on now between 2 rooms, I was so tired I didn't much care. Around 1am it sounded like gangs outside. Followed by lots of comings and goings on my floor. Now I don't believe there to be any really bad areas around but there is no one at the front desk.
For the first time ever in a hotel, I felt completely uncomfortable. I slept with my jewelry on and my suitcase ready to grab in case I had to run in the middle of the night, which I thought was insane.
I don't know that it is fair to judge the hotel based on the guests but I don't know if the people outside were guests or regularly hang there. There wasn't anyone to check with.
Based on the inside it would be an extreme last resort but I don't think I would ever stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank megilla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Auburn hotels

Ocean Springs, Mississippi
Level Contributor
38 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 April 2013

What's to say? Location and price were fine as I was tired and needed to stop halfway during the trip. Other than that...the attendant was on the phone to her friend and only helped me after I stood there for 3-5 minuted while she finished her chat. The room was just OK. Nothing more. The sheets seemed used so I slept on the covers, and I've seen better bathrooms in Africa. Also, the ac unit wasn't up to snuff for the weather. Aaaarg!

Not sure how this got a higher rating than the ones below it for the area. They must really be horrible.

Room Tip: My only tip is to spend more and stay somewhere else!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jamboy2378
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guatemala City, Guatemala
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 September 2012

This has to be dirtiest hotel I have ever stayed in. We had to go to the local Wal-Mart to buy clean towels and sheets. The hotel linens were stained, the rooms smelled of cat urine, beds were lumpy and old. I have stayed in some pretty bad places in my travels around the world but this one pretty much tops the list of disgusting places to stay. And what made it worse? The price gouging- nearly 200 dollars a night- granted it was a football weekend, but for that price I would at least expect clean sheets and towels.
STAY AWAY FROM THE STAY LODGE at all costs.

Room Tip: just don't stay there
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Harris W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auburn, Alabama
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 September 2012

Infested with bedbugs!! Room 310. Horrible and unfriendly staff! Talked with someone on the elevator who was staying on the 2nd floor who also had bed bugs. If your looking for an extended stay hotel go to hometowne suites, great clean rooms friendly staff and everything is included!

Room Tip: Choose another hotel!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank cjsears
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Alabama
Level Contributor
72 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 August 2012

If you are looking for a fancy hotel with a lot of amenities, this is not what you are looking for. If you are looking for a simple place to stay for a few days/weeks, this fits the bill nicely.

The Stay Lodge of Auburn is not fancy. It is designed as a hotel catering to people who are living away from home for a while. Each room has a small range, sink, counter, cabinets and a refridgerator so that you can save money by eating in if you want. The rooms are not large but are adequate. They do not include dishes or utensils so you will have to use paper or bring your own. Also, rooms are serviced only once per week (or when guests leave) so you will have to make you own bed.

The only other downside to this establishment for me is that they do not currently have much of a website. You have to call to make reservations.

The upside to this place is price. It is a well kept, clean place in a good location for a good price. I have stayed here a few times and never regretted it. It is also a good place for situations like my son, whose apartment lease ran out 5 days before he graduated from Auburn. He had to be out of his apt. so we got him a room at the Stay Lodge for a week for ~$250 or about $36 per night. When we wanted to extend his stay for an extra day, it was another $50, still not bad.

Bottom line, not fancy and very few amenities but a good stay for a low price.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RMH_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cary, North Carolina
Level Contributor
63 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2012

This is a budget extended stay hotel, and fits that space nicely. Room was clean and comfortable, but amenities were minimal. Front desk closes at 9, but they were making arrangements to get us a key if we got in after that. There is a fully functional kitchenette in the room, but no utensils, plates, glasses, pots/pans, etc. Also no toiletries such as shampoo. Just come prepared. That being said, the room was fine for what we needed. Our room was non-smoking, and really seemed to be maintained that way. However, rest of the hotel smelled pretty strongly of smoke.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank markrob58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Auburn hotels
0.3 mi away
Clarion Inn & Suites University Center
2.2 mi away
The Hotel at Auburn University
0.9 mi away
Sleep Inn & Suites
Sleep Inn & Suites
#9 of 17 in Auburn
3.5 of 5 bubbles 100 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Auburn
4.9 mi away
Quality Inn Auburn University Area
1.3 mi away
Courtyard Auburn
Courtyard Auburn
#3 of 17 in Auburn
4.5 of 5 bubbles 86 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Stay Lodge of Auburn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stay Lodge of Auburn

Property: Stay Lodge of Auburn
Address: 1654 S College St, Auburn, AL 36832-6637
Region: United States > Alabama > Auburn
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 17 Hotels in Auburn
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Stay Lodge of Auburn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 52
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your Stay Lodge of Auburn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stay Lodge Of Auburn Hotel Auburn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing