We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“New but not up to par”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hilton Garden Inn Auburn/Opelika
Ranked #3 of 17 Hotels in Auburn
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 11 February 2013

It is a new facility with clean rooms and lobby, but only one working elevator and a although they were friendly, the staff was rather hapless. I suspect they were new. Internet worked well and the workout room contained new equipment.

Room Tip: Select a room away from the elevator and highway.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Scott G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (448)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

406 - 412 of 448 reviews

Reviewed 24 January 2013

Hotel is clean and staff is helpful. Only disapointment was having to pay an extra $9.99 for eggs and bacon with breakfast. I have been in lesser quality hotels that offer more breakfast items for free. our room window was by the highway so we heard the trucks going all night, was't real load but you could here it.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MacRunner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TerrieAuburn, Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Auburn/Opelika, responded to this reviewResponded 25 January 2013

Thank you so much for being a guest of ours here at the Hilton Garden Inn Auburn. We value each and every guest and want them to have a wonderful experience. We also value your comments concerning a cost for breakfast and the value you received. The Hilton Garden Inn brand does charge a fee for a cook to order hot breakfast for the guest to experience a fresh and hot breakfast each time. We value your loyalty and hope that you will visit with us again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 November 2012

Breakfast wasn't free, but all together still a good value. luxurious linens, lots of pillows, Easy internet access and lots of convenient plug ins. Desk clerk who took care of us was very friendly and helpful. We had supper, right before their closing time, in their restaurant. Hamburger was a little overdone, so not the best meal of our trip, but it wasn't a misery. You'll have two breakfast bar choices, each with different prices, so you might want to ask about that before you get started. This was our first stop on an eight-day road trip. For a comfortable night's sleep, this was the best.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank VLasai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TerrieAuburn, Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Auburn/Opelika, responded to this reviewResponded 7 November 2012

Thank you for being a guest of ours here at the HGI Auburn. We are very pleased that you had a great night sleep in our GSS sleep system bed. We strive make certain our guest enjoy their visit and certaintly having a great night's rest is important. We would like to invite you back for a future visit and make certain that the breakfast received is a great experience as well. Thank you again for your loyalty to our brand and our property.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 October 2012

The lady who checked me in at about 130 on 10/9 wasn't very nice. I specifically asked for a room on the first floor in my online reservation and she acted like it was an enormous inconvenience to check. She also noted I was a "blue level member" of Hilton Honors. She has no idea that for many years I have been platinum, just not this particular year. Needless to say I went to the second floor. Other than the check in, it was as expected. The fellow on duty at the desk that evening was great.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KeithAHall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TerrieAuburn, Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Auburn/Opelika, responded to this reviewResponded 7 November 2012

Thank you for being a guest with us at the Hilton Garden Inn Auburn. We appreciate your loyalty with the brand and our property. We strive to give the best care and customer service to each guest every day. I apologize for the disappointment during the check in process and not being able to accomodate your request for a first floor room. We hope that you will give us another chance to show that you are very valuable to our property. Thank you again for your loyalty.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 October 2012

This is a typical Hilton Garden Inn. The rooms and hotel were very clean. The bed and room were comfortable. I had plenty of room. The Wi-Fi was excellent. The room had an LCD tv that allowed me to hook up my iPad via HDMI. I was able to watch Netflix via my iPad and Wi-Fi. The hotel is in a convenient location to Auburn and I-85.

Probably a little over-priced, but it is typical Hiton fare. I would stay here again.

Stayed: September 2012, travelled with family
Thank ebtiger24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TerrieAuburn, Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Auburn/Opelika, responded to this reviewResponded 7 November 2012

Thank you for being a guest of our at the Hilton Garden Inn Auburn. We are very pleased that you had a wonderful stay all around here at our property and was able to enjoy many of our great amentieis. We hope you will visit with us in your future travels to Auburn. Thank you again for the great comment and your loyalty.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 September 2012

This is a good inn to get a great nights sleep. The room is first class. The breakfast is overpriced and the front desk is lacking. The beat part of this Place is it 's newness and location close to the interstate.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Trueeasterner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TerrieAuburn, Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Auburn/Opelika, responded to this reviewResponded 7 November 2012

Thank you for your comments concerning your stay with us here at the HGI Auburn. We appreciate your loyalty and we are certaintly glad that you had a great night rest in our GSS dial system bedding. We strive to make certain each guest enjoys their stay at our property. Thank you again for your loyalty and look forward to your future visits with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2012

We chose this hotel based off of reviews and its close proximity to Auburn University. It was truly a great choice. The hotel is probably less than an easy 10 minute drive to the university. It's actually located in Opelika. Its a 2 minute drive to a great shopping area with tons of stores and restaurants. The hotel was extremely quiet and very clean. The breakfast was actually the best hotel breakfast that we've had in a while. A bit pricey but worth it. There's also a Waffle House next door.The breakfast area staff was extremely nice and helpful. They were actually friendlier than the front desk staff. The breakfast attendant Miss Wesson was the nicest person at the hotel! We'll definitely be back when/if we're in the area.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SpeakUp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TerrieAuburn, Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Auburn/Opelika, responded to this reviewResponded 7 November 2012

Thank you for being our guest here at the Hilton Garden Inn Auburn. We appreciate your loyalty and the great comments concerning your stay with us. We strive to be the best and are very pleased when our guest receives the stay that they deserve. We are very pleased that you enjoyed our amazing breakfast and hope it started your day as a great one! We welcome you back to the HGI Auburn and hope you will come back for future visits.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Auburn hotels
2.9 mi away
The Hotel at Auburn University
3.8 mi away
Towneplace Suites by Marriott Auburn
5.7 mi away
Hampton Inn Auburn
Hampton Inn Auburn
#5 of 17 in Auburn
465 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Auburn
5.5 mi away
Courtyard Auburn
Courtyard Auburn
#4 of 17 in Auburn
98 reviews
0.4 mi away
Candlewood Suites Auburn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Garden Inn Auburn/Opelika? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Garden Inn Auburn/Opelika

Address: 2555 Hilton Garden Dr, Auburn, AL 36830-5720
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Alabama > Auburn
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Auburn
#4 Family Hotel in Auburn
Price Range: £72 - £153 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hilton Garden Inn Auburn/Opelika 3*
Number of rooms: 101
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hilton Garden Inn Auburn/Opelika, AL hotel is less than three miles from Auburn University, minutes from Tigers football at Jordan-Hare Stadium and basketball at the Auburn Arena. For business travelers, this Auburn, Alabama hotel is convenient to several industrial parks as well as key Donaldson, Briggs & Stratton, and Wal-Mart facilities. With easy access to the interstate and just seven miles from Robert Trent Jones Golf Trail at Grand National, Auburn Links at Mill Creek or Moore's Mill Club, golfers have great access to fine golfing in Alabama for business meetings or a leisurely day on the fairways. Choose from a spacious Guest Room or Suite at the Hilton Garden Inn Auburn/Opelika hotel and relax in a warm and inviting ambience designed to be comfortable and functional. Work into the night in comfort with a large work desk and ergonomic chair with task lighting. A 24-hour Business Center allows you to print remotely and securely when you need to. Each room is equipped with a hospitality center which features a microwave, refrigerator and coffee maker. Tasty treats, evening snacks and meals can be purchased anytime from the 24-hour Pavilion Pantry(R) for preparation whenever you need them. Stay connected with complimentary high-speed internet access. Relax with HD TV Channels and complimentary HBO on a 32-inch flat screen TV in a comfortable sitting area and sleep peacefully in a signature Garden Sleep System(R) adjustable bed. Stay connected with complimentary high-speed internet access and a 24-hour Business Center with secure PrinterOn(R) remote printing. Relax with your group, colleague and friends in the Pavilion Lounge for a relaxing refreshment or coffee at the end of a long day. Get a great start to each day with a delicious cooked-to-order breakfast at the Great American Grill(R) which also offers evening dinner or room service. A complimentary fitness center and an outdoor pool offer the perfect opportunity for some leisure time after a long day. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Hotels.com, LoveHolidays, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Hilton Garden Inn Auburn/Opelika reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Garden Inn Auburn/Opelika Hotel Auburn
Hilton Auburn
Auburn Hilton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing