We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Understaffed?” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hilton Garden Inn Auburn/Opelika

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hilton Garden Inn Auburn/Opelika
Ranked #2 of 17 Hotels in Auburn
Madison, MS, United States
Level Contributor
4 reviews
“Understaffed?”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 May 2013

First room had no hot water, second room had hot water but in-room coffee pot was unworkable mismatched set, bulb out in bathroom. Not up to my usual good experience with Garden Inn brand. Similar experience with Hampton Inn also in Auburn area.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn

Helpful?
Thank Fred W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

384 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    178
    107
    67
    21
    11
See reviews for
163
44
25
118
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Bloomington, Indiana
Level Contributor
28 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 April 2013

The staff were really sweet and very accommodating to children. The rooms were clean and the beds very comfortable. My only complaint was that our non-smoking room smelled of cigarette smoke throughout our stay.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Aweigs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Madison, Alabama
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 April 2013

A nice, clean room with quality staff as I have come to expect from this hotel chain. Comfortable beds in a roomy suite. Located close to activities and restaurants. Great made to order breakfast before our day touring campus!

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank NursePenny67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Foley, Alabama
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 March 2013

Nice property, well-maintained and friendly, efficient staff. The hotel is convenient to both Auburn and Opelika as well as plenty of dining, shopping, etc. if needed.Our room was very clean; the property was quiet and allowed for a good night's sleep. The bed was a little firm for my taste but overall extremely comfortable, as I've come to expect from this brand.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank awbsaintsfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Foley, Alabama
Level Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 February 2013

This is a very nice hotel. It is staffed by very nice and very helpful people. It is clean and cheerful. Elevator is a bit slow but not completely unreasonable. Everything is great except for the Internet. Logged in as an Hhonors member on a hardline connection I got 239 kbps.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mike W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wilmington, NC
Level Contributor
95 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 February 2013

We spend a lot of time in Hilton Garden Inns all over the country and the norm in my experience is above the 3/5 that I give this property. We were on a college visit with our daughter so I was looking for something reasonably close to the University that was somewhat a known quantity. (or at least it should have been a known quantity.)

For some reason the rates for our stay (a Wednesday-Friday trip) were at the extreme high end of what I typically pay for HGI. (I paid less for a Hilton two weeks prior) Check in was fine, but I discovered the hotel was obviously short-staffed when I had to return to the desk to get linens for the fold-out couch (everywhere else they have either been in the room or delivered.) Unlike similar rooms we have had in other HGI properties this one didn't have a door between the bedroom and living room (which just makes it a weird-shaped room, not a suite) and the fold out couch was only suitable for one (thankfully we only had one who needed to sleep there!)

Breakfast was as good as you would expect from HGI. The dining staff was friendly, speedy and efficient. A bright spot in an otherwise unimpressive stay.

The second night I attempted to schedule a wake-up call. I rang the front desk off-and-on for over an hour using a variety of buttons on the phone. Finally I just called the property from my cell phone to reach the clerk. Miraculously the front desk phone rang through when I called from the room phone while talking to the clerk!

Finally - it appears that Hilton is experimenting with a throttled internet service for their properties. You get basic bandwidth for free but can purchase a "premium" plan if you don't qualify for premium access through Hilton Honors.

A few thoughts:
Other than "wide open" service Hilton properties once had a reasonable system - a site-wide password that would keep you logged in ~24 hours or so (depending upon when their servers flushed things out.) About a year ago they changed to a login system that requires name, room number and an agreement to their policy. Under the system under test you have to first figure out what you want (there is no "free" option - you must read the fine print and figure out how to navigate their menus) then log in using some combination of options that depend upon the level of access. If you're a HHonors member that qualifies for free "premium" access you must have your HHonors number and PIN or password. I'm pretty sure it takes less to access CIA Headquarters. On top of all of this, they don't tell you what you should expect with "premium" vs "regular" service. Give it up, all you're going to do is alienate guests. The only people who charge for internet access these days are resorts, and they're trying to drive you out of the room to spend money.

Which brings us to the elevators, or more correctly, elevatoR since one of them was out of service (but this was left as an exercise for the guest to figure out on their own - no mention of it from staff unless you asked first.) The elevator that was operating (albeit not properly) had a bothersome habit of taking you to the 4th floor despite the fact that you pressed the button for the 2nd floor. After the third such incident I discovered that this was caused by pressing "2" and then the "door close" button.

Overall, we'll look elsewhere when we visit the Auburn area in the future. Charging a premium price at a property that isn't fully functional is simply unacceptable.

Room Tip: Look at another hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kit C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durham, NC
Level Contributor
54 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 February 2013

It is a new facility with clean rooms and lobby, but only one working elevator and a although they were friendly, the staff was rather hapless. I suspect they were new. Internet worked well and the workout room contained new equipment.

Room Tip: Select a room away from the elevator and highway.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Scott G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Auburn hotels
5.5 mi away
Courtyard Auburn
Courtyard Auburn
#3 of 17 in Auburn
4.5 of 5 bubbles 80 reviews
2.9 mi away
The Hotel at Auburn University
5.7 mi away
Hampton Inn Auburn
Hampton Inn Auburn
#4 of 17 in Auburn
4.0 of 5 bubbles 392 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 mi away
Towneplace Suites Auburn
4.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Auburn
0.4 mi away
Candlewood Suites Auburn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Garden Inn Auburn/Opelika? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Garden Inn Auburn/Opelika

Property: Hilton Garden Inn Auburn/Opelika
Address: 2555 Hilton Garden Drive, Auburn, AL 36830
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Alabama > Auburn
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Auburn
#4 Family Hotel in Auburn
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hilton Garden Inn Auburn/Opelika 3*
Number of rooms: 101
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hilton Garden Inn Auburn/Opelika, AL hotel is less than three miles from Auburn University, minutes from Tigers football at Jordan-Hare Stadium and basketball at the Auburn Arena. For business travelers, this Auburn, Alabama hotel is convenient to several industrial parks as well as key Donaldson, Briggs & Stratton, and Wal-Mart facilities. With easy access to the interstate and just seven miles from Robert Trent Jones Golf Trail at Grand National, Auburn Links at Mill Creek or Moore's Mill Club, golfers have great access to fine golfing in Alabama for business meetings or a leisurely day on the fairways. Choose from a spacious Guest Room or Suite at the Hilton Garden Inn Auburn/Opelika hotel and relax in a warm and inviting ambience designed to be comfortable and functional. Work into the night in comfort with a large work desk and ergonomic chair with task lighting. A 24-hour Business Center allows you to print remotely and securely when you need to. Each room is equipped with a hospitality center which features a microwave, refrigerator and coffee maker. Tasty treats, evening snacks and meals can be purchased anytime from the 24-hour Pavilion Pantry(R) for preparation whenever you need them. Stay connected with complimentary high-speed internet access. Relax with HD TV Channels and complimentary HBO on a 32-inch flat screen TV in a comfortable sitting area and sleep peacefully in a signature Garden Sleep System(R) adjustable bed. Stay connected with complimentary high-speed internet access and a 24-hour Business Center with secure PrinterOn(R) remote printing. Relax with your group, colleague and friends in the Pavilion Lounge for a relaxing refreshment or coffee at the end of a long day. Get a great start to each day with a delicious cooked-to-order breakfast at the Great American Grill(R) which also offers evening dinner or room service. A complimentary fitness center and an outdoor pool offer the perfect opportunity for some leisure time after a long day. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hilton Hotels Direct and Odigeo so you can book your Hilton Garden Inn Auburn/Opelika reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Garden Inn Auburn/Opelika Hotel Auburn
Hilton Auburn
Auburn Hilton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing