We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Never Returning to This Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hilton Garden Inn Auburn/Opelika
Ranked #2 of 16 Hotels in Auburn
Certificate of Excellence
Tampa, Florida
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Never Returning to This Hotel”
Reviewed 1 July 2014

This was our third trip to this hotel. We thought the third time would be the charm, but were wrong...again. The prices were outrageous...at over $175/night during the week, we could hardly sleep due to the constant noise from kids running around on our floor (at 2AM of all times! And no one would answer the phone when we called about it!) and the noise of traffic on the highway behind our room. We were offered free breakfast after our "issues" with the hotel, which we accepted...but of course, the breakfast was no different. Our family of four had to wait for over 45 minutes after being seen by a waitress just to get our food. Our waitress was very kind and apologized, but that does not make up for the almost hour-long wait that we endured. Instead of continuing to wait (in a half filled breakfast-nook area), we went to the local IHOP, where we were seated and served our food within 10 minutes. We will never be returning to this hotel.

Room Tip: Choose a different hotel than this one. If you decide to stay here, stay on the first floor. This is...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FrankAU69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark F, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Auburn/Opelika, responded to this review, 2 July 2014
I am very discouraged to see your comments regarding your stay with us here at the Hilton Garden Inn of Auburn. There is no excuse for the service that you received. I do promise you that I have taken the appropriate actions with the ones involved and it will not happen again. We do take great pride in servicing our guest and I am upset that we failed you. I will be glad to personally talk with you regarding your issues if you wish to contact me at the hotel. Once again, Thank you for your comments and we do hope that you will choose to stay with us again here at the Hilton Garden Inn of Auburn.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

423 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    200
    117
    70
    22
    14
See reviews for
180
49
28
129
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Fort Myers, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
117 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 July 2014

Stayed here for one night last week. Had also stayed here last November for three nights. Since then, they have completely renovated the lobby and outdoor eating/sitting area. The renovations are stunning. Hard to believe they accomplished so much in the past 6 months. The rooms were basically the same. Very clean, comfortable, and large. Enjoyed the breakfast in the morning. The front desk agent Jo was a gem. She was so personable, yet professional, and I enjoyed talking with her about the Auburn area.

Room Tip: The suites were wonderful
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AUA11_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark F, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Auburn/Opelika, responded to this review, 2 July 2014
Thank you so much for your words of encouragement regarding your experience with us here at the Hilton Garden Inn of Auburn. We greatly appreciate your business and value your opinions. We are glad to see that you enjoyed and liked our recent renovations. Once again, Thank you and we do hope to see you again in the very near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Decatur, Alabama
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2014

Great hotel and friendly staff. Close to Auburn and very easy to get to either from campus or interstate. Only issue we had was that our room was on the interstate side and we had to run the AC fan to drown out the interstate noise. Will go again but will request a room on opposite end next time.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn

Helpful?
Thank aubiecmhk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark F, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Auburn/Opelika, responded to this review, 2 July 2014
Thank you so much for your kind words regarding your stay here with us at the Hilton Garden Inn of Auburn. We greatly appreciate your business and value your opinions. I do apologize for the interstate noise and do hope that when you come back to see us, that you will request a room away from the interstate. Once again, Thank you and we do hope to see you again in the very near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Decatur Alabama, United States
1 review
Reviewed 28 June 2014

Room was clean and comfortable. Staff was helpful. The staff at this hotel will bend over backwards to make your stay enjoyable. I arrived back at the hotel after the bar was closed. The Bartender was standing in the lobby as saw me looking at the beer cooler. He offered, and opened the cooler and served me when he did not have to. Of course I was charged, but He made the effort when he could have just told me they were closed and headed on home. This property is an excellent valve in a midlevel facility.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn

Helpful?
Thank Joseph J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark F, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Auburn/Opelika, responded to this review, 30 June 2014
Thank you for taking the time to respond to the survey based on your recent stay with us here at the Hilton Garden Inn of Auburn. We greatly appreciate your business and value your opinions. Once again, Thank you and we look forward to see you again in the very near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 June 2014

This hotel is quiet, away from hub-bub of the University but close enough for parents to join activities easily. The hotel staff was kind and assisted us in checking in an hour earlier than the posted check in time. The room was clean but dated in my opinion. The AC never worked right all weekend. It was always humid and warmish regardless of what the thermostat was set at. We do have one more stay booked in this hotel in August 2014. If there's no better experience we won't be staying again.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mrstwojack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark F, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Auburn/Opelika, responded to this review, 25 June 2014
Thank you for choosing to stay with us here at the recently renovated Hilton Garden Inn of Auburn. I do apologize that your A/C did not work to your satisfaction. All A/C's are serviced monthly and we may have not gotten to your a/c at the time of your arrival. If you had let the staff know then we could have done something regarding that issue. As far as the rooms being dated, we have just completed recent renovations. We do however appreciate your business and value your opinions. We do hope to see you again in the very near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Opelika, Alabama
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 June 2014

This was a very clean hotel. The lobby, room, restaurant, pool, and banquet rooms were up to par. The staff was very nice and helpful; everyone including the front desk clerk, housekeeper, bartender, and cook. I would recommend this hotel for any occasion.

Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank L D B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark F, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Auburn/Opelika, responded to this review, 20 June 2014
Thank you for your most gracious comments regarding your stay with us here at The Hilton Garden Inn of Auburn. We greatly appreciate your business and value your opinions. Once again, Thank you and we do hope to see you again in the very near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, Alabama
Level 6 Contributor
106 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 June 2014

We stayed at this hotel for a night while my husband was on business in the area. We decided to bring the kids and get a 2 queen bed junior suite. Since they only offer junior suites, we couldn't truly close a door between the sitting and sleeping areas, but we found that opening the bathroom door and closet door together can help block out noise between the two areas. The room was clean and offered comfortable beds and seating. The refrigerator and coffee maker was appreciated. We had requested a crib before we arrived, and it was in the room when we got there. We were on the side facing the highway, but the noise didn't bother us. My husband stays here frequently for work, so we will definitely return.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bama78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark F, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Auburn/Opelika, responded to this review, 19 June 2014
Thank you for taking the time to post a review for our property based on your most recent stay with us here at The Hilton Garden Inn of Auburn. We greatly appreciate your business and value your opinions. I will be glad to pass along the great comments regarding your stay and we do hope to see you again in the very near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Auburn hotels
2.9 mi away
The Hotel at Auburn University
5.6 mi away
Hampton Inn Auburn
Hampton Inn Auburn
#5 of 16 in Auburn
425 reviews
5.5 mi away
Courtyard Auburn
Courtyard Auburn
#3 of 16 in Auburn
90 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Auburn
3.8 mi away
Towneplace Suites by Marriott Auburn
0.4 mi away
Candlewood Suites Auburn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Garden Inn Auburn/Opelika? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Garden Inn Auburn/Opelika

Property: Hilton Garden Inn Auburn/Opelika
Address: 2555 Hilton Garden Dr, Auburn, AL 36830-5720
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Alabama > Auburn
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Auburn
#4 Family Hotel in Auburn
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hilton Garden Inn Auburn/Opelika 3*
Number of rooms: 101
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hilton Garden Inn Auburn/Opelika, AL hotel is less than three miles from Auburn University, minutes from Tigers football at Jordan-Hare Stadium and basketball at the Auburn Arena. For business travelers, this Auburn, Alabama hotel is convenient to several industrial parks as well as key Donaldson, Briggs & Stratton, and Wal-Mart facilities. With easy access to the interstate and just seven miles from Robert Trent Jones Golf Trail at Grand National, Auburn Links at Mill Creek or Moore's Mill Club, golfers have great access to fine golfing in Alabama for business meetings or a leisurely day on the fairways. Choose from a spacious Guest Room or Suite at the Hilton Garden Inn Auburn/Opelika hotel and relax in a warm and inviting ambience designed to be comfortable and functional. Work into the night in comfort with a large work desk and ergonomic chair with task lighting. A 24-hour Business Center allows you to print remotely and securely when you need to. Each room is equipped with a hospitality center which features a microwave, refrigerator and coffee maker. Tasty treats, evening snacks and meals can be purchased anytime from the 24-hour Pavilion Pantry(R) for preparation whenever you need them. Stay connected with complimentary high-speed internet access. Relax with HD TV Channels and complimentary HBO on a 32-inch flat screen TV in a comfortable sitting area and sleep peacefully in a signature Garden Sleep System(R) adjustable bed. Stay connected with complimentary high-speed internet access and a 24-hour Business Center with secure PrinterOn(R) remote printing. Relax with your group, colleague and friends in the Pavilion Lounge for a relaxing refreshment or coffee at the end of a long day. Get a great start to each day with a delicious cooked-to-order breakfast at the Great American Grill(R) which also offers evening dinner or room service. A complimentary fitness center and an outdoor pool offer the perfect opportunity for some leisure time after a long day. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hilton Hotels Direct, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Hilton Garden Inn Auburn/Opelika reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Garden Inn Auburn/Opelika Hotel Auburn
Hilton Auburn
Auburn Hilton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing