We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice place to stay for a visit”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Hotel at Auburn University
Ranked #1 of 17 Hotels in Auburn
Certificate of Excellence
Sudbury, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Nice place to stay for a visit”
Reviewed 7 April 2012

We only spent one night here, but the rooms were very clean and modern, the on site restaurant and bar were very nice. The breakfast buffer was also excellent and you can't beat the location, it was directly across the street from the university. Only a 3-5 minute walk to the admissions building.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

524 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    344
    127
    36
    8
    9
See reviews for
235
57
24
141
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (106)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, Alabama
Level Contributor
32 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 April 2012

The staff was excellent, helpful, courteous and kind. The cleanliness and overall experience was not on the level expected at a hotel like this. Not up to the standards set on prior visits. Nothing dramatic, but down from prior experience.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NoMoreHolidayInn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hartford, Connecticut
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 28 March 2012

On our trip to Florida we stayed overnight at this hotel. I don't usually write reviews but this Hotel was amazing! The suite we stayed in was perfect. There was a very comfortable king size bed in the bedroom and a sleeper sofa in the living area. I was a little concerned about the comfort of the slepper sofa, but I slept like a baby!!! It was very comfortable. The suite was large and luxurious, but at the same time had the feel of the "Old Southern Charm". There were lovely touches around the room that gave it the feel of staying with in a friends home, not like a cold impersonal hotel room.

All of the staff that assisted us were just great!! We were always greeted with a smile. Kyle,
the gentleman at the front desk was warm and welcoming. Patricia, a lovely woman in housekeeping came to make up the sofa bed for me. We had a late dinner in the Ariccia Restaurant, Angel, our server was so pleasant and the service was prompt. This was great as we had my 8 year old grandaughter with us and wanted to get her in bed. Chef Leo's desserts were so scrumptious, and a perfect way to end the day. The breakfast buffet the next morning is a must! Marty the gentleman who prepares the omlets was so charming. He greeted each person like they were the only one there. I recommend this hotel for a slice luxury and southern hospitality.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sonlovers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Huntsville, Alabama
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 March 2012

Hotel located in the heart of the Auburn campus. Exceptionally friendly staff. Lots of good places to gather with friends--spacious, yet cozy, lobby; bar with comfortable seating; good restaurant. Room was nice, nothing fancy. Bathroom small, but adequate. View of landmark buildings from our room. Definitely the best place to stay at Auburn!

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ecraft66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St. Louis, MO
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 18 March 2012

I called to book an appointment for our college visit, but the minimum stay for that date was THREE nights, so sorry. When I asked for a recommended hotel nearby (we are out of state and have no clue), agent said their company's policy is NOT to recommend other hotels. Wow, so helpful!

Maybe we don't want to go to school here after all.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank janvier01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alabama
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 March 2012

I just came back from my third time staying at the Hotel at Auburn University and once again it was a wonderful experience. All three times I was there for a large conference that included meetings and banquets at the hotel. The king room we had was very nice, with a comfortable bed and furniture, my only complaint would be that the bathroom was small. Every staff member we encountered spoke to us in a friendly and pleasant manner.

The meeting room and auditorium were adequate for our purposes. The banquet meals were better than what I have experienced at other country clubs and hotels, and the service was attentive.

We ate one meal at the Ariccia Restaurant in the hotel one night which happened to be the night of their pasta bar. The salad, pasta, and desert was excellent, as was the serving staff.

We had a small problem with our bill, but it was taken care of so pleasantly and efficiently that it really was a non-issue.

The people in our group that plan this conference always say that they check into other places all over the state of Alabama, and can never find anything to compare to the Hotel at Auburn!

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank carbonpaper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orlando, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 February 2012

I recently stayed at this hotel for a conference and was appalled at the treatment we received. I was staying there for a leadership conference, with 15 other students as well as our advisor. None of us are rowdy, and are all adults and are respectful, however we were treated like children. When we would walk down the hall we would be reprimanded for being too loud, even though we were having personal, one-on-one conversations. We were not allowed to go in to each other's rooms just to have a discussion. In fact, when we tried to meet in our President's room with our for a quick meeting, we were told that not more than the designated amount of people were allowed in the room, that this was our first warning and that if we continued to stay in the room that the police would be called to escort us off of the property, even though we had barely said two words to each other at that point. This disgusting treatment was not only inflicted on myself and my school, but on many of the other universities staying on the property. I work for a hotel, and we have had conferences of teenagers stay in the hotel; however, we would never treat them like this, as if they had absolutely no self control and needed to be constantly monitored and threatened. I am absolutely DISGUSTED at the treatment we received, and would never recommend this hotel to anyone staying in the Auburn area.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank E S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auburn-Hotelier, General Manager at The Hotel at Auburn University, responded to this review, 23 February 2012
Dear Madam?Sir,

I am sorry to learn of your disappointment with your recent stay at The Hotel at Auburn University. I have shared your feedback with our team. I want to insure that we provide an outstanding experience for all guests and when multiple noise complaints are received from our hotel guests that we still respond in a strict but cordial manner.

SIncerely,

Hans van der Reijden
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Auburn hotels
3.5 mi away
Courtyard Auburn
Courtyard Auburn
#3 of 17 in Auburn
88 reviews
2.9 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Auburn/Opelika
1.5 mi away
Towneplace Suites by Marriott Auburn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
Hampton Inn Auburn
Hampton Inn Auburn
#4 of 17 in Auburn
413 reviews
1.9 mi away
Clarion Inn & Suites University Center
2.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Auburn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Hotel at Auburn University? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Hotel at Auburn University

Property: The Hotel at Auburn University
Address: 241 S College St, Auburn, AL 36830-5429
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Alabama > Auburn
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Auburn
#1 Family Hotel in Auburn
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Hotel at Auburn University 3.5*
Number of rooms: 248
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your The Hotel at Auburn University reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Auburn University
University Hotel Auburn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing