We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good food, creative options”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Hamilton's

Hamilton's
Ranked #4 of 214 Restaurants in Auburn
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special Occasion Dining, Groups, Child-friendly, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Bar Scene
Dining options: Dinner, Brunch, Lunch, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Roswell, Georgia
Level Contributor
474 reviews
348 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 244 helpful votes
“Good food, creative options”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 April 2014

We enjoyed the food and the service, there were several creative menu options and the server knew to bring the kids food fast, bonus. They like the shrimp here and they should it is done well and they are generous on many dishes.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Fritz_the_1st
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

203 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    97
    77
    11
    10
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Chattanooga, Tennessee
Level Contributor
186 reviews
119 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
“Casual Dinning with good food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 March 2014 credit card Amex Cardmember Review

Enjoy this place. Just off the Main Street in downtown Auburn. It has very good food - great atmosphere and always friendly service. Whether at the bar and or at a table, it's an enjoyable atmosphere. Good array of food choices on the menu and presented well. I enjoy this place for either - drinks and appetizers and or for a sit down dinner. Never have been disappointed here

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank TravelBoy27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Slidell, La
Level Contributor
20 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Disappointing”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 March 2014 via mobile

Called so I could eat a late lunch but when I arrived the hostess said the kitchen was closed for lunch - even after I said I had called to confirm time
Chose fried green tomatoes and tortilla soup. When the waitress brought the soup, I questioned that she had brought chili- oh no she said. It was Luke warm runny chili. The display of the green tomatoes was very
Nice but the tomatoes were deep fried not pan fried. All that for $20. Try somewhere else

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank cmduck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
128 reviews
85 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Quaint gathering place in downtown auburn!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 March 2014

We found this to be a very warm and friendly gathering place in Auburn, located near the campus and within waking distance of the Auburn Hotel on College Street. We had salads and appetizers for our meal, and found them to be very good and filling. The menu for dinner items looked very good and sounded delicious! The staff was very friendly and helpful with questions about the menu. The artwork found in the restaurant is very unique and interesting!

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank janelarry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
49 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Great food, well made, but too pricey and too formal!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 March 2014

Yes, it's worth it I'd say for a special occasion. I have the feeling this is the place where the laumni and the faculty go as regulars. I will say they have decent service (mixed, I should say because i've had good and bad there) but when you're paying literally 35 bucks for a 10 ounce steak with mashed potatoes, you'd expect a consistent line of service. I'm not knocking the place it's a place I like to go to now and then for drinks, they have a nice wine list and have a decent whisky list. The attire borders formal, I felt very out of place in a pressed white polo and khakis when most of the patrons are in jackets some with tie or no tie and ladies in nicer evening wear. I stress the focus on it's a good restaurant on special occasions...but I would rather go have a meal at Moe's BBQ or Mellow Mushroom that's a little bit more laid back and not so pretentious. The markup on alcohol is noticeably higher than in most other restaurants in Auburn.

Hamilton's is not a place to go eat, it's a place to be seen....it's a place to meet friends. It's a 'white tablecloth' and four fork kind of restaurant. It would be great for dinner for your anniversary or for graduation, but not one of my normal haunts.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank TinoNacho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Hamilton's also viewed

 

Been to Hamilton's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing