We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“They have the best fried chicken in town!”

Pannie-George's Kitchen
Ranked #13 of 220 Restaurants in Auburn
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American
Description: Phone # 334-821-4142Web Site: panniegeorgeskitchen.com
Restaurant details
Description: Phone # 334-821-4142Web Site: panniegeorgeskitchen.com
Auburn, Alabama
Level 6 Contributor
136 reviews
119 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“They have the best fried chicken in town!”
Reviewed 11 August 2014 via mobile

And they know it too. Down home southern comfort food and service. Can't get any better home style cuisine anywhere else in Lee County.

Helpful?
Thank Lilquiz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

103 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    62
    33
    4
    2
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Auburn, Alabama
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Best Fried Chicken Ever”
Reviewed 15 July 2014

If you have fond memories of your Mom or Grandma's fried chicken, you must stop by Pannie George's in Auburn, AL. The fried chicken there is crispy, juicy, tender and seasoned just right. It is how fried chicken should taste but really doesn't anymore. Located on South College Street very close to the interstate, the restaurant is very casual. It's a meat and two sides place and it is only open for lunch. If you get there late your choice of meat and veggies can be limited. We had the mac-n-cheese and slaw. Both were outstanding. We had no room for dessert, but I am told those are wonderful too.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank BARBS9754
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nashville, Tennessee
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Home Cooked Goodness”
Reviewed 15 July 2014 via mobile

I come from the land of Meat and Threes (Nashville) and all I have to say is that Pannie-George has got it goin' on! Excellent greens and black eyed peas with a tasty home made pepper sauce on the table. The fried chicken was hot and crispy the way I like it but could have used a little more spice. Overall an excellent place to eat. Come get ya' some.

Helpful?
1 Thank audart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pensacola, FL
Level 6 Contributor
461 reviews
294 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 157 helpful votes
“Good food”
Reviewed 14 July 2014

Upon recommendation of my neighbor, my wife and I stopped in for a late lunch. The food was great! I ordered the catfish and my wife ordered the fired chicken, our sides being Corn casserole, cabbage, black-eyed peas and my wife had sweet potato pie for dessert. Cost of $22.00 for our meals. The sweet potato pie was not sweet and could stand a change in recipe. the corn casserole could be ordered as a dessert as it was extremely sweet and very tasty. The corn bread is the old southern style corn bread that I used to call sweet corn bread.
Over all the meal was very good and I would recommend this restaurant. You can always phone ahead and get the menu for the day.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank JiamesB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milton, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
263 reviews
140 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
“surprisingly good and fast.”
Reviewed 23 June 2014

Saw this place online and decided to stop for lunch on our way home from N. GA. Didn't know what to expect, but was surprised how good it was. Good southern cooking served up quickly and abundantly.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank rosifraz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Pannie-George's Kitchen also viewed

 

Been to Pannie-George's Kitchen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing