We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Greasy buffet, dark meat chicken only, all fried foods” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Shakey's

Shakey's
Ranked #38 of 211 Restaurants in Auburn
Cuisines: American, Pizza
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Seating, Takeout, Wheelchair Accessible
Marietta, Georgia
Level Contributor
70 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Greasy buffet, dark meat chicken only, all fried foods”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 May 2014

I wanted to like Shakey's buffet, because I really like Shakey's pizza, but their buffet is pricey and substandard. There is very little from which to choose and what's there is usually coldish French fries, overcooked chicken thighs and legs only (no white meat) and a disappointingly limited salad bar. If I do come back here, I will stick with the pizza and forget about the buffet entirely.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank MikeAve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

39 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    16
    5
    11
    2
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Auburn, Alabama
Level Contributor
16 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Chicken, Pizza and Games”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 February 2014

This is a kid zone....lots of games, pizza and chicken. The food is ok but nothing special. So if you are looking for a place that is kid friendly where the kids can burn off some energy, this might be the place for you.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank smellintherosesalot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dahlonega, Georgia, United States
Level Contributor
212 reviews
159 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“Fun place, good pizza”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 December 2013

We've stopped at the Auburn location twice now on our way back to North Georgia from Texas. It had been many years since I had eaten in a Shakey's, but always loved it as a kid. So this brings back great memories. It's basically the same kind of place, but with an updated salad bar and a more extensive pizza menu. It also has a game arcade for kids. It's a great place for the kids to unwind after hours on the road. It doesn't have the "blacklight" piano that I remember from the Boulder location, but it does have a cabinet full of Shakey's memorabilia that's kind of cool. The pizza is good too; thin, crispy crust NY style like I remember it. Sauce was a little sweet, but the salad bar was super-fresh.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank DBM58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wintrhop, United States
Level Contributor
24 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Sure didn't taste like it did in May”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 October 2013

We ate at the pizza parlor on 10-21. The food quality seriously lessened since our last trip by in May. The food lacked in having the amount of cheese and meat on the pizza. We were told we could have additional toppings and wouldn't cost more. When the pizza was paid for we were charged additional money for what should have been part of the "deal" they were offering. The chicken we received was cooked, but was stringy and tough. It was a major disappointment to us. Our review from June is the exact opposite of this one. I don't know what has happened, but we will not be returning on our return trip.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Robert C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auburn, Alabama
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
“horrible pizza”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 October 2013

I was not impressed with pizza from shakey's today. I would have rather had a frozen tostinos pizza for less than $2 than this pizza. Then the kids buffet for a 9yr old was same price as an adults. Only good tasting thing was the fried chicken and then it was a disappointment when they never put out any white meat, and you could tell it was prebreaded. There were few tables of people when we came in, there were more tables with dishes on them than ones with people, and when we left all those tables still had dirty dishes on them, and the floor looked like it had not been cleaned in a while. I will not be making a return visit.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank wareaglemom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Shakey's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing