We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Atmosphere Means A Lot”

Laredo Mexican Grille
Ranked #136 of 222 Restaurants in Auburn
Cuisines: Mexican
Restaurant details
Opelika, Alabama
Level 5 Contributor
76 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Atmosphere Means A Lot”
Reviewed 5 February 2014

A Mexican restaurant without a lot of activity is like a sad clown. Both are a bit unsettling and no one wants to be around 'em. Thankfully, Laredo will never, ever suffer from Sad Clown Syndrome, or SCS.

Like pretty much all the Mex restaurants in our area, the chow is about as bland-o as you can get away with while still maintaining some semblance of South o' the Border Flava. But it's always crowded and loud, there is perpetually a gaggle of soccer moms enjoying one too many medium margaritas, the service is lightning fast and the plates super-hot. Plus they're not stingy with the chips and salsa.

If you end up at a table in the middle you'll feel as if you're enjoying your meal in a fish bowl. If you have younguns in tow, this might be a good or bad thing depending on how susceptible to shaming your kids are.

Laredo is the Official Opelika Mexican Restaurant of the Musclechest clan if for no other reason than the fact that the ownership is a supergood, super hard-working family.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Flex M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

56 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    24
    17
    7
    1
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Auburn, Alabama
1 review
“Good Service and Food”
Reviewed 4 November 2013

We went there several times for dinner. The food taste great with a fair price. Also I like the huge margaritas,

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Peng C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auburn, Alabama
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
“great service and food”
Reviewed 21 October 2013

I always have a great visit. The service is great and so is the food. I never have left disappointed.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank wareaglemom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
alabama
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Excellent food great service!”
Reviewed 10 October 2013 via mobile

This is a great Mexican restaurant ! Best margarita's ever!! If you haven't been to Laredo's you are missing a great experience! Love this place!

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank campingirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Huge Margaritas”
Reviewed 13 September 2013 via mobile

I really enjoy the food at Laredo and they have good prices. Also, their margaritas are HUGE, so be wary when choosing a size. The waitstaff were on top of things when I've eaten here, and it is a nice restaurant. I highly recommend eating here.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank CBM0015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Laredo Mexican Grille also viewed

 

Been to Laredo Mexican Grille? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing