We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Place for the Money!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Auburn
Ranked #12 of 16 Hotels in Auburn
Columbus, Ohio
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Great Place for the Money!”
Reviewed 17 April 2011

We were in town for a college visit, and hotels in the area can be pricey. We booked this one through hotels.com, where we requested 2 queen beds. Apparently, booking through a broker did not guarantee this! The clerk was more than happy to switch us to the room we actually wanted. The room had recently been updated, so it was much nicer than your typical Microtel. I really felt like it was closer in quality to a Marriott.

Building access was super-convenient. We could park right outside the side door and get to our room quickly. The breakfast is mediocre, but there was enough to tide us over. Since our son has decided to attend Auburn, we will be staying here quite a lot!

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CollegeMomOhio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

413 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    55
    96
    122
    77
    63
See reviews for
187
56
48
74
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 March 2011

We have stayed at a Microtel before and we compared it to IKEA. Everything is minimal but cheap. We were on a college tour so we chose a hotel near I-85. This is a very small hotel. We were put in a room right off the lobby but we didn't think that was a problem. Most hotel guests complain about other guests being loud. But our problem was that the manager (or owner) and his wife were actually having a fight in the lobby! Now it was not late, only 9:00 pm when it started and we were still watching TV. At first, my daughter knocked on the inside of our door so that they could hear it. Second, I walked out and went to get ice presumably, so that I could see if they were actually behind the door of the office. No, they were not even behind the desk but about 12 feet from our door. Finally, at 10:00 pm, I opened the door and explained that I was ready to go to bed. They apologized and I think they were embarrassed but I can't help thinking it was funny that we're always bothered by other guests but this time, it was the manager!

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jbssully
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moorhead, Mississippi
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 March 2011

Simply put: NEVER AGAIN! I will not be staying here again! I'm certainly glad I didn't pay full price for my stay here. The only reason I stayed here is because it's closer to my bf who attends a university not too far from the area. I didn't even stay the entire duration, I had to leave. For the first three days, this hotel didn't even have hot water! No hot water for 3 days?! That was ridiculous! It's bad enough the rooms were small, it could have at least been clean and comfortable. Management of this hotel has definitely got to step it up! Amenities are outdated and there wasn't even a proper breakfast area. For breakfast there were 2 tables against the wall in the lobby and they served cereal, juice and coffee :( RIDICULOUS! This hotel stay was far below my standards. I stayed at the Microtel in Opelika previously and should have gone back there! If it weren't for me trying to stay closer to my bf I most def would have left as soon as I stepped foot in the lobby *ick* Needless to say, I didn't stay the whole time anyway; couldn't take it anymore. I will NEVER compromise my level of comfort again! DO NOT WASTE YOUR MONEY I DON'T CARE HOW DEEP THE DISCOUNT IS! If you want comfort and good value for your money stay at the Microtel Inn & Suites in Opelika....NOT AUBURN!

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bryant-brady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Auburn hotels

Dallas, Texas
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 27 January 2011

Our room wasn't ready when we got there because they had been full the night before. We had to wait about 45 minutes, but the room was clean and comfortable and the staff were friendly and accomodating. My only "complaint' is that the TV was mounted too high to watch in comfort. There was no hot food for breakfast, but it's a budget hotel and I thought we got what we paid for, and that's all I ask. This hotel is near the Interstate, but if you're there to tour Auburn University, there are hotels closer to campus.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank snuxi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
Level 5 Contributor
84 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 August 2010

The Microtel Inn in Auburn is a great place to visit and was reasonably priced. The hotel was very clean, the customer service was very efficient and they cared about the guest who was spending the night there. Although the rooms just had the basic features to a hotel room, the rooms did offer a small refrigerator and a safe. The breakfast was good and they offered cereal, juice, coffee, bagels, pastries and fruit. The hotel is located close to the highway and is about ten minutes away from Auburn University and there are shops and restaurants close by on College Street. I would recommend this hotel because the rooms are reasonably priced and the hotel was very quiet and I did not have to worry about being disrupted.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SETraveler2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Alabama
Level 5 Contributor
71 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 April 2010

This Microtell is not fancy but is a great place for a good, clean, new place for relatively little money. The rooms are pretty small but so is the price.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RMH_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Attleboro, Massachusetts
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 March 2010

This Microtel has the traditional, comfy Microtel window seat. One wall was all mirrors, giving the room a larger feel. We had 2 queen beds instead of tiny double ones with a microfridge in the room. Everything was clean and well maintained - no problems. There's no guest laundry in the hotel but they said that there is a laundromat 3 miles away.
Breakfast was a bit meager: bagels, bananas & apples, wrapped Danish, cold cereal, juice, and coffee.
This is a pet-friendly hotel for $10/night extra for pets under 25 pounds.

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank amlbones
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Auburn hotels
0.2 mi away
Sleep Inn & Suites
Sleep Inn & Suites
#8 of 16 in Auburn
101 reviews
1.1 mi away
Clarion Inn & Suites University Center
5.6 mi away
Candlewood Suites Auburn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hampton Inn Auburn
Hampton Inn Auburn
#4 of 16 in Auburn
420 reviews
3.1 mi away
The Hotel at Auburn University
5.7 mi away
Quality Inn Auburn University Area
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Auburn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Auburn

Property: Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Auburn
Address: 2174 S College St, Auburn, AL 36832-2417
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Alabama > Auburn
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 16 Hotels in Auburn
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Auburn 2*
Number of rooms: 42
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ebookers, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Auburn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Microtel Inns And Suites Auburn
Microtel Inns & Suites Auburn Hotel Auburn
Microtel Auburn
Auburn Microtel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing