We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Another great visit!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Auburn
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Crenshaw Guest House Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 2 Auburn B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Port Saint John, Florida
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Another great visit!”
Reviewed 16 September 2012

This is the third time I've stayed at Crenshaw House but the first for my husband - and now he knows first hand what I've been raving about. As usual the service was impeccable from the time we arrived until we, sadly, left four days later. We're not usually big breakfast eaters, but who can resist George's wonderful breakfasts...and I'm convinced he also manages to take out all the calories no matter what we have! The locations is great - withing walking distance of Old Downtown as well as to the Auburn University Campus - but quiet and secluded with beautiful landscaping and peace and quiet no matter which room or suite you book. George is a marvelous innkeeper; his is TRUE Southern hospitality.

Room Tip: There are NO bad rooms, so enjoy your visit
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 19Cheryl43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

261 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    246
    12
    1
    1
    1
See reviews for
134
51
11
33
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
San Antonio, Texas
Level Contributor
43 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 September 2012 via mobile

We love this place. Short walk to Toomer's/campus. George is a wonderful American veteran, proud Auburn grad and a joy to visit with. Superior host. Incredible breakfasts. Can't say enough great things.

Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank RCTALLEY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Prattville, Alabama
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 August 2012

George is a great host, and the accommodations were wonderful. We stayed in the Petrie Suite, and loved the room. The breakfast was great. The property was well maintained outside and inside. We did not realize when we booked the date that the next day was the first day of classes for the Auburn students. We were concerned about things being noisy, but that was not a problem at all. Nice and quiet. (We decided not to let anyone know we were Alabama fans!)

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BrentMsldn5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 13 August 2012

We've stayed at the Crenshaw House Bed & Breakfast three times. George and his staff are always friendly and welcoming. The rooms are comfortable and quiet--the Petrie is our family favorite. Breakfast is a highlight! Great place to stay when in Auburn!

Room Tip: Recommend the rooms in the main house
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lbhamilton1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LaGrange, Georgia
Level Contributor
34 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 July 2012

We stayed for the evening to celebrate our anniversary. We returned here because we stayed once before, 10+ years ago. It is even better than before. This location is just perfect, conveniently walking distance to the downtown area. In addition, the rooms are all beautiful - and they are also updating some of the already beautiful spaces. After a nice dinner, we returned to the Crenshaw house and enjoyed a drink on the front porch swing. In the morning, the breakfast of French toast, bacon, fresh fruit, potatoes, and scrambled eggs was second to none.

As others have mentioned, as nice as everything is - George, the owner, is the icing on the cake! His conversation and hospitality will have us coming back!

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank abakeraday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cartersville
1 review
Reviewed 14 June 2012

My husband and I were fortunate enough to spend one night at The Crenshaw Guest House, but really wished we could have stayed longer! This location far surpassed all of my expectations. Having never stayed here before, we were not sure of the set up but they have something for everybody. You can stay in a room within the main house or you can stay in a detached building on the grounds. We chose to stay in one of these buildings, The Thach House, which was the perfect balance of privacy and safety, since we were literally 10 steps from the main house. In terms of the location of The Crenshaw Guest House, we were within a two minute drive of Toomer's Corner (downtown), and within a short walk of Jordan-Hare Stadium. The location couldn't be more perfect for AU fans!

However, the most impressive part of our stay was the comfort of the host, George. He is passionate about his home and making it enjoyable for every guest. He treated my husband and I as if we were the only guest there, when he had quite a full house! He even worked around my husband's test schedule so he could have a light breakfast before hand, and then later enjoyed the scrumptious hot breakfast afterward! We have never been treated with so much hospitality!

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank aubiefan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 June 2012

We stayed here for a 1 night during our american road trip in March 2012. The host was very friendly and knowledgeable about the area. A few days before we arrived we received a welcome email, with map, directions and contact numbers as well as some suggested attractions and activities in the area.
When we arrived the host showed us around the house and also offered us a different room if we wanted one in the house for no extra cost as it was not fully booked. We stayed with the room we had already booked which was the Thach room in the back garden. The room had its own mini kitchen, double and single bed, en suite and TV. The B&B is only a couple of minutes walk to the main street so we could leave the car and explore the town.
Breakfast was very tasty, lots of fresh fruit and pancakes and sausage.
If we were passing through Auburn again we would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank muuummmmm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Auburn hotels
0.7 mi away
The Hotel at Auburn University
4.1 mi away
Courtyard Auburn
Courtyard Auburn
#3 of 17 in Auburn
88 reviews
2.1 mi away
Towneplace Suites by Marriott Auburn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.2 mi away
Hampton Inn Auburn
Hampton Inn Auburn
#4 of 17 in Auburn
413 reviews
3.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Auburn
3.1 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Auburn/Opelika
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crenshaw Guest House Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crenshaw Guest House Bed & Breakfast

Property: Crenshaw Guest House Bed & Breakfast
Address: 371 N College St, Auburn, AL 36830-3814
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Alabama > Auburn
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Auburn
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Historic property walking distance from the town of Auburn, and Auburn University. Ideal for group events, exclusive property packages available. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing