We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Need better breakfast”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Clarion Inn & Suites University Center
Ranked #11 of 17 Hotels in Auburn
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Need better breakfast”
Reviewed 8 September 2013

Night clerk was very friendly, room was clean but the air was not on, didn't take long to cool off. I slept well but breakfast consisted of biscuits, dry cereal, juice & coffee. I was hoping for some bacon & eggs at least.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank redwolfnation
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LaPrell S, General Manager at Clarion Inn & Suites University Center, responded to this review, 17 June 2014
Thank you for your review, you will be happy to know that we have added several items to our breakfast since your stay including eggs! We hope to see you again this football season!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

150 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    40
    38
    39
    14
    19
See reviews for
65
12
14
33
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Gulfport, Mississippi
Level Contributor
29 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 September 2013

The front desk clerk was nice enough. We were told our room was poolside when indeed it was not, Not that that matters much because the pool was not well appointed. The room was hot about 80° for both of the nights we were there, the day we check out finally cooled off to the low 70s in the room. The commode wobbled when we used it, the room smelled like cigarettes and mildew. The only good thing about this property was that it was pet friendly although there was limited space to walk the dogs. Was going to reserve a room for football weekend, they wanted $249.00 for a room I wouldn't even rate a half a star. Skip this place unless you just need a place to stash the pups while you watch the game, but then again, for $249.00 you could pay someone to walk, wash, groom and hand feed your K9s.

Room Tip: Pick a different property.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Lulutude
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LaPrell S, General Manager at Clarion Inn & Suites University Center, responded to this review, 17 June 2014
I want to thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us. I realize that this response is very late but I did not want to ignore your review simply because of the time that had passed between it and my access being approved to respond to it. I was made aware of this review shortly after you posted it and I assure you we have addressed the issues you mentioned and were able to address. We have installed new motors in all of our exhaust fans to combat the odor issues you experienced, we are constantly inspecting rooms for maintenance issues such as the wobbly toilet and we are constantly monitoring the performance of our A/C units to maximize efficiency. I do hope that should you return to Auburn, you will give us a second look and see the improvements.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boaz, Alabama
Level Contributor
56 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 May 2013 via mobile

It's now a clarion inn use going renovation positive changes. I expect it will continue to get better. The restaurant ant bar will be open soon. Rooms were clean, beds comfortable. Staff was very nice. It's a large facility with banquet and meeting rooms. New life being breathed into an older facility

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank roninboaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rick B, Manager at Clarion Inn & Suites University Center, responded to this review, 15 July 2013
Hi,
Thank you for the lovely review!
We strive to provide the best service to our customers and are very excited about the new changes we are bringing to the property. We look forward to future stays with us. You can expect many positive improvements to the property in the coming months!

Thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milford, CT
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 May 2013

Well, this was the only hotel available on short notice for Auburn Graduation. Upon arrival, we eventually realized the Hotel had changed names as we could not find the Lexington. The hotel is now a Clarion. In any event, the employees were nice enough I have no complaints there. The hotel itself is in need of work. The Hotel appears old. It seems it's under renovations, which are sorely needed. The room, while clean..was old. It had a newer TV. Outside of that it needs a full remodel. Electrical outlet in use directly up against the mattress/sheets is a big fire hazard and needs to be addressed. Broken dial on fridge (can't turn it without tools) froze all of our liquids. Woke up the next day to frozen water, wine, and beer.. The room however did not have any bad odor, which was good.

The exterior of this building needs the most work. Paint was peeling, no water in the pool, ice machine room on our level was gone and an old chair and bucket of water which looked to be months old was in it's place.

Noise level was pretty bad, thin walls I guess.

Again, it did seem work was going on so hopefully conditions will improve but you may want to avoid for the rest of the year at least.

Room Tip: Don't bother for now...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AlienShore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rick B, General Manager at Clarion Inn & Suites University Center, responded to this review, 15 July 2013
Dear Alien Shore,

Please accept my thanks for taking the time to communicate these issues.

It is our heartfelt desire that every guest experience at the Clarion Inn & Suites in Auburn, AL be positive from start to finish and regret that was not the case.

We are currently in the process of improving the property and should your travels bring you back to our area, I hope you'll give us another try.

Please contact me directly so that I can personally handle your needs.

Sincerely,
Rick Boddie
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sumiton
2 reviews
Reviewed 28 April 2013

The Lexington, now Clarion Inns and Suites. The Hotel is undergoing a complete renovation, and is really looking good. New TV's and furniture. New Carpet ready to install, new rest room fixtures....simply put it was looking good. Cristy checked us in and was absolutely fabulous. The manager Rick has a fabulous staff and has the Hotel on the move. One of the best we stayed in, and we business travel a lot.

The rooms were clean and fresh smelling and the contenintel breakfast was more than adequate. 2 thumbs up!

Room Tip: The second floor, odd numbered rooms, extremely quiet!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank charles f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rick B, General Manager at Clarion Inn & Suites University Center, responded to this review, 15 July 2013
Dear Charles F.

Thank you for the incredibly positive review!
We strive to provide great customer service.
My team and I always try to make every guest feel welcome.
We look forward to your future stay with us!

Thank you,
Rick Boddie
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
33 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 January 2013

Most of Auburn was sold out for the KY game so we found a room here. Older room but relatively clean. Outlets protruding and no coffee pot with the coffee maker. There was construction hopefully to make it closer to being the nice place it once was. Staff was friendly enough although what I believe was the cleaning staff were yelling loudly across the courtyard. Luckily they left but I was concerned about that. A lot of potential maybe once renovated and good location. I would stay here again but ONLY if I had no other resort.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ajustice7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rick B, General Manager at Clarion Inn & Suites University Center, responded to this review, 15 July 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for letting us know that your stay with us did not meet your expectations.

We have every desire to address the needs of every guest and provide the best solution possible, as quickly as possible.

I regret that we were not made aware of these issues while you were still our guest, so that I could have handled them for you immediately.

I sincerely hope that you will give us another opportunity to gain your confidence.

Please accept my apology for any trouble or inconvenience. Again, thank you for your feedback as it will assist us in becoming better at what we do.

Rick Boddie
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
148 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 September 2012 via mobile

Great place to stay after an Auburn football game. It was very close to campus. We had a very large suite and it was very clean and reasonably priced. Would recommend this hotel for anyone visiting Auburn!

Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank gloria s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rick B, General Manager at Clarion Inn & Suites University Center, responded to this review, 15 July 2013
Dear Gloria S.

Thank you for your lovely comments about our hotel.
Our proximity to the Auburn University Campus is a huge bonus to our customers.
My team and I strive to provide great customer service, clean rooms, and an overall warm, friendly atmosphere.
We look forward to your next stay with us!

Rick Boddie
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Auburn hotels
1.7 mi away
Hampton Inn Auburn
Hampton Inn Auburn
#4 of 17 in Auburn
413 reviews
1.6 mi away
Courtyard Auburn
Courtyard Auburn
#3 of 17 in Auburn
88 reviews
1.2 mi away
Sleep Inn & Suites
Sleep Inn & Suites
#9 of 17 in Auburn
100 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
The Hotel at Auburn University
0.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Auburn
0.5 mi away
Towneplace Suites by Marriott Auburn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Clarion Inn & Suites University Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clarion Inn & Suites University Center

Property: Clarion Inn & Suites University Center
Address: 1577 S College St, Auburn, AL 36832-5884 (Formerly Lexington Hotel University Convention Center)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Alabama > Auburn
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 17 Hotels in Auburn
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Clarion Inn & Suites University Center 2.5*
Number of rooms: 101
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Clarion Inn & Suites University Center in Auburn, AL offers easy access to Auburn University and Jordan-Hare Stadium. This Auburn, Alabama hotel is also convenient to the Jules-Smith Art Museum and the Robert Trent Jones Golf Trails.Guests of the Clarion Inn University Center hotel are invited to relax in the outdoor pool, utilize the Business Center and work out in the exercise room. Boasting 9,000 square feet of conference space and one of the largest ballrooms in the area, there are 5 meeting rooms, with the hotel able to accommodate 400 people for banquets and 900 people for conferences. Additional amenities include: Free continental breakfast, Free wireless high-speed Internet access, Free coffee, All guest rooms offer a flat-screen television with cable, refrigerator, microwave, hair dryer, alarm clock, iron and ironing board. Some rooms feature a sofa sleeper. Its perfect location and convenient access to area attractions make the Clarion Inn & Suites University Center a great place for business and leisure travelers in the Auburn, AL area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Choice Hotels, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Clarion Inn & Suites University Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lexington Hotel University Auburn
Best Western Auburn
Auburn Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing