We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not Pleased!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Clarion Inn & Suites University Center
Ranked #10 of 16 Hotels in Auburn
Reviewed 10 July 2014

First of all I was overcharged and still haven't been credited. Secondly, the A/C goes off in the room with no warning, just shuts off and you have to turn it back on...not good when you have been out all day in the summer. The A/C and the sink leaked so the carpets in front of the A/C unit and under the sink were constantly soaking wet. The key stopped working on my 2nd day. Oh, and my favorite thing was that we needed a set of sheets for the pullout couch and when I called the front desk I was told that I would have to "come and get them" because she was the "only person working".

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KBK100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (154)
There are newer reviews for Clarion Inn & Suites University Center
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

112 - 118 of 154 reviews

Reviewed 19 June 2014

It was just awful. I just checked.out.of.Room 125. AC didn't cool off the room, toilet clogged at first use, bed sat 1 foot of the ground, shower clogged and pillows were maybe 18" long (very small). Nice tv and good channels though! Its a motel, looks like a motel and they put paint on the walls and put s good tv and call it a hotel. Worst stay I have had in a long time and I travel.monthly.

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank David F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2014

I spent a weekend in Auburn recently and had a very good experience at this hotel. Everything worked -- hot water, good water pressure, clean, comfortable bed. Hotel is dated, but obviously the owners are upgrading as they go. Well done.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Paul F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LaPrell S, General Manager at Clarion Inn & Suites University Center, responded to this reviewResponded 17 June 2014

Thank you very much for taking the time to review your stay with us, we truly appreciate your kind words and hope that you will see further improvements the next time you're in Auburn.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 May 2014

I was stay here a few weeks back and I was surprisingly please with my stay here. It is one of the nicest exterior hotels I have ever stayed at and the staff was extremely nice and helpful. The young man behind the front desk, Zach, got me checked in quickly, went out of his way to help me get acquainted and was very professional. I will definitely be come back and recommending this hotel to anyone staying in Auburn.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Brooke E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LaPrell S, General Manager at Clarion Inn & Suites University Center, responded to this reviewResponded 17 June 2014

Thank you so much for your review. Myself and the owners have made sure that Zach was rewarded for his outstanding service.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 May 2014

Stayed there this past weekend for a wedding. We were able to book the larger king suite on the first floor overlooking the pool. The room was very clean and pleasant. My only criticism was it seemed as if the carpet was just cleaned and was still damp/smelled of shampoo our first night we were there. Overall, i would highly recommend this hotel for anyone coming to town.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Susannah Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LaPrell S, General Manager at Clarion Inn & Suites University Center, responded to this reviewResponded 17 June 2014

Thank you for your review. We do try to put rooms out of service when the carpet has been shampooed but occasionally due to lack of availability following a pet checkout or simply housekeeping reporting the carpet needs cleaning without checking for arrivals, we run into this situation. I am very sorry you were given a room with damp carpet but truly appreciate you taking the time to let us know of the inconvenience to you. We will review our procedures with staff regarding a room requiring carpet shampoo to minimize this in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 May 2014

The Clarion was not bad at all. The room was clean and the bed slept well. They offered a continental breakfast in a large clean area. The staff were friendly and helpful. I recommend Clarion take steps to cleaning the carpet and their glass windows, especially the windows entering the dining area.

I saw a pool - did not use it and not sure if it was open.

I see progress in Clarion's future - just a little touch up needed.

My stay was nice.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank veronica r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LaPrell S, General Manager at Clarion Inn & Suites University Center, responded to this reviewResponded 17 June 2014

Thank you so much for your feedback regarding your stay. I am sorry this response is so late coming but I felt it important to go back to your review and let you know that we are definitely addressing the issues that you brought forth as well as many others to ensure that your next stay with us is better than the last.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 September 2013

Night clerk was very friendly, room was clean but the air was not on, didn't take long to cool off. I slept well but breakfast consisted of biscuits, dry cereal, juice & coffee. I was hoping for some bacon & eggs at least.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Tamika W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LaPrell S, General Manager at Clarion Inn & Suites University Center, responded to this reviewResponded 17 June 2014

Thank you for your review, you will be happy to know that we have added several items to our breakfast since your stay including eggs! We hope to see you again this football season!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Auburn hotels
1.2 mi away
Sleep Inn & Suites
Sleep Inn & Suites
#9 of 16 in Auburn
103 reviews
1.7 mi away
Hampton Inn Auburn
Hampton Inn Auburn
#5 of 16 in Auburn
434 reviews
4.6 mi away
Quality Inn Auburn University Area
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
The Hotel at Auburn University
0.5 mi away
Towneplace Suites by Marriott Auburn
4.6 mi away
Candlewood Suites Auburn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Clarion Inn & Suites University Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clarion Inn & Suites University Center

Address: 1577 S College St, Auburn, AL 36832-5884 (Formerly Lexington Hotel University Convention Center)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Alabama > Auburn
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 16 Hotels in Auburn
Price Range: £53 - £228 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Clarion Inn & Suites University Center 2.5*
Number of rooms: 101
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Clarion Inn & Suites University Center in Auburn, AL offers easy access to Auburn University and Jordan-Hare Stadium. This Auburn, Alabama hotel is also convenient to the Jules-Smith Art Museum and the Robert Trent Jones Golf Trails.Guests of the Clarion Inn University Center hotel are invited to relax in the outdoor pool, utilize the Business Center and work out in the exercise room. Boasting 9,000 square feet of conference space and one of the largest ballrooms in the area, there are 5 meeting rooms, with the hotel able to accommodate 400 people for banquets and 900 people for conferences. Additional amenities include: Free continental breakfast, Free wireless high-speed Internet access, Free coffee, All guest rooms offer a flat-screen television with cable, refrigerator, microwave, hair dryer, alarm clock, iron and ironing board. Some rooms feature a sofa sleeper. Its perfect location and convenient access to area attractions make the Clarion Inn & Suites University Center a great place for business and leisure travelers in the Auburn, AL area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Choice Hotels, Hotels.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Clarion Inn & Suites University Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lexington Hotel University Auburn
Best Western Auburn
Auburn Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing