We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“wonderful!! would highly recommend!!”
Review of Anchor River Lodge

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Anchor Point
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Anchor River Lodge
Ranked #1 of 3 Anchor Point B&B and Inns
Reviewed 19 July 2011

This was the highlight of our three generation family trip to Alaska. Ages in our party ranged from 12-77. Rooms were spacious and well-appointed and hosts are excellent. Coomon areas were very nice anc comfortable. Location and view from the lodge could not be better--it's the kind of view people come to Alaska to see. Janet and Brian recommended a halibut charter for four of us and Captain Jim and deckhand Brian were wonderful--especially with the kids. My son then booked Brian for a fishing expedition and landed two salmon--which he says was his favorite part of the trip. Location is close to Homer so you can take advantage of all it has to offer without being in the middle of a crowd. My daughter loved finding a moose and her calf right by the lodge and the kids loved seeing the eagles on the beach in the evening. We are not big breakfast eaters, so opted for the continental rather than full breakfast choice and it was perfect. I have already bragged about this lodge to friends and will definitely recommend it to those visiting the area. Hopefully we will make it back to visit soon!!!

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank WiseTravelers4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (25)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

10 - 16 of 25 reviews

Reviewed 28 June 2011

PERFECT.
Rates 10 out of possible 10!
Great hosts. Beautiful lodge. Comfortable rooms. Great Location. Excellent breakfasts. Superb hospitality.
Janet and Brian we wish to thank you for the great time we had staying with you. Our Alaska adventure was awesome and the time in ARL one of its highlights. Your kind and warm hospitality, your concern for all details of your guests stay, your patients with all the many questions we had, the interesting conversations we conducted, and the wildlife experiences you shared with us are all incomparable.
We will certainly 'pass the word' describing ARL to friends of ours who will plan traveling to Alaska.
We certainly hope that we will have an opportunity to spend another vacation of ours with you, although for us it means travelling half way around the world.
Shalom.
Daphna & Arnon Regev
Haifa, Israel

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Arnon59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2011

My friend and I had a true Alaskan lodge experience with Janet and Brian. From the cookies Janet left on our night stand to the stories, Brian, our guide shared. They are a great team with each other and the business. The lodge is very cozy and decorated superbly. I absolutely recommend a stay at Anchor River Lodge and will be spending time here during my next trip to the great state of Alaska.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sylvan24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2011

I was a little skeptical about sharing common areas, but it was reassuring that Brian and Janet stay in the lodge with all the guests. They were so welcoming and the lodge was SO BEAUTIFUL!! Our room was Large, homey, clean, and did I mention beautiful?? Brian and Janet made it easy for us to feel at home away from home. This was our first weekend away from our 5-mo old son, so as you can imagine i was a little tense when we arrived.. When we had to be up early for a fishing excursion, Janet was up even earlier making sure we had breakfast and a packed lunch for on the boat! Upon return from our long day of fishing, Brian and Janet shared our excitement over the big Halibut we caught. The location was perfect, overlooking the ocean and mountains in the distance. The trip ended too soon, but we look forward to planning another visit to Anchor River Lodge - hopefully Brian will help us bring home some big Salmon!

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank schieds19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2011

It is a wonderfully cozy get away for the weekend. Beautifuly scenery and excellent service. We grilled out and sat at the fire pit the second night with delicious salmon snacks Janet prepared. Both Brian and Janet were extrememly helpful providing maps free of charge. The continental breakfast is more than we were used to and was delicious; complete with fresh fruit, fresh baked blueberry muffins. cereal and coffee. We also slept in till almost 10:30 on checkout day and she kept breakfast out so we had food before our drive :) (breakfast usually ends about and hour and a half earlier). The rooms are cozy and clean and beds are warm. Its a great place to take the wife or girlfriend.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank nickcruz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 October 2010

May parents wished to celebrate their 60th wedding anniversary and my mother's birthday in Alaska. Staying with Brian and Janet was a wonderful experience. We had enough room for all 4 couples and lots of privacy. We were close enough for a variety of day excursions to include; shopping in Homer, fishing on the Kenaii River, halibut fishing in the sound, glacier cruise out of Seward, float plant trips into interior lakes and rivers.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank earthsong2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 September 2010

Lucked out in finding this place a couple years back. My friends and I enjoy the fishing and the local habitat. They have been instrumental in locating a good guide and setting up outstanding fishing trips. If not a guide, Brian is willing to part with his favorite fishing holes and wishes you the best. The couple that runs the Anchor River Lodge knows the area, has good recommendations on who to see about the fishing and what is happening in the surrounding areas. Very nice area, quiet and recluse. The scenery is awesome looking over the sound, looking down on a salmon stream or taking a drive on the back roads and seeing the wildlife first hand.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank EdwardFTWaltonBeach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Anchor River Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Anchor River Lodge

Address: 33915 Sandbeach Rd, Anchor Point, AK 99556-9627
Region: United States > Alaska > Anchor Point
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Anchor Point
Price Range: £87 - £102 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our beautiful B&B style Alaskan vacation/fishing lodge is located in Anchor Point Alaska, just 15 minutes north of Homer.Notice Mt. Iliamna in the left across the Cook Inlet. Try your luck fishing for salmon or trout in the river, go for a walk along the beach, or just sit back and relax. Watch eagles soar by, admire the breathtaking views, and fall asleep at night to the sounds of the ocean. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Anchor River Lodge Anchor Point, Alaska

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing