We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Already planning next year's trip!!!”
Review of Anchor River Lodge

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Anchor Point
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Anchor River Lodge
Ranked #1 of 3 Anchor Point B&B and Inns
Canandaigua, NY
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Already planning next year's trip!!!”
Reviewed 10 September 2011

The title says it all...already planning next year's trip! Brian & Janet open their home to you as a guest. They are great hosts. They are easy to talk to and are more than willing to tell you about the area. The view across Cook Inlet is breath taking and the lodge even more. By far the best B&B/Lodge we have stayed in. The fishing in the area is top notch. I hope you can eat, because Janet can cook!!

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mti771
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

25 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    24
    0
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
6
10
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Portsmouth, New Hampshire
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 1 September 2011

I recently visited the beautiful State of Alaska. My trip was restful, yet filled with excitement and rich with pleasures and comfort. The quality of my visit was enhanced by the wonderful accommodations of the Anchor River Lodge. Janet & Brian are wonderful proprietors, who take great pride in their Lodge, and fully understand importance, of providing first class care and quality service. You'll feel that personal "at home" feeling during your stay, with spacious common area and can experience perhaps the most beautiful setting and scenery in Alaska as you gaze across Cook Inlet to experience a "sunset" over snow covered Mount Illiamna. If your Alaska travel plans include the Kenai Peninsula, a stay at the Anchor River Lodge is truly a must. Michael Griffin Portsmouth NH

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Michael G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Munster, IN
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 August 2011

Beautiful home in a lovely, quiet setting. The hosts were friendly and very helpful with tips for enjoying the area. Only downside - most guests stay in the lower level of the home that has a very cramped common area. The large, idyllic house is "off limits" except for access to the dining table at breakfast. Lodge is relatively remote - so the absence of typical B & B offerings, such as beverages and light snacks, is a real minus.
The lodge could work well for folks who are largely out fishing in good weather. For families who may wish for an area to sit and visit, or for rainy times that bring visitors indoors, space is lacking.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ReetMunster_IN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
brijanemard, Owner at Anchor River Lodge, responded to this review, 16 September 2011
I apologize to "ReetMunster_IN" for the unfortunate gross misunderstanding of our lodge's guidelines and policies. In our history of serving nearly two thousand guests, this is the only circumstance of anyone ever having such a misconception. The only area in our beautiful lodge that is "off limits," except for when being served, is the kitchen facilities/dining table, where Janet is continuously preparing and serving home baked goods and meals. All other areas and amenities of our home are open for everyone's enjoyment at all times including the main floor seating area, deck, and TV room and this is routinely explained to guests upon arrival. Just to be certain, there is also a "Lodge Policy Sheet" posted in every room reiterating exactly that policy. Furthermore, as an unadvertised treat to our guests, every room is supplied with homemade cookies upon arrival. There is also a consistently stocked large fruit basket on the main level for everyone's enjoyment. We have "all you can drink" coffee, tea, and hot chocolate available 24/7. Janet also prepares homemade breads, muffins, and local dishes like smoked salmon dip that we routinely offer and share with guests. We offer all of these amenities, in fact, for a cheaper price than the majority of nearby hotels/motels that only offer you a simple room with a bed. Although our serene setting may seem remote, there are two grocery stores, a golf course, post office, 2 gas stations, and four restaurants within a mile. By Alaskan standards, this is truly exceptional. We offer far more than any typical Bed and Breakfast, as you can see by our website: http://www.anchorriverlodge.com. We only wish that these guests had expressed this misunderstanding during their stay so they could have more appreciated the first class experience that we offer at Anchor River Lodge.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arvada, Colorado
1 review
Reviewed 20 August 2011

Our stay at Brian & Janet's beautiful lodge was a definite highlight of our trip! Their hospitality, comfortable rooms and well-appointed atmosphere made it a home away from home. The breakfasts' were exceptional...Janet is a culinary genius so we highly recommend selecting the full breakfast option! We benefited from Brian's extensive knowledge of fishing and the area as he guided us on an unforgettable fishing excursion to Humpy Creek. We feel fortunate to have found this place and already plan to come back in the future with our two sons!

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jenni31us
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
USA
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2011

Everything was booked in Homer, so I thought I'd try out of town a bit. Anchor Point isn't too far, but as it turned out, it was very nice to get out of the hub of Homer and stay at this peaceful bed and breakfast. The owners, Brian and Janet, made us feel so welcome. Their lodge is amazing, beautiful both inside and out, and the view of Mount Iliamna over the inlet is breathtaking. Brian also is a fishing guide who outfits you with everything you need to have a great day.

Definitely will return to this sweet spot on the Anchor River.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank StateofWonder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, Alabama
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 July 2011

This was the highlight of our three generation family trip to Alaska. Ages in our party ranged from 12-77. Rooms were spacious and well-appointed and hosts are excellent. Coomon areas were very nice anc comfortable. Location and view from the lodge could not be better--it's the kind of view people come to Alaska to see. Janet and Brian recommended a halibut charter for four of us and Captain Jim and deckhand Brian were wonderful--especially with the kids. My son then booked Brian for a fishing expedition and landed two salmon--which he says was his favorite part of the trip. Location is close to Homer so you can take advantage of all it has to offer without being in the middle of a crowd. My daughter loved finding a moose and her calf right by the lodge and the kids loved seeing the eagles on the beach in the evening. We are not big breakfast eaters, so opted for the continental rather than full breakfast choice and it was perfect. I have already bragged about this lodge to friends and will definitely recommend it to those visiting the area. Hopefully we will make it back to visit soon!!!

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank WiseTravelers4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Haifa, Israel
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 28 June 2011

PERFECT.
Rates 10 out of possible 10!
Great hosts. Beautiful lodge. Comfortable rooms. Great Location. Excellent breakfasts. Superb hospitality.
Janet and Brian we wish to thank you for the great time we had staying with you. Our Alaska adventure was awesome and the time in ARL one of its highlights. Your kind and warm hospitality, your concern for all details of your guests stay, your patients with all the many questions we had, the interesting conversations we conducted, and the wildlife experiences you shared with us are all incomparable.
We will certainly 'pass the word' describing ARL to friends of ours who will plan traveling to Alaska.
We certainly hope that we will have an opportunity to spend another vacation of ours with you, although for us it means travelling half way around the world.
Shalom.
Daphna & Arnon Regev
Haifa, Israel

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Arnon59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Anchor Point
14.6 mi away
Driftwood Inn & Homer Seaside Lodges
15.4 mi away
Homer Inn & Spa
Homer Inn & Spa
#3 of 14 in Homer
147 reviews
15.6 mi away
Ocean House Inn Hotel and Condos
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.9 mi away
Land's End Resort
Land's End Resort
#2 of 14 in Homer
823 reviews
14.3 mi away
Ocean Shores
Ocean Shores
#4 of 14 in Homer
323 reviews
8.7 mi away
No photo provided
Knob Hill Guest House
#3 of 3 in Anchor Point
3 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Anchor River Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Anchor River Lodge

Property: Anchor River Lodge
Address: 33915 Sandbeach Rd, Anchor Point, AK 99556-9627
Region: United States > Alaska > Anchor Point
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Anchor Point
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our beautiful B&B style Alaskan vacation/fishing lodge is located in Anchor Point Alaska, just 15 minutes north of Homer.Notice Mt. Iliamna in the left across the Cook Inlet. Try your luck fishing for salmon or trout in the river, go for a walk along the beach, or just sit back and relax. Watch eagles soar by, admire the breathtaking views, and fall asleep at night to the sounds of the ocean. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Anchor River Lodge Anchor Point, Alaska

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing