We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice campground”
Review of Apache Trail KOA

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Apache Junction
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Apache Trail KOA
Deer Park, Texas
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Nice campground”
Reviewed 4 July 2013

This definitely rates as one of the cleanest KOA's on the planet. Phoenix was 114 degrees the day we stayed and the sparkling (also very clean) pool was a welcome relief. In response to the comments about wifi...seriously, what RV park does have good wifi? And as far as the office being closed, the people are using the time to clean the restrooms and probably eat lunch. How they manage to keep the dust at bay is beyond me. If you need to stay near Phoenix this is a nice place.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Those3Girlz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

40 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    10
    10
    14
    2
    4
See reviews for
13
18
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Montreal, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
402 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 134 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 March 2013

Even in the middle of the night the internet was terrible!..we complained once and they said it was because there were too many people on the site..it was less then 1/4 of it's camping sites. So if internet is important to you, make sure you have your own! Or go to the public library for a dollar a week. They should not annonce they offer internet.

We stay often at Koa's in Us and Canada. This is the first one were we felt as if there was nobody there! Except for being in the office or picking up the garbage you rarely see the workers The recreative room is locked and you have to go get the keys at the main entrance.

The laundry room has five washers but only three dryers , so not too pratical! Someone always ends up wairing.

We stayed two weeks because we were tired of packing the fifth wheel and decided that we could live with the lack of activites...we had just spent two weeks at the South Padre one in Texas which was very active.

The sites are in gravel, large enough and with tables. Unfortunately every three or four sites you have a sewer air pipe so it smells when it's windy!

We will definetly not stay there again.

Room Tip: Stay away from the air sewer pipes that run up from the ground
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Shou1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level 6 Contributor
304 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 147 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 December 2012

The service was great and the grounds were kept well. We stay in the RV spot. The restroom requires a code to enter. While I was showering, the hot water was from cold to warm to hot. That got annoying since it was cold.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bacong F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alkmaar, The Netherlands
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 August 2012

As we arrived a little early, the staff were (very wisely, considering the heat) still having their siesta, but they had taped their instructions for us outside the office, so we could find and enter our Kabin easily. It was outfitted in the standard way, so very much allright for us.

We were very happy with the AC, the covered picknick table for our breakfast, and the lovely pool. Staff were friendly, shops were nearby, so we couldn't understand why this KOA was so enormously empty at the beginning of August. We did the Apache Trail, and enormously enjoyed the ride.

Absolutely worth a visit, this KOA!

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Maartje
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
shaggydogdevon
Level 6 Contributor
119 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 April 2012

Stayed here on last night in USA before catching flight home. They couldn't have been more friendly and helpful: the campground is a clean as you can get: you could eat your food off the ground. Great pool and hot tub: lots of cactuses which were flowering and alive with hummingbirds.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank shaggydogdevon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santa Rosa, California
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 March 2012

Stayed one night in one of the Kamping Cabins at this Arizona KOA. The cabin was tiny, but very clean, comfortable, and cute. It had one full-size bed and a bunk bed, a small writing table and chair, and a small ledge between the beds that you could use for smaller items (a book, phone, etc.) The small porch also had a swing. The lady who checked us in was very personable and helpful. The campgrounds were clean and well-kept. There were two drawbacks: First, there was a group of campers who were a bit loud. They may be long-term campers, as they had a string of lights set up at their site. They sat outside talking and laughing but shortly after the scheduled "quiet time" of 10:00 p.m., they did quiet down for the most part. The other noise problem was two dogs that barked for a long time - possibly not even on the campground property but I could hear them barking and barking. This isn't something the park manager can control, but just be aware. Bathrooms and showers clean and well maintained. This is a good deal (about $50/night for the cabin) for travelers in the Phoenix area.
(A note: My son did not care for the restrooms, and said it felt creepy. A man was in his underwear only, and another man was washing his upper body in the sink. Don't know about campground restroom etiquette for men - perhaps this is the norm.)

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DaisyJane_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver, Colorado
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 March 2012

We have stayed at this KOA several times over the years and have found it to be pretty good overall. However, each year its WIFI has just plain bad. This year it was particularly bad, thus this review.
This is actually a pretty good KOA: friendly staff, good facilities, etc. But I enjoy keeping up with the news and email when I travel. It is simply not possible at this KOA. The response time is very slow, taking up to one or two minutes to load a web page. After finally getting we web page up, it was usually gone in a few minutes, resulting in a "no response from the website" message. There is no reason for an advertised WIFI to simple not be functional like this one is.

Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
4 Thank Tom G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Apache Junction
1.8 mi away
Best Western Apache Junction Inn
Best Western Apache Junction Inn
#1 of 2 in Apache Junction
272 reviews
5.6 mi away
Gold Canyon Golf Resort
Gold Canyon Golf Resort
#1 of 2 in Gold Canyon
281 reviews
3.9 mi away
Lost Dutchman RV Resort
Lost Dutchman RV Resort
#6 of 12 in Apache Junction
2 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Apache Trail KOA? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Apache Trail KOA

Property: Apache Trail KOA
Address: 1540 S Tomahawk Rd, Apache Junction, AZ 85119-6655
Region: United States > Arizona > Central Arizona > Apache Junction
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 12 Speciality Lodging in Apache Junction
Number of rooms: 4
Also Known As:
Apache Trail Koa Hotel Apache Junction

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing