We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Smells Like Curry”

California Inn Hotel and Suites
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
California Inn Hotel and Suites
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Adelanto
Vista, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Smells Like Curry”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 June 2010

The room served its purpose. It wasn't anything to rave about. The wi-fi wouldn't work half the time. The "continental" breakfast was cheap (Sunkist instead of OJ). The City of Adelanto in general is a dump. The hotel is across the street from the police station. This hotel is the only hotel in Adelanto and the closest hotel to El Mirage.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank stretch0928
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

20 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    4
    3
    4
    5
    4
See reviews for
6
2
4
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
central california
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 April 2009

we are a family of 4 with 2 young children and we were appalled by the room.Our extended family was also staying there. All togethether we had 3 rooms. My father arrived earlier and paid for all 3 rooms and all we had to do is check in and get our keys.Everything was paid for. Check in did not go so smooth we had just driven 4 hours and it was about 1am and the man at the counter refused to give my husband the keyssaying the room had not yet been paid for although we already had a receipt showing it was paid. He was very rude and thatwas just the beginning of our stay at the lovely Adelanto days inn.
After argiung he finally gave us the room keys and we went inside to find a mess. I wanted to plug my cell phone in to charge but every outlet i tried was loose amd the plug fell right out! THen i went to brush my teeth and noticed that the sink had a terrible leak! Hello people is this not the middle of a desert?! I'm not talking a little drizzle i mean a huge noisy lots of running water leak! Great sounds to lull you to sleep at nigh i guess. My daughter wanted to take a bath and i rinbsed the tub out and started running the water when i noticed the bath mat was removeable when i lifted it there was an unbelievable amount of black slime! Disgusting. Needless to say none of us took a bath there. The chain lock on the door was no longer there and there was no blow dryer in the room although there was a placed where one used to be. Now for the beds... We had 2 queen beds and hey were not very comfortable. Whnat do we expect we know it's not a 4 star hotel but....the blankets and sheets were FILTHY!! The blankets look like they were used in some porno. There was white stuff all over them! I'm not joking... We pulled the comforter back and all we could see was filfth! We still don't know what the white stuff on the beds was but it was definately not clean! As if our stay wasnt bad enough we thought we would go down to the office and take advantage of the continental breakfast. First of all there was no pastries, juice, muffins. or anything that hotels usually offfer. But there was a open container of cereal on the counter. Try making yourself a bowl of cereal that has already been opened and smells of curry and insence. Gross! What were we supposed to pour it into anyway our hands? There was no bowls,spoons,milk. The place was so dirty i was only eating something from a sealed wrapper. So that meant we had to go buy breakfast somewhere else. We have stayed at many other days inns before but this was not comparable in any way. We will NEVER stay here again and i hope you don't either!

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank momndadplus2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Adelanto hotels

San Diego, CA
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 May 2008

My friends and I recently drove to watch the High Desert Mavericks play a weekend series and we needed a hotel to stay at. We booked a room and the room was just fine. It was clean and the non-smoking room didn't smell of smoke. The continental breakfast was small and the coffee was cold, but that's the only bad part.

  • Liked — Comfortanble beds
  • Disliked — continental breakfast
  • Stayed May 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Vadertyme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Union City, CA
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 January 2008

I hardly know where to begin...

There are a lot of things the motel is and a lot the motel is not. First, it is the only motel in Adelanto. There are no restaurants or markets, or anything else for that matter within 5 miles. You are in the middle of nowhere. The police station is directly across the street, so you feel somewhat safe on the front side of the hotel, but the back side, where the truck parking is, is pretty wild and noisy.

The motel is run by an Indian family who, while cordial, know next to nothing about running a comfortable establishment. Examples: There is no continental breakfast. I asked about it and they said that there was a coffeemaker and coffee in my room. So, basically, you have to make your own breakfast. I heard they sometimes have those cheap, prepackaged pastries but I never saw those. Interestingly, when I checked in, they gave me a bottle of water and one of those little individual packages of Pringles with 10 chips in it. I gather that was their definition of Happy Hour.

The heating and cooling system is a standard "under-window" unit. Once it is turned on, it just stays on. If it is heating, the heating elements stay on until the temerature is reached, then they turn off, but the fan stays on, blowing cool air around. So the noisy fan stays on, regardless.

The beds are among the worst I have EVER slept in. Actually, the mattress and box spring are not terrible, the bedding is terrible. First, the mattress pad is plastic. PLASTIC. If you have ever slept on a plastic sheet, or a water bed, you know how you just sweat all night. Then, to make matters worse, the bedding does not fit the bed. The blanket and top sheet were AT LEAST 2 feet from the head of the bed. My bed was a king bed but the linens were queen and the blanket was for a double. Very uncomfortable. I wound up going to a store and buying a comforter, putting that down and sleeping under that.

The rooms are strange. The rooms on the front side of the motel are handicapped rooms and are substantially larger than the back side rooms. Professionally, I am a consultant regarding ADA requirements for businesses. By accident (or luck), I was assigned a (supposedly) handicapped accessible room and it was anything but accessible. I counted at least 18 separate ADA violations in the one room I was in, everything from the path to the bathroom only 27 inches wide (shoiuld be 36" min) to face cloths stored in a rack 6.5 feet off the floor (should be 40" max). While the toilet had a grab bar, the shower had none, and on and on. If you are in a wheelchair, I doubt you will be well served here.

What does the place have to recommend it? Not much. The refrigerator and microwave worked great. The TV was pretty good, but lots of hum and some interference. The place is more of a truck stop motel then anything else.

  • Liked — Wireless Internet worked well.
  • Disliked — Beds, locations, climate control, noise.
  • Stayed December 2007, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank TimConde
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calif
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 December 2007

The rooms that I stayed in were on the first floor near the office.
The electrical outlets were loose and plugs literally fell out of the sockets.

The toilet seat in one of the rooms was brown from years of wear.

It is directly across from a police station and reasonably quiet.

Place needs basic simple repairs.

Stayed November 2007
Helpful?
1 Thank bill0603
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Apple Valley, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 November 2007

I arrived Very early am the morning after my first booked reservation. The attendant was courtious and very friendly. I booked a three day stay as I was in town on business. The room was a pleasant surprise. The t.v. refrigerator and microwave have been well cleaned and looked (if not) brand new. the room did not smell of smoke. The bed was nice and had plenty of pillows and blankets on it. Both attendants I dealt wth knew and called me by name and treated me as a long time friend. There is a small continental breakfast and free USA today There is not anything negative I can say about my stay. It is well worth the drive to go a little off the Interstate to stay in Adelanto in comparison to the hotels I researched in near by Victorville.

Stayed November 2007
Helpful?
2 Thank claytonborah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 June 2007

It is unusual these days to find a very modest price combined with a pleasant stay. The moment I entered the office I knew that this one would be different. It is clearly a family run business that cares. The service was pleasant and efficient. The room was clean --- and wonder of wonders -- a non-smoking room did not smell of smoke. Everything worked as it should and there was even a frig and microwave that I did not expect. Small touches make the room feel like a much higher priced one -- nice soaps and shampoo, a stocked coffee maker, a super cozy bed with tons of pillows etc. The area where the Inn is located is not very attractive but don't let that fool you. If you need anything, head south on 395 a couple of miles to a new shopping center.

  • Liked — The comfortable feeling.
  • Disliked — The location is pretty dreary.
  • Stayed June 2007, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank NcPassing_by
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Adelanto
0.3 mi away
Americas Best Value Inn - Adelanto/Victorville
6.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Victorville
Holiday Inn Victorville
#4 of 19 in Victorville
4.0 of 5 bubbles 69 reviews
7.2 mi away
Green Tree Inn & Extended Stay Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.1 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Victorville
Hilton Garden Inn Victorville
#1 of 19 in Victorville
4.0 of 5 bubbles 533 reviews
7.1 mi away
New Corral Motel
New Corral Motel
#5 of 19 in Victorville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 12 reviews
8.7 mi away
Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Victorville
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to California Inn Hotel and Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about California Inn Hotel and Suites

Property: California Inn Hotel and Suites
Address: 11628 Bartlett Avenue, Hwy 395 & Bartlett, Adelanto, CA 92301-1919 (Formerly Days Inn Adelanto-Victorville)
Region: United States > California > Adelanto
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Adelanto
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — California Inn Hotel and Suites 2*
Number of rooms: 36
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your California Inn Hotel and Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Days Inn Adelanto
Adelanto Days Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing