We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good short stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hampton Inn & Suites Oakland Airport-Alameda
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Alameda
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Seattle, WA
Level Contributor
29 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Good short stay”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 May 2011

Stayed at this property for 2 nights in May while traveling to a family event. We wanted a location between San Francisco and East Bay Area and this fit the bill. The property is new and the rooms are clean and spacious. The view of the bay over the marshland was very scenic. The staff was friendly and helpful. The breakfast was standard Hampton fare and appreciated since there were not many other food options close by. The property is located right next to the Oakland International Airport and we were concerned about jet noise. It was barely noticeable when the TV was on, but during the night, you did feel/hear the slight rumble of the jets taking off/landing. It didn't seem to bother our daughter, but my husband and I did end up getting ear plugs for the second night and slept much better. The beds are VERY comfortable. I would recommend this hotel, but if you are a light sleeper be sure to bring ear plugs.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gmwann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

676 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    381
    199
    67
    20
    9
See reviews for
231
158
40
197
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (100)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tennessee Ridge, Tennessee
Level Contributor
20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 May 2011

We were flying out of OAK at 6:00 am so we wanted to stay somewhere close by that was safe, quiet, comfortable and reasonably priced. Hampton fit the bill almost perfectly.
We never heard a plane taking off or landing. Unbelievable considering that at many hotels you can hear traffic noise from a nearby highway! The bed was comfortable & had plenty of pillows. The room and bathroom had plenty of space.
When I checked in I was told I could drop off my rental car that night and Hampton would send a shuttle over to bring me back to the hotel. Then they would also take me to the airport in the morning. That way I didn't have to go over the rental drop off area extra early and wait for a shuttle from the airport in the morning. Wonderful!
The only thing I hope Hampton will change is their policy for breakfast. Right now it is available from 6:00 - 9:00 am. If they would put out some basic items (bagels, pieces of fruit, doughnuts, etc.) for those who are flying out really early it would be greatly appreciated.
Otherwise I encourage anyone to stay here!

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Maybeyesmaybeno
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paradise, CA
Level Contributor
39 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 May 2011

We have stayed here several times, always nice and clean, spacious rooms.. Friendly staff, convenient to Oakland Airport & Coliseum. The hotel is away from the hustle and bustle of the city, quiet, safe and near the water. One of my favorite Hampton Inns.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MovieGuyParadise_CA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kodiak Island, Alaska
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 March 2011

This hotel is located in the new business park next to the Oakland Airport. Since it is literally next to the airport, there is absolutely no traffic getting to the airport and the shuttle ride was less than five minutes.
I am a Hilton Honors member and I stay almost exclusively at Hilton Brand Hotels. I favor Embassy Suites and Hampton Inns for their excellent rooms, very nice all-inclusive breakfast and manager's happy hour.
This hotel is very clean, very quiet and easily accessible. It's a bit tough to find because it's tucked back in a business park and the new roads aren't necessarily in all vehicle GPS systems. If you're not taking a shuttle, make sure you get directions before arriving in the area.
I highly recommend this hotel for a comfortable stay before or after a flight.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PVN_Kodiak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
California
Level Contributor
21 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 January 2011

This was my first time staying at this hotel. My husband's parents have stayed here a few times and have always said what a nice hotel it is. We decided to book rooms here for my daughter's sweet 16 party. We had 4 rooms total including a set of connecting rooms. The staff was very helpful with helping me with my reservation. Epecially because I wanted/needed to have the connecting rooms plus the room next to it and across. The girls were really impressed with the hotel. I felt that the rooms and hotel in general was so clean and comfortable. I liked my bed and my pillows were just right. It was just a great experience overall. I would definitely stay her again.

  • Stayed January 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CyKeWh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arcadia, California
Level Contributor
54 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 November 2010

Just finished my second stays with the Hampton Inn Alameda near the OAK airport. Even it is only rated 2-star (sometimes 2.5), it is better than many 3 or 4-star hotels I have stayed in. The room and the bathroom are both very clean. There is no bathtub but shower, but it is good enough for me. There is no restaurant but they offer free continental breakfast (which is actually pretty nice). The staff were also very helpful in recommending restaurants around the area. The business center has two computers. There is a small outdoor pool. They offer free shuttle service to nearby area. Generally I was impressed by this hotel and will recommend it to business travelers with a budget limit.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sander9t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stillwater, Minnesota
Level Contributor
41 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 November 2010

My parents, my husband and I stayed at this hotel for 5 nights this November. I was hesitant about booking it because of it's proximity to the airport but my worries were needless as this hotel is first rate. It was just a 10 minute drive to Alameda. Compared to hotel prices and parking fees across the Bay in San Fran. this was a real bargain. The planes were an occasional soft rumble in the background and fun to watch. We had a view of the Bay as well as downtown San Fran. from our 2nd floor window. There is a walking path along the water just a few steps from the hotel that skirts an very nice upscale neighborhood. While the hotel does have a free shuttle you will want a car if you are going to stay here for any length of time. It is located at the edge of a business park and seems to cater to mostly business travelers. This hotel is spotless, the staff is friendly and the breakfasts are hot and filling. There are flat screened TVs in the rooms as well as comfortable beds and an assortment of different pillows. This hotel was consistently first rate throughout our 5 day stay.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jvas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Alameda
4.0 mi away
Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Oakland/Alameda
2.2 mi away
Hilton Oakland Airport
Hilton Oakland Airport
#12 of 49 in Oakland
3.5 of 5 bubbles 906 reviews
2.7 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Airport Inn & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.3 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Bayside Hotel
0.5 mi away
Extended Stay America - Oakland - Alameda Airport
3.5 mi away
The Marina Inn on San Francisco Bay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn & Suites Oakland Airport-Alameda? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn & Suites Oakland Airport-Alameda

Property: Hampton Inn & Suites Oakland Airport-Alameda
Address: 1700 Harbor Bay Parkway, Alameda, CA 94502
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Alameda
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Alameda
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn & Suites Oakland Airport-Alameda 2.5*
Number of rooms: 105
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Complimentary Guest Shuttle available from 4:00AM - 1:00AM daily. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Ebookers, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hampton Inn & Suites Oakland Airport-Alameda reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn And Suites Oakland Airport
Hampton Inn & Suites Oakland Airport Hotel Alameda
Hampton Inn Alameda

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing