We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quiet despite being close to runway”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hampton Inn & Suites Oakland Airport-Alameda
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Alameda
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed 6 June 2014

I was skeptical of this hotel because when see it on the map, its right next to the departure end (where engines are at full thrust.
I was even more concerned when my room was facing the runway side. But after being in my room for 30 minutes and not hearing anything, I was curious.
Planes were departing on the runway so where's the noise. My room had 5 panes of glass, two separate double pane windows, and a single pane in between.

The hotel seems brand new.
There's a bicycle/walking path right off the property.
You can even gratis borrow one of the hotels bicycles.
Check your GPS, there's a shortcut to the airport.

This is in a modern business park. It's a hike to restaurants, but it feels safer than many other Oakland locations - which tend to feel seedy.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alex C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bhotels, Director of Operations at Hampton Inn & Suites Oakland Airport-Alameda, responded to this reviewResponded 19 July 2014

Dear Alex,

Thank you for noticing that our hotel location is very convenient to the airport, yet extremely quiet. We have made every effort to ensure that our guests get a peaceful night’s rest and still get to the ariport quickly. I am so glad that you felt safe at our hotel.

Your business is important to us, our thanks for choosing our hotel for your visit to the Bay Area.

Sincerely,
Dhruv Patel
Director of Operations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (793)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

536 - 542 of 794 reviews

Reviewed 1 June 2014

Good amenities, clean room , terrific bathroom with lots of storage space. Adequate free breakfast. Very helpful and friendly staff. Liked the free bikes since there is a lot of paths for walking and biking.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton
Thank Abby P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bhotels, Director of Operations at Hampton Inn & Suites Oakland Airport-Alameda, responded to this reviewResponded 19 July 2014

Dear Abby,

We are very proud of the cleanliness, great service and special amenities we offer. Thank you for commenting on our many benefits and extras. Our free bikes are a wonderful recreational activity that our guests enjoy during their journey. You can see the beaches and the beautiful bay from a vantage point that visitors rarely see.

We appreciate your business. I hope you can visit us again.

Sincerely,
Dhruv Patel
Director of Operations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2014

Stayed here in May of 2014 for 1 night stay.

Pros:
Quiet
Great furnishings
Service

Cons:
Expensive
Somewhat "off the beaten path".

Check-in was very quick and efficient. The front desk agent was incredibly helpful and recommended some local restaurants.

I was upgraded to a suite that had a large sitting area, desk, and king-size bed with a view of the bay.

I thought the airport noise would be an issue since we were less than 1,000 feet from the end of the runway. Thankfully, I had no issues sleeping and didn't hear a plane after 10:00PM.

We checked-out at 4:00AM and the front desk agent was peppy and cheerful at that crazy hour. We were at the car rental lot within 10 minutes and at our gate at OAK in less than 30 minutes from leaving the hotel. It's location could not be more convenient!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank aww3583
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bhotels, Director of Operations at Hampton Inn & Suites Oakland Airport-Alameda, responded to this reviewResponded 19 July 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for the 5 star review of our hotel. I am glad that we were able to provide you a quiet night’s sleep and speedy transport to the airport. Our goal is to make our guest’s travels easy and stress free, judging from your experience we are succeeding.

We look forward to being of service to you in the future.

Sincerely,
Dhruv Patel
Director of Operations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2014

I travel a good deal for business, and I know that it is easy to be quiet and not cheerful at 4-6am, but that is typically when I check out of the hotel. The staff here was wonderful, and all smiles. They were also very helpful in helping recommend local restaurants according to my tastes.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton
Thank Nicole H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bhotels, Director of Operations at Hampton Inn & Suites Oakland Airport-Alameda, responded to this reviewResponded 2 June 2014

Dear Nicole,

We believe that a happy staff means happy guests. Your review certainly re-confirms our management philosophy. Thank you for staying at our hotel and sharing your experience with other travelers.

Sincerely,
Dhruv Patel
Director of Operations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 May 2014

The Hampton Inn, Alameda, is a great find. As a frequent traveler to the Bay Area I have stayed mostly in Oakland, but will be staying here now by choice. Both for value and for comfort. If there is one minor deficiency it is in there being no dining close to the hotel, fairly isolated loxcation. The staff was extremely helpful and courteous. The front desk manager Hope especially stands out for her attitude and ability to assist in any question or concern.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton
Thank William J M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bhotels, Director of Operations at Hampton Inn & Suites Oakland Airport-Alameda, responded to this reviewResponded 2 June 2014

Dear William,

We are so proud of our team and their passion for taking care of our guests. Thank you for recognizing their commitment to service! Your comments will mean a lot to them, especially Hope.

We appreciate your business very much. I hope that you will visit us again when you come back to the Bay Area.

Sincerely,
Dhruv Patel
Director of Operations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 May 2014

I stay at the Hampton Inn at the Oakland Airport several times a year while attending seminars. The location is quiet and beautiful, rooms are clean and tasteful, beds and pillows are comfy, the staff is helpful, there is a great walking path. There are no restaurants nearby but I bring my dinner and warm in the microwave. I always enjoy staying at the Hampton.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton
Thank Leah M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bhotels, Director of Operations at Hampton Inn & Suites Oakland Airport-Alameda, responded to this reviewResponded 2 June 2014

Dear Leah,

Making our guests “happy travelers” is our mission! Thank you for acknowledging our success. I am so pleased that you have enjoyed our hotel, the service and the beauty of our bayside location in your frequent stays with us.

Your business is important to us. We look forward to seeing you again.

Sincerely,
Dhruv Patel
Director of Operations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 May 2014

This is nice property if you need to stay by the Oakland airport. It is on the bay but very isolated so there is no place else to go without driving, taxi, or shuttle. The food was good. We were there for a meeting and the room was crowded (it seats 65 but only when squished). The staff was friendly but minimal.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kesslane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bhotels, Director of Operations at Hampton Inn & Suites Oakland Airport-Alameda, responded to this reviewResponded 2 June 2014

Dear Kesslane,

Thank you for sharing your comments about our hotel with other travelers. I am glad to know that you enjoyed the property and liked the food.

We are in a quiet neighborhood with easy access to the airport. And our complimentary shuttle service makes travel convenient for our guests.

We appreciate your business and look forward to being of service to you in the future.

Sincerely,
Dhruv Patel
Director of Operations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Alameda
4 mi away
Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Oakland/Alameda
4.2 mi away
Executive Inn & Suites
Executive Inn & Suites
#2 of 49 in Oakland
931 reviews
2.2 mi away
Hilton Oakland Airport
Hilton Oakland Airport
#10 of 49 in Oakland
1,048 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.3 mi away
Best Western Plus Bayside Hotel
2.7 mi away
Best Western Plus Airport Inn & Suites
0.5 mi away
Extended Stay America - Oakland - Alameda Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn & Suites Oakland Airport-Alameda? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn & Suites Oakland Airport-Alameda

Address: 1700 Harbor Bay Pkwy, Alameda, CA 94502-3000
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Alameda
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Alameda
Price Range: £101 - £257 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn & Suites Oakland Airport-Alameda 2.5*
Number of rooms: 105
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Complimentary Guest Shuttle available from 4:00AM - 1:00AM daily. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Hilton Hotels Direct, Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK), HotelsClick, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hampton Inn & Suites Oakland Airport-Alameda reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn & Suites Oakland Airport Hotel Alameda
Hampton Inn And Suites Oakland Airport
Hampton Inn Alameda

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing