We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, everything else needs work”
Review of Marina Village Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Marina Village Inn
Ranked #7 of 8 Hotels in Alameda
Denver, Colorado
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great location, everything else needs work”
Reviewed 8 May 2014

Bumped out of our original reservation at another hotel, we stumbled across this gem only 2 days before our trip. Located right on the bay in Alameda, CA it was not only close to the family we were visiting in Alameda, but just a short jaunt into San Fran for all our sight-seeing activities. Each room had a beautiful deck only 20 feet from the marina, with views to die for.

But that's about the extent of our good things to say. Although the room was clean it was quite run down, desperately in need of a good paint job and new carpeting. The deck I spoke of had only one chair so my husband and I had to take turns enjoying the view. There was basically no cold water in the shower (just a trickle), so we were forced to have very brief showers with little water pressure. Even though the housekeeping staff saw the two of us coming and going, we were left only one washcloth and one hand towel daily (until we finally left them a note to leave two). Plus, the breakfasts were horrible. The first day we showed up at 7:30am (breakfast was from 6-9) and they were out of almost everything and the juice machine was broken. Although the other days they had more food, it was just the basics--grocery store bagels, stale cereal and bad coffee.

In spite of all the bad things, I'd be open to staying there again just for the views and convenient location. As long as you don't have to spend much time in the room, it was OK.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sheebadu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

272 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    42
    68
    51
    46
    65
See reviews for
63
78
30
76
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Reno, NV
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2014

Stayed for three nights in April for a medical appointment in Oakland. Not really located near anything to walk to. However a short drive will find some places to eat. My only real complaint was my room reeked of vomit. I stayed the week after Spring break so draw your own conclusions. I brought the smell to management's attention and all they did was spray a little air freshener. They said I couldn't switch rooms because they were full. I stayed out of the room as much as possible and bought scented candles to burn at night. Not a great experience.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank renobob6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Alameda hotels

Bexhill-on-Sea, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 March 2014

The hotel was grubby and poorly maintained. We turned down the first room we were offered because of this and because it was small. Were those ancient bloodstains on the concrete landing outside? The lobby area was poorly furnished and had the atmosphere of a train station waiting-room. Who was that rather sinister figure eating a take-out meal in the middle of the afternoon? Fortunately we were there only for 2 nights and spent most of our time away from the hotel.
We booked this hotel because we liked it when we were there in 1999. Unfortunately very little had been done in the way of maintenance and updating since then. A great shame

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Robert H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aptos, California
Level 5 Contributor
79 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 March 2014

There isn't a lot of hotels to choose from in Alameda and this one is the closest to Forbidden Island the Tiki bar on Lincoln. The price online is considerably less than when you call the hotel directly. We arrived at around sevenish on a Saturday night. The room had already been charged to my credit card. The front desk clerk was not so friendly but was efficient. We stayed in room 214 which is an upstairs room. The mattress okay but the bedding looks like it needs to be replaced. We found an A's baseball cap behind the chair so it seems housekeeping goes a little to fast in cleaning rooms. The bathroom was spotless and provided good bath products. The towels were super thin. This is a very basic room and it's a shame that the owners of the property haven't updated the bedding or towels. The room itself could use new carpet. It's in a nice quiet location but hard to find since it's behind commercial property.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank slotsgal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 January 2014

Thought this would be a nice place because of the ratings. However, when we walked into the room we knew we had been scammed!! The room was dirty, the drapes are so worn you can see through them in places. The bathroom was dirty and the shower leaked. The only upside is you are on the marina and by the water with a great view. Would never stay here again though!!! Do not believe any of the good reviews as they were probably submitted by whom ever owns the place!

Room Tip: Choose another place to stay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank 1Hunglow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Campton, New Hampshire
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 January 2014

We stayed at the Marina Village inn in January. The location is lovely. Our room was very smelly. It was a rank combination of urine and old cigarettes. The rug is so old and so filthy, I would not walk on it in my bare feet. I was not convinced it had been cleaned since the last occupants left, we found a dirty face cloth and toilet paper on the bathroom floor and price tags that had been removed from clothing on the night stand. I was so nervous that the bed hadn't been changed I slept in fully clothed with a hood on my head. It was not what I would call a positive experience in any manner.

Room Tip: Choose another hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank happyhiker63nh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 22 December 2013

I stay my self and my customers in this hotel as a regular.Based on my experience and my customers, I recommend it to any one who is looking for tranquility and friendly service.To mention Some of the people I met so far are:The manager Mariana with her friendly smile and Toli the receptionist.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gabasugi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Alameda
0.8 mi away
Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Oakland/Alameda
0.8 mi away
Rodeway Inn Oakland/Alameda
1.1 mi away
Executive Inn & Suites
Executive Inn & Suites
#2 of 49 in Oakland
881 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Coral Reef Inn & Suites
0.7 mi away
Extended Stay America - Oakland - Alameda
1.0 mi away
Best Western Plus Bayside Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marina Village Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marina Village Inn

Property: Marina Village Inn
Address: 1151 Pacific Marina, Alameda, CA 94501-1197
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Alameda
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 8 Hotels in Alameda
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Marina Village Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 51
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Marina Village Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marina Village Hotel Alameda
Marina Village Alameda

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing