We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Oakland/Alameda
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Alameda
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 30 January 2011

The suite was really large and very clean. We reserved a two queen bed with a sofa bed. The hotel is in walking distance to many different restaurants. The hot breakfast was good.
The only complaint was that the heater was only in one room so the rest of the suite was cold.
We would stay again that this hotel again.

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Cookiegirl2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hawthornalameda, General Manager at Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Oakland/Alameda, responded to this reviewResponded 7 February 2011

Thank you so much for your comments and allowing us to serve you. We look forward to seeing you again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (673)
There are newer reviews for Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Oakland/Alameda
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

630 - 636 of 674 reviews

Reviewed 21 January 2011

I've stayed here two years in a row for just a couple nights when visiting family and been very pleased.

There aren't many places in Alameda and this one seems to be the best. Everything is in very good condition and very comfortable. Very clean.

It's right on one of the busy streets of little businesses in "town", not their upscale town on Park but sort of the old business area on Webster. I asked for a room on the quiet side overlooking the parking lot, and it was very quiet. It's very easy to get into Oakland from here and there are shopping areas with grocery and starbucks and all the other usual things within blocks, maybe 1/2 mile to a mile.

There's a "spa" hot tub that I found very relaxing. Seemed pretty clean, tiles were clean, no scum around the edges. Looked like there were some leaves that somehow found their way onto the floor.

The desk people were very friendly and helpful. I used the breakfast last year and found it quite adequate, for a complimentary buffet. They had cereal, eggs, sausage, coffee, juice, toast. Just a bit more than the usual continental.

I wish it was a little less expensive, but I didn't really mind paying to know it was going to be clean, quiet and safe. And I could have had free breakfast if I'd gotten myself to the breakfast room before 9.

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 3peasnearSeattle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hawthornalameda, General Manager at Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Oakland/Alameda, responded to this reviewResponded 7 February 2011

Thank you so much for your comments and allowing us to serve you. I will make sure to pass on your comments to our front desk staff. We look forward to seeing you again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 November 2010

We stay here at least once a month while traveling on business. The rooms are clean, the staff is pleasant, and the FREE breakfasts are good. There is also free wi-fi. The beds are comfortable. The location is great -- there are many shops and restaurants within walking distance. Several good restaurants in town deliver to the hotel. These include: Italian, Mexican, Chinese, & Indian cuisine. There aren't many options as far as hotels go in Alameda. So far, this is the best we've found.

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jittterbug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hawthornalameda, Owner at Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Oakland/Alameda, responded to this reviewResponded 12 November 2010

Thank you for your comments and repeat business. I will convey your recognition of our staff to them. We are looking forward to seeing you again next time when you are in Alameda.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2010

I stayed here with friends, all attending a wedding. The place was conveniently located in quaint Alameda, the staff was friendly and accommodating, and the rooms clean. There was a spa, a nice workout room, and a full free breakfast every morning. It was nothing overly luxurious, but it was comfortable and perfect for our happy group, and I noticed that there were other "wedding" groups there enjoying the facilities. I would go back - it's close to the freeway, not a terrible drive into the City, and Alameda itself has lots to offer, including its very own tiki bar, Forbidden Island, and a nearby Jack in the Box for late night tacos (drive up only). Not to be missed is the patty melt special served by the rainbow haired counter lady at Albert's Diner, 1/2 block up the street.

Stayed: July 2010, travelled with friends
Thank GoGo57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hawthornalameda, General Manager at Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Oakland/Alameda, responded to this reviewResponded 15 July 2010

Thank your for your comments. We are glad that you enjoyed Alameda's small town atmosphere and everything it has to offer to visitors whether they are here for a wedding or on a business trip.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 July 2010

We were in town visiting family in nearby downtown Oakland. Location was extremely convenient for us with car. We could fit our family of 5 w/ two teenagers in the room. We spent almost no time there except sleeping. Our room faced street, but did not have problem with street noise.Parking behind hotel was convenient. Free breakfast was decent (nothing special) with good coffee. Staff was friendly.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank odyssey3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hawthornalameda, Owner at Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Oakland/Alameda, responded to this reviewResponded 15 July 2010

Thank you for choosing to stay at Hawthorn Suites By Wyndham in Alameda and for your comments. We hope that you will be our guest again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 March 2010

Our family stayed one night as a convenience to visit the USS Hornet after spending a few days in San Francisco. We had a standard queen/queen room

Tracy and Maria, the front desk associates we had contact with, were knowledgeable, friendly and personable with great customer service skills.

The good:

The hotel represented an excellent over all value.

The staff all seemed friendly and smiled when greeting guests. The hotel offered a very nice buffet breakfast that was well presented with good variety. The breakfast is included in a very attractive room rate. This is a suite hotel. Our well-lit queen/queen room had a separate seating area with sleeper loveseat and two TVs. The bathroom had seen a remodel within the last 5-6 years, was clean and serviceable.

I had the impression the hotel did a good deal of business with the US military and our Friday night stay was relatively quiet (see below for more info).

The hotel is only about a mile from the USS Hornet where we enjoyed a full 'Living Ship Day'.

Based on what I've seen at TripAdvisor, management appears receptive to feedback

The not so good:

The carpet in our room was well past due for replacement and way, way past due for an industrial-strength cleaning. Ugh! We arrived late in the evening with tired grandkids so did not ask for a room change to one with a replaced/clean carpet. The carpet situation was not one of staff oversight. Management needs to step up and take corrective action.

If the room (carpet) had been clean, I'd have no reservations about recommending this hotel to friends and family.

There is a fire station close to the hotel. Night runs with sirens howling are a fact of life. In a positive light, Tracy at the front desk complied with my request at check-in for a quiet room. She placed us in a room on the back (parking lot view) side of hotel. This decreased sound levels a bunch. I heard no sirens after about 11:00 the night of our stay.

As mentioned by out-of-area reviewers at this website, travelers need to be aware and avoid of traveling into Oakland's high crime areas. The island of Alameda is actually relatively safe and I enjoyed a before breakfast walk Saturday on Webster street.

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 1963cvs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hawthornalameda, Owner at Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Oakland/Alameda, responded to this reviewResponded 27 March 2010

Thank you for your comments!
We recently installed a second sound-proof window, in all our rooms facing away from the parking lot, which our guests have complimented us on.
We are also in the process of having the guest room carpets cleaned which we do twice a year. We realize that it is time to replace the carpets and so we will be doing that when we renovate the entire hotel this year.
We hope to see you again when you visit Alameda.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 February 2010

Breakfast was always good (except for the day they had no meat, just hash). :-)
The evening meal on Wednesday is a great idea.
The staff was friendly, including the room cleaning crew.
Needs a pool.

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Snickers511
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Alameda
1.8 mi away
Executive Inn & Suites
Executive Inn & Suites
#2 of 49 in Oakland
899 reviews
4.0 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Oakland Airport-Alameda
1.3 mi away
Waterfront Hotel, a Joie de Vivre hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Best Western Plus Bayside Hotel
1.8 mi away
Oakland Marriott City Center
1.6 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Oakland-Waterfront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Oakland/Alameda? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Oakland/Alameda

Address: 1628 Webster St, Alameda, CA 94501-2134 (Formerly Oakland/Alameda Hawthorn Suites LTD.)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Alameda
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Alameda
Price Range: £121 - £235 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Oakland/Alameda 2.5*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hawthorn Suites By Wyndham located in the beautiful city of Alameda, just a mile from downtown Oakland, was newly built in 2003 and renovated in 2011. The hotel offers superior amenities and great customer service in addition to studio suites with a King or two Queen beds, some with sofa sleepers. Complimentary hot breakfast buffet includes eggs, potatoes, meat, pancakes, juices, fruits, yogurt, hot and cold cereal, Starbucks coffee and a variety of teas. Parking and T1 reliable wifi are free and there are several nice restaurants within walking distance of the hotel. Bus and train connections are conveniently located nearby to San Francisco and other destinations and attractions in the Bay Area. Come and stay at our hotel to experience superior hospitality from a dedicated staff. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Agoda, Ebookers, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Oakland/Alameda reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hawthorn Suites By Wyndham Alameda Hotel Alameda
Hawthorn Suites Alameda
Alameda Hawthorn Suites

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing