We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“3rd Times a Charm”
Review of Albion River Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Albion River Inn
Ranked #1 of 3 Albion B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 5 October 2012

We spent our 13th wedding anniversary at the Albion River Inn this being our 3rd time visiting ARI. We stayed in Room # 20 this time. It was very private and had a humungous outdoor deck. The view was beautiful but not quite as spectacular as room #17. We have stayed in #17 twice so we can now say it's our favorite. The king size bed, jacuzzi tub, and fireplace are a guaranteed ticket to complete relaxation. It is worth every penny and we highly recommend the Albion River Inn to anyone looking for a "peaceful" hideaway. We'll be back to the ARI for "shore"! - J. & C. Shore

Room Tip: All the views are beautiful however, wider views of the ocean are located closer to the center of th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank ShoreFire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (319)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

196 - 202 of 319 reviews

Reviewed 5 October 2012

While we were staying in Mendocino our innkeeper recommended the Albion River Inn for a special dinner. It was a wonderful night, with good food, friendly service, and a view to die for. A special treat was their scotch selection and tastings. With over 100 single malts to select from and a bartender who knew her stuff it really was an experience.

Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
2  Thank skyking1956
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 September 2012

With all sorts of reasons for not having been able to get back to Mendocino for September's famous Winesong events for more than a decade, it was great to see that much hasn't changed at the Albion River Inn.

Even if your plans don't have you staying here, you'll want to make at least one of the daily 5-6 PM happy hours with decent wine specials at under $5 and a complimentary appetizer plate that didn't come from Costco boxes. And the conversation with the owner, Fleuri, is always interesting, particularly if you want to reminisce about the 60's in Sacramento and Governor Brown's earlier service and the famous "blue plymouth" or Melarkey's on Broadway (across from Tower everything).

Perched on a bluff over the Albion River delta with the ocean close and clearly visible to the west, you should know that, when it's foggy, you may be subject to what we consider the lulling sounds of a nearby fog horn (others who consider that an annoyance may want to visit someplace other than the north coast of California). The cottages are varied in size and amenities, as are the prices. But, in high season, you can expect to pay about $300/night, which does include an excellent daily full breakfast, free wireless, San Francisco Chronicles at your door, fireplaces and water facing decks with Adirondack chairs. The quaint town of Mendocino is just north down the road (under 5 miles) and southwest there's plenty of winery tasting rooms along state route 128, as well as waiting CHP officers along the way (whatever you do, never drink and drive in Mendocino County - or anywhere for that matter).

Food at the Albion River in is quite good with ample portions and variety as well as decent prices and an interesting wine list. If you are driving to the area from SF or Sacramento, I advise that you stay at the hotel for dinner on your first night so that you'll be rested for exploring the following day. On following nights, make sure you include Cafe Beaujolais on your agenda (but that's another review).

The Albion River Inn has been around for a very long time. Some of the decor is a bit dated (though not obnoxious) and, if the local tourist economy perks up when the overall economy perks up, I do hope that Fleuri will upgrade some of the units. At $300+ per night, sheet vinyl floors in the bathroom areas really should be switched out for tile. And (always my pet peeve) please up the water pressure and change to a Speakman showerhead (sans its flow restrictor) to provide a real shower. (I know that I'm not being environmentally responsible with that comment. But, we all deserve some small vices.)

At the bottom line, whether you're a seasoned or novice visitor to the north coast, you can't go wrong at the Albion River Inn.

Room Tip: pix of the rooms and their views are on the hotel website.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank FlatbushFlyer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2012

My Wife and I have been coming here twice a year for many years and it is one of our favorite getaways for pure relaxation. Just sitting on the private deck overlooking the water with no requirement to do anything much at all beyond reading a good book is a joy. Yes, many of the rooms could use some upgrading and, other than the great breakfasts, the restaurant is not what it used to be (we stopped eating dinners here a few years ago). But the staff is terrific, friendly and accommodating. The rooms are cozy, comfortable and quiet with details taken care of right down to the man who delivers the wood and prepares the fireplace. Sadly, the comforting sound of the foghorn is gone (hardly the teeth-chattering noise described by a few reviewers) but we will continue to come here regularly for our necessary dose of peace and quiet.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Lawrence K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2012

Having been 30+ year visitors of Big Sur, we have been now shown our true heaven.The Albion River Inn is perfection plus,from the moment you are greeted by Sally to the minute you open the door to your private house on the cliffs.I peace tranquility and true splendor of this experience is beyond anything we have ever experienced.We have trac\veled the world and right in our own backyard we have found peace.
The chef at the restaurant is better than any chef we have experienced in years.The included 5 star breakfast is made to order amongst the setting of magnificent beauty.Each night our meal was better than the previous night.
We have already booked the week of New Years and plan on visiting numerous times during the year to hide from TV radio and telephone and spend time talking and relaxing with nature infront of us.

Room Tip: there are three private houses not attached with a wall we prefer that
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank smithabbott
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2012

Its a lovely property but honestly we expected a bit more for the price. View was beautiful and the keep the property in great shape but it is getting a bit old and could use a refurb. They say no tv because it's meant for romance and relaxation but it should be the guest's choice to watch or not so that was a bad surprise. Also no cell coverage is a bit stupid in ths day and age. No maps of the area and pretty poor responses to where to go, where to eat etc. people in town much more helpful. Happy Hour was a total miss also. Breakfast was delicious, fireplace a lovely touch, grounds gorgeous. Comfy beds, had no problem w noise. OK but not fantastic.

Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
2  Thank T S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2012

I was planing a road trip along high way 1 on 4th of July week end with my parents. I have heard from one f my patients that Albion River Inn is a great place to stay. I called them and made a reservation for one night. I told the gentle man on the phone that we are three and he said it is fine and made the reservation and charged my credit card. I received a call a day before my trip that they can't accommodate three people in that t\room and they need to cancel my reservation and they said that they refund my account. I was not happy because I had to look for another placer last minute, but it was fine until I have checked my bank statement today, three weeks after and they still have not refund the money. Horrible horrible customer service. Stay away from them if you like to have a stress free experience.

Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
6  Thank msanfrancisco2222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Albion
5.5 mi away
Mendocino Hotel and Garden Suites
13.9 mi away
North Cliff Hotel
North Cliff Hotel
#5 of 23 in Fort Bragg
627 reviews
3.1 mi away
Little River Inn
Little River Inn
#1 of 2 in Little River
724 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Heritage House Resort
Heritage House Resort
#2 of 2 in Little River
654 reviews
2.5 mi away
Inn at Schoolhouse Creek
Inn at Schoolhouse Creek
#3 of 8 in Little River
292 reviews
3.5 mi away
Glendeven Inn Mendocino
Glendeven Inn Mendocino
#1 of 8 in Little River
676 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Albion River Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Albion River Inn

Address: 3790 N Highway 1, Albion, CA 95410
Region: United States > California > Mendocino County > Albion
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Albion
Price Range: £147 - £245 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Albion River Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Albion River Inn's spectacular ocean front lodging and dining create the ambiance for a romantic and relaxing vacation on the Mendocino Coast. Our well appointed guest rooms and cottages feature dramatic ocean views with many amenities for your comfort. Located on the ocean, minutes from the historic village of Mendocino, Anderson Valley Wine Country, golf, tennis, State Parks, and beaches. The acclaimed restaurant and bar are open nightly for dinner. The restaurant lawn terrace is the picture perfect setting for weddings and receptions, while Cooking Classes and Culinary Events make us your ideal destination getaway. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and Ebookers so you can book your Albion River Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Albion River Hotel Albion

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing