We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely Stay at Albion”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Albion River Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Albion River Inn
Ranked #1 of 3 Albion B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
23 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Lovely Stay at Albion”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 April 2013

This was our first stay at the Albion River Inn, and we plan to return for many more stays in the future. We stayed in cabin 5, one of the stand alone cottages, and we loved it. The floor to ceiling window provides an amazing view of the Pacific ocean. The cottage itself is spacious with a king bed, comfortable arm chairs, and a luxurious bathroom. My favorite parts of the cottage were the huge jacuzzi tub overlooking the Pacific coastline and the wood fireplace. Despite being old, the cottage itself was extremely clean and came with all the amenities you could ask for (free wireless internet, extra towels, matches for fireplace, etc.) In addition, the cottage is very private - we couldn't hear or see our neighbors.

Dinner was also very good. The prices are reasonable for a hotel, and the dining room is very romantic and intimate. The service was fantastic, and the seafood dishes were quite delicious. For breakfast, we had the option to select from about five different dishes. We had a great view of the coastline from the dining room.

Overall, we loved this hotel - excellent service and immaculate, spacious rooms with fantastic views that also offer privacy. It's a wonderful hotel away from the city that offers relaxation. They also offer great deals during the week. We highly recommend this hotel for those looking to unwind for the weekend.

Room Tip: All the rooms offer privacy, but I really liked staying in the stand alone cottage.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Delaware83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

303 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    195
    72
    21
    9
    6
See reviews for
23
210
12
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (100)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Castro Valley, California
Level Contributor
57 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 April 2013

We just spent two nights at the lovely Albion River Inn. This was our sixth visit and our third stay in #17 Captain Richardson's Cottage. This is a spacious suite of rooms - bedroom/sitting area and a luxurious bath with a huge jacuzzi tub for two whose window looks out on Albion Cove and the Pacific Ocean. Quality items fill the amenity basket and comfortable robes await you. The staff has a fire ready to be lit in the wood-burning fireplace when you desire. Wine and chocolates await you in the sitting area. A delicious full breakfast of your choosing is included with the room. The restaurant is only open for guests staying at the Inn for breakfast. Staff is very accommodating and helpful. There is no TV and poor telephone reception, but WIFI is available. Personally, I loved being out of reach for two very peaceful days.

Room Tip: We like #17 and #5
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marilyn D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grass Valley, California
Level Contributor
18 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 April 2013

We love the Albion River Inn. We always reserve room 5 as it's a stand alone cottage, has a large bathroom, king bed, wood fireplace, and a gorgeous view of the Pacific coastline. The rooms have refrigerators, the fireplaces are ready to go, everything is clean and so peaceful. The grounds are gorgeous with flowers, trees, shrubs, succulents, roses - just beautiful! This was our second time here and we've never been dissapointed.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KristiTomB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Whittier, California
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 April 2013

We live in Southern California and wanted to find a romantic getaway for our honeymoon. We came across the Albion River Inn while searching the web. We read all the great reviews and booked it. As soon as we arrived we were greeting with kindness and hospitality that was felt the entire stay and a bottle of wine in our room. We met Flurry, one of the owners who made us feel special and welcomed. The view from our cottage was breathtaking. Our room was clean and cozy with a fireplace that was cleaned and restocked everyday as were the linens. The private deck we had right outside the sliding glass doors was perfect for our romantic sunsets with a glass of wine and our morning coffee with the daily newspaper delivered to our porch. The restaruant, which also has beautiful ocean views and gardens offered a complementary full breakfast that was amazing each morning and the dinner and wine choices were very pleasing. There are local trails along the coast which we really enjoyed with spectacular views and nearby towns to stoll and shop. We had a very romantic, peaceful stay and plan on returning. Ernie and Dee

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank D0rindaR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northern California
Level Contributor
36 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 April 2013

This was our third time staying at the Albion River Inn. I love coming here but was a little disappointed as I feel the inside of the cottage needed to be updated. We stayed in number 6. The mattress needs to be changed out and the window dressing could use a good cleaning. The carpet has a lot of holes from the wood burning fireplace. A nice plus is the full breakfast that is served in the dining room. We had dinner at the restaurant as well and it was wonderful as always. We will continue to go back as the location and view are hard to beat.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank susyq09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
24 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 March 2013

Our room was comfortable, clean with a beautiful deck overlooking the ocean. No TV added to the relation. We loved the fireplace in our room and a free bottle of wine upon arrivsl. The free WiFi was a plus-because cell phone coveragr is spotty on the coast. The restaurant had great food and wine selection.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank everichards
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver
Level Contributor
29 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 February 2013

We had a lovely suite with fireplace, huge tub, plenty of lovely towels, nice linens, and nice furnishings. Our room had sliding glass doors to a nice deck with chairs, a lovely garden area below and an ocean view. We were gifted with a bottle of wine and chocolates each day. The grounds had a wonderful array of flowers.Two drawbacks: There were no television sets or cellphone service there. There was Wi Fi, However, We had looked forward to watching the political conventions and were reduced to watching them on our iPads but that was adequate. Our rates included a lovely breakfast in their diningroom with its ocean view.

We ate dinner there one night and I ordered the quail which was terribly undercooked. I complained to the waitress who said it was fine but when she took it to the kitchen and showed it to the cook he agreed that it was undercooked. They comped my dinner and dessert so that was nice but I would rather have had a good meal.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Marilyn S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Albion
5.5 mi away
Mendocino Hotel and Garden Suites
0.9 mi away
Heritage House Resort
Heritage House Resort
#2 of 2 in Little River
4.5 of 5 bubbles 585 reviews
3.1 mi away
Little River Inn
Little River Inn
#1 of 2 in Little River
4.5 of 5 bubbles 681 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.6 mi away
Brewery Gulch Inn
Brewery Gulch Inn
#1 of 25 in Mendocino
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,123 reviews
2.5 mi away
Inn at Schoolhouse Creek
Inn at Schoolhouse Creek
#3 of 7 in Little River
4.5 of 5 bubbles 260 reviews
3.5 mi away
Glendeven Inn Mendocino
Glendeven Inn Mendocino
#1 of 7 in Little River
5.0 of 5 bubbles 635 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Albion River Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Albion River Inn

Property: Albion River Inn
Address: 3790 N Highway 1, Albion, CA 95410
Region: United States > California > Mendocino County > Albion
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Albion
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Albion River Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Albion River Inn's spectacular ocean front lodging and dining create the ambiance for a romantic and relaxing vacation on the Mendocino Coast. Our well appointed guest rooms and cottages feature dramatic ocean views with many amenities for your comfort. Located on the ocean, minutes from the historic village of Mendocino, Anderson Valley Wine Country, golf, tennis, State Parks, and beaches. The acclaimed restaurant and bar are open nightly for dinner. The restaurant lawn terrace is the picture perfect setting for weddings and receptions, while Cooking Classes and Culinary Events make us your ideal destination getaway. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Ebookers and Traveltool, S.L.U. so you can book your Albion River Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Albion River Hotel Albion

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing