We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“UNFORGETTABLE” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Albion River Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Albion River Inn
Ranked #1 of 3 Albion B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
79 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“UNFORGETTABLE”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 July 2013

We stayed at the Albion River Inn in August 2011. It was one of my favorite places ever. The stunning views of the dramatic sceneries of the coast, the sound of the waves, the green of the landscapes... it is just overwhelming. I am looking forward to returning.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mark L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

299 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    193
    70
    21
    9
    6
See reviews for
23
207
12
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (100)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2013

We stayed here 3 nights (Thursday thru Sunday) in mid-July 2013 in Room 2.

On the positive side:

Check-in was quick and easy. There's a reserved parking place right by the door. The bed (a queen, not a king as advertised) was very comfortable and the linens were fresh and new. There was a complimentary demi-bottle of an inexpensive local chardonnay (Handley) in the room when we arrived. Although we had little contact with the staff, they were friendly and professional both at the inn and at the restaurant. We ate in the restaurant only for the breakfast, which was, free, good, and plentiful. The best thing about this inn, really the only thing that makes it exceptional in any way, is the view from the balcony deck, which was pleasant and calming, although the coast here is not nearly as awe-inspiring as some other places on the Pacific Coast. The grounds are blessed with the profusion of flowers amazingly common in this land of seemingly endless springtime.

On the downside:

The first thing we noticed on entering the room was that it smelled smoky, not from cigarettes, but from the wood-burning fireplace, and its embers had burned quite a few holes in the carpet. Besides these many burns, the carpet was old, worn, and stained in several places. The fireplace had firewood expertly arranged with kindling, ready for lighting with a single match. We did not light the fire, because, although the idea seems romantic, the already smoky smell of the room suggested that a fire might not be such a great idea, lest we be smoked out entirely.

The room itself badly, very, very badly, needed updating, as many of the furnishings were outdated, worn, or rather cheap-looking, e.g., cheap blinds on the windows; the "luxury" bathtub (made of plastic rather than porcelain) had many cracks in the plastic; the lampshades were worn and stained; the drain rings in the sink and tub were corroded with rust. One would expect such things to be of much better quality and appearance at a facility charging luxury prices. The photos on the Albion River Inn website make the rooms look sparkling, when in fact the Room 2 was rather tired, frayed, and dreary. Our room had a minor infestation of ants, especially in the bathroom, which necessitated being careful to store anything edible in a sealed container--including such things as the cough drops and Tums we carry in our travel kit. (Speaking of storage for things edible, there is a small refrigerator in the bathroom, which we did not discover until our last evening, because it is hidden behind a cabinet door.)

Yes, I appreciate the idea of "getting away from it all." But at the Albion River Inn there's no place one can stroll on foot more than 100 yards without driving away from the property, and although the view from the balcony is lovely and soothing, unless one wishes to spend one's whole day out there on the deck, the overall effect is that one soon begin to feel isolated in a dreary room.

At half the price, I'd easily give this place three stars, but at this price, it deserves barely two.

Room Tip: Room 2 looks much more sparkling in the Inn's website photos than it is in actuality. It's w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AstonishingFM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carlsbad, California
Level Contributor
39 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 July 2013

This was our second stay at the Albion River Inn. On the first stay about 5 years ago, we stayed three nights in Room 17, which was about as good as it gets. The two-person whirlpool tub, the wood burning fireplace, and the view from the room, tub, and deck were all fantastic. At $325 in the summer, it's pricey but worth it.

Recently retired, we went for one of the least expensive rooms ($195), called Ocean, and the experience was almost as nice. We had a great view and deck, but the fireplace was replaced with a gas stove and the bathroom had only a relatively small shower. We enjoyed it almost as much. The breakfast that is included is excellent. We had an excellent dinner both nights. The salmon was outstanding and paired nicely with one of the nice selection of Anderson Valley pinot noirs. The three course menu at $32 was a bargain. The service, especially by the bartender and waitresses was friendly and knowledgeable. Unfortunately, the piano player has left, but rumor has it that he might return. In the meantime, the background music is well-chosen. We look forward to many more visits in the future.

Room Tip: The website fairly shows the rooms. We have stayed in the most expensive and least expensive and en...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank John S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
U.S.A.
Level Contributor
125 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 July 2013

The Albion River Inn is located in a beautiful spot, up on a bluff with gorgeous views of the Albion River, wooden bridge, ocean and rugged coast. The grounds are beautiful with lots of flowers, trees and bushes. We stayed 2 nights in room #16 which is very clean, spacious and comfortable but in need of upgrading. The carpet is very stained, the chairs look very worn, the bathroom is big but in badly need of a renovation. I love this inn but it would be so nice if for the money they charge they would upgrade all their rooms. The staff is great, friendly and very accommodating. And the restaurant is fantastic, great food and service.
Note: this room is very close to the highway therefore it can be noisy when the big logging trucks go by.

Room Tip: Choose one of the rooms farthest from the highway.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank U_s_a_Viajera2008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roseville, California
Level Contributor
17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 July 2013

We stayed two nights in room 5 and we very happy with the experience. Cleanliness and attention to detail is so important to us, and we found both at this Inn. The cottage's fireplace was already expertly stocked with kindling, paper, and logs so that all we had to do was strike a match to start a cozy fire. The hot tub was ready to go with a private and secluded view of the ocean. There's something surreal about sitting in the private hot tub and feeling the cool ocean breeze and hearing the ocean surf. We were impressed with the complimentary bottle of wine in our room and then glasses of sparkling wine complementary at the bar for our anniversary.

We had a delicious dinner at their onsite restaurant, with romantic window seating overlooking the Albion river entering the ocean. Filet mignon was expertly prepared as was the Alaskan Halibut.

Complementary breakfasts were good except for the second day where the hostess decided to become a waitress and seemed completely disconnected from what she was doing. She couldn't remember to bring cream for coffee, spilled our drinks on our table, and then completely forgot to ever bring one of our two entrees. When asked, she giggled and said, "Oh, I saw it, forgot it was yours, and gave it to somebody else, oops". We had already been there 45 minutes and didn't want to wait for her to resubmit the order.

Overall it was a good trip, and we would recommend it.

Room Tip: Room 5, 17, and 20 are the best rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bluerecursion
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NC
Level Contributor
145 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 June 2013

We stayed here in early June this year and really enjoyed it. It is an older hotel but they are doing a good job of keeping it up. The bed was very conformable, the bathroom was not all that modern but clean and large but the deck, ah the deck. The view was wonderful. We spend 3 hours one day just sitting watching the deer, osprey, hawks, wales, humming birds, and the water. Get a good bottle of wine and some cheese and just enjoy. We also choose to eat dinner there both nights because we were to tired to find something else and I'm glad we did. The first night we tried gourmet and the next we decided for the hamburger. Well that burger was the best ever, go figure!! The breakfast if large and very good. We will go back!!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank NCJustMe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Weed, California
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 June 2013

Ditto on the great views, food & service, but despite a plethora of wineries in the vicinity, the wine list and by-glass is pitiable. The half bottle chardonnay you get as a welcome is so old that it's almost vinegar. Also, there's great coffee roasters in the area, but the single one-cup prepackaged coffee for the little in-room maker is less than desirable. The store across the river has everything if you don't pack it yourself.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bosslady3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Albion
5.4 mi away
Mendocino Hotel and Garden Suites
0.8 mi away
Heritage House Resort
Heritage House Resort
#2 of 2 in Little River
4.5 of 5 bubbles 571 reviews
3.1 mi away
Little River Inn
Little River Inn
#1 of 2 in Little River
4.5 of 5 bubbles 673 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.8 mi away
The Elk Cove Inn & Spa
4.5 mi away
Brewery Gulch Inn
Brewery Gulch Inn
#1 of 24 in Mendocino
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,105 reviews
2.4 mi away
Inn at Schoolhouse Creek
Inn at Schoolhouse Creek
#3 of 7 in Little River
4.5 of 5 bubbles 254 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Albion River Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Albion River Inn

Property: Albion River Inn
Address: 3790 N Hwy 1, Albion, CA 95410
Region: United States > California > Mendocino County > Albion
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Albion
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Albion River Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Albion River Inn's spectacular ocean front lodging and dining create the ambiance for a romantic and relaxing vacation on the Mendocino Coast. Our well appointed guest rooms and cottages feature dramatic ocean views with many amenities for your comfort. Located on the ocean, minutes from the historic village of Mendocino, Anderson Valley Wine Country, golf, tennis, State Parks, and beaches. The acclaimed restaurant and bar are open nightly for dinner. The restaurant lawn terrace is the picture perfect setting for weddings and receptions, while Cooking Classes and Culinary Events make us your ideal destination getaway. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and Expedia so you can book your Albion River Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Albion River Hotel Albion

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing