We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Top Dog”
Review of Albion River Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Albion River Inn
Ranked #1 of 3 Albion B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Inkpen, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Top Dog”
Reviewed 22 November 2013

This was the best hotel we stayed at during a vacation in California from UK. Our cabin had excellent facilities including both a jacuzzi style bath and separate shower. Twin wash basins so we did not have to fight for first goes although the toilet room was a little small.Our bed and sun deck looked out over the river estuary and sea with gorgeous sunsets over the Pacific Ocean.Because of my wife's asthma we did not light the wood burner but the gas room heater was fine to take the morning chill off the room.
The restaurant produced excellent meals and we enjoyed both our breakfasts and evening meals. I would definitely recommend this Inn to any Brits going to the area. There is even a lass from Burnley serving meals there.But all staff were very friendly and efficient.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank emmanbee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

308 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    200
    72
    21
    9
    6
See reviews for
25
213
12
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (101)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Marin County, CA
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 November 2013

The staff at the inn are well-skilled in the art of hospitality: welcoming, warm, friendly, attentive. The grounds are well kept and small. The rooms are spacious with excellent views, comfortable beds, working fireplace, lovely welcome wine and mints. The rooms need some upgrading: the carpets are stained and a bit frayed, fresh paint and different art would help. That said, it is a wonderful place in a great setting.

Room Tip: Room 2 is our favorite. No connecting rooms, balcony, view, fireplace, 2-person tub.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank doug h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 4 November 2013

What a beautiful setting... It was a shame that the service did not match.... My best friends rehearsal dinner was very interesting to say the least... Very slow service.... Couldn't even get refills..... One of the plates came out terrible...so the waiter says " oh I'll buy you a dessert....we came for a nice meal, not a "free dessert" we had to ask for the item to be fixed, another one at the table never received their salad and then never received the main course so we had to ask for that as well. To top it off they then say that they can not do separate checks.... I have never heard of such a thing... We were a party of 12 but I just don't get it;( it was a beautiful setting and the food is good for those who got it!!!

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Splitfired
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 November 2013

Spectacular views of the Pacific Ocean in one direction and redwood forests on the other side. A very secluded, rustic inn with woodburning fireplaces and wooden decks just perfect for relaxing with a glass of wine, while watching the sun setting into the late afternoon fog. Very romantic. Just 6 miles outside of Mendocino.

Room Tip: This is the place for you if you want to get away from cell service and an in-room TV. WiFi availab...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joe-Linda-2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 October 2013

We and friends stayed in rooms 8 and 9, price with taxes include were $260 per room and this did include full breakfast. These were not the most expensive rooms and they vary so much, it is important that I specify the room #s. You are paying for the view and the balcony which was wonderful. The rooms were large and the beds comfortable. Décor was extremely bland, not fancy. We liked the fireplace (gas) and appreciated the small bottle of wine (however we don't drink white wine and would have rather they asked us our preference). The bathroom was tiny and sorely out of date. Also the only way to get rid of the steam was to open the window which faces the parking lot at ground level, not exactly private. We had dinner in the restaurant which was pricey ($325 incl tip) for a party of 4. This included alcoholic drinks (2 cosmos, 2 beers, one bottle of red wine). We all had the shrimp which was delicious and the wait staff were great. Again, lovely view and sunset. Ate there also for breakfast. I had their version of eggs benedict which was egg on tomato slice and English muffin, herbs and a little parmesean. No flavor, so wished they had included hollandaise. My fault for not reading the menu.

Room Tip: Telephone the property and ask. Don't go by the photos.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LeslieC_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Athens, Georgia
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 October 2013

Stayed here for our first two nights out of San Francisco going north on a 9 day adventure.
Got in at about 5p for breezy check-in. Found great view, of the other side of the cove directly ahead and the ocean of to the right. (room 7).
Restaurant was good, good service. Included breakfast was pretty substantial. My green eggs and Ham (eggs w/pesto and ham) were funny and tasty. For dinner you can order sides if large protein plates are not your thing. Try a scotch flight!
Found staying a little bit out of Mendocino was fine. Would recommend ARI without hesitation.

Room Tip: Closer to restaurant will more directly face out of river towards Pacific.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jimmy L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 18 October 2013 via mobile

My husband & I had the best time. We loved it. It was very quiet. You really got to love the one your with to enjoy this place.
We had a fantastic time and will return soon.
Best ever as long as u don't need a tv.
Food was amazing. Awesome wine.
Ppl were very friendly.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Socorro S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Albion
5.5 mi away
Mendocino Hotel and Garden Suites
0.9 mi away
Heritage House Resort
Heritage House Resort
#2 of 2 in Little River
622 reviews
3.1 mi away
Little River Inn
Little River Inn
#1 of 2 in Little River
701 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Inn at Schoolhouse Creek
Inn at Schoolhouse Creek
#3 of 7 in Little River
276 reviews
3.5 mi away
Glendeven Inn Mendocino
Glendeven Inn Mendocino
#1 of 7 in Little River
652 reviews
4.6 mi away
Brewery Gulch Inn
Brewery Gulch Inn
#1 of 25 in Mendocino
1,146 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Albion River Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Albion River Inn

Property: Albion River Inn
Address: 3790 N Highway 1, Albion, CA 95410
Region: United States > California > Mendocino County > Albion
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Albion
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Albion River Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Albion River Inn's spectacular ocean front lodging and dining create the ambiance for a romantic and relaxing vacation on the Mendocino Coast. Our well appointed guest rooms and cottages feature dramatic ocean views with many amenities for your comfort. Located on the ocean, minutes from the historic village of Mendocino, Anderson Valley Wine Country, golf, tennis, State Parks, and beaches. The acclaimed restaurant and bar are open nightly for dinner. The restaurant lawn terrace is the picture perfect setting for weddings and receptions, while Cooking Classes and Culinary Events make us your ideal destination getaway. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com so you can book your Albion River Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Albion River Hotel Albion

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing