We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A little slice of heaven”
Review of Albion River Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Albion River Inn
Ranked #1 of 3 Albion B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Petaluma, California
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“A little slice of heaven”
Reviewed 8 February 2014 via mobile

We have stayed every Feb for the past ten years. We have been traveling the this area for the past twenty years. Finally found the Albion River Inn and we found our place. They offer a great discount during the week Nov to March, great deaL Room is so relaxing. We always eat at the restaurant the first night. Food is always great and the service is top notch. The second night we pick up snacks at the local deli and stay in with a good bottle of wine a book and quite time together. If you are lucky the Inns cat will come in and lay at your feet in front of the fire. We will keep coming back every year for ever!

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank dsimpson1963
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

308 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    200
    72
    21
    9
    6
See reviews for
25
213
12
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (101)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Brentwood CA
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 February 2014

The Albion River Inn was a great way to relax! The views of the coast were spectacular!!!
The restaurant is outstanding...The food was not only great to look at , but tasted even better. We made a fire every night and watched the sunset from our room...then open our door and just listen to the ocean. The staff was very friendly and left a bottle of Chardonnay in our room. We drove up and down the coast great scenery ... Redwoods..Pacific Ocean looked the best it ever has with all the different colors of blue. We will go back another time!!! Well worth the price.

Room Tip: All cottages have great views...Depends on how much you want to spend!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fyrchez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MIDLAND
Level 6 Contributor
119 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 January 2014

My wife and I have been coming to the Albion River Inn for over 28 years. Our first visit did not find the Inn as it looks today. Our first visit was to the restaurant which found us playing pool in a back room while the owner started a fire to warm up the place. Today I still miss that pool table. Today, you will find the restaurant a very warm and welcome place with a jaw dropping view of the ocean waves braking on the cliffs below. You will also find a "James Beard" award winning chief and a menu to match. It is very difficult not to enjoy a meal here.

Over the years we have seem the Inn grow into what you see today. The owner is hands-on daily and very demanding of the experience he wants you have when you stay here. The rooms are individual small buildings over looking the ocean and bay from a cliff. They are quite modern. Each with a fireplace, excellent bath that is autoclave clean and bedding that will guarantee a wonderful night's sleep. Another thing you will experience is a very professional and friendly staff. I accidentally left my iPad. They called and said it would be mailed to me. It arrived at my house the day after i returned home!

What you will not see is the continuous up-grading of the landscaping and maintenance of the infrastructure. The owner is very demanding that each guest have a wonderful and memorable experience at the Albion River Inn. One thing I didn't know about the restaurant was there is a massive assortment of Scotch whiskey. I believe over 100(?) examples. I am not a Scotch drinker.

If you are in this area, you will be well served by staying here

Room Tip: There is not a bad room. Some are larger than others. All have wonderful bath and fireplaces and bed...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ALLISONMidland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, California
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 January 2014

We just love staying here (our third visit). I could give it five stars except that to me means perfection without reservation or room for improvement, which I don't think is ever really attained. Giving it four stars instead of five is probably being a bit picky. It is a little bit outside my normal budget but well worth it. There are several payoffs. The best is the view of white water, the Pacific, great sunsets and rocky cliffs dropping to the water from most of the rooms. The second is the restaurant just a few steps away from your room. It is great to not have to worry about driving after a couple of glasses of wine, especially on Highway One at night. I would recommend this inn to anyone. My suggestion is to stay two nights at least and three if you can. There is much to see a do near by. And definitely try the restaurant and a scotch "flight" if you like that spirit. Most of us are wary of a free breakfast in a motel, however, the restaurant does a great job and provides good service. This is a very well run place.

Room Tip: Ask about the view in advance.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank gbc777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mechanicsburg, Pennsylvania, United States
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 12 December 2013

Billed as a place where you can de-stress and get away from the hassles of modern "connected" life, this place was exactly that. Did not miss the TVs (which did not exist in the rooms) at all. And the fact that cell phone connectivity was limited simply meant that folks could not bug the crap out of us!!! There are room selections for all tastes, desires, and price levels. And did anyone mention the view - simply incredible. From the room, from the restaurant, from the property, the ocean crashing onto the rocks below and the amazing sunsets were wonderful. Gas or wood fireplaces coupled with the view create the ambience, and the complimentary wine and chocolate are an added treat. Spacious and impeccably clean bathrooms (again, with different options for all tastes) were a welcomed change. Do not drive all the way to Mendocino to stay... choose Albion River Inn and then make the 15 minute drive north to see the sights after a scrumptious (and complimentary) breakfast. I have not one bad thing to say about this place.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Inkpen, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 November 2013

This was the best hotel we stayed at during a vacation in California from UK. Our cabin had excellent facilities including both a jacuzzi style bath and separate shower. Twin wash basins so we did not have to fight for first goes although the toilet room was a little small.Our bed and sun deck looked out over the river estuary and sea with gorgeous sunsets over the Pacific Ocean.Because of my wife's asthma we did not light the wood burner but the gas room heater was fine to take the morning chill off the room.
The restaurant produced excellent meals and we enjoyed both our breakfasts and evening meals. I would definitely recommend this Inn to any Brits going to the area. There is even a lass from Burnley serving meals there.But all staff were very friendly and efficient.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank emmanbee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marin County, CA
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 November 2013

The staff at the inn are well-skilled in the art of hospitality: welcoming, warm, friendly, attentive. The grounds are well kept and small. The rooms are spacious with excellent views, comfortable beds, working fireplace, lovely welcome wine and mints. The rooms need some upgrading: the carpets are stained and a bit frayed, fresh paint and different art would help. That said, it is a wonderful place in a great setting.

Room Tip: Room 2 is our favorite. No connecting rooms, balcony, view, fireplace, 2-person tub.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank doug h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Albion
5.5 mi away
Mendocino Hotel and Garden Suites
0.9 mi away
Heritage House Resort
Heritage House Resort
#2 of 2 in Little River
622 reviews
3.1 mi away
Little River Inn
Little River Inn
#1 of 2 in Little River
701 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Inn at Schoolhouse Creek
Inn at Schoolhouse Creek
#3 of 7 in Little River
277 reviews
3.5 mi away
Glendeven Inn Mendocino
Glendeven Inn Mendocino
#1 of 7 in Little River
653 reviews
4.6 mi away
Brewery Gulch Inn
Brewery Gulch Inn
#1 of 25 in Mendocino
1,146 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Albion River Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Albion River Inn

Property: Albion River Inn
Address: 3790 N Highway 1, Albion, CA 95410
Region: United States > California > Mendocino County > Albion
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Albion
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Albion River Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Albion River Inn's spectacular ocean front lodging and dining create the ambiance for a romantic and relaxing vacation on the Mendocino Coast. Our well appointed guest rooms and cottages feature dramatic ocean views with many amenities for your comfort. Located on the ocean, minutes from the historic village of Mendocino, Anderson Valley Wine Country, golf, tennis, State Parks, and beaches. The acclaimed restaurant and bar are open nightly for dinner. The restaurant lawn terrace is the picture perfect setting for weddings and receptions, while Cooking Classes and Culinary Events make us your ideal destination getaway. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com so you can book your Albion River Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Albion River Hotel Albion

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing