We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A+”
Review of Albion River Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Albion River Inn
Ranked #1 of 3 Albion B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Fort Worth, Texas
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“A+”
Reviewed 6 August 2014

I struggle to recall even one negative thing about my recent stay. The room was charming, clean and had an awesome view. The gas fire place was so nice and we used it all through our July stay. Bed and bedding was comfortable and definitely above average. We did hear the fog horn, but it was never disturbing and we did lose our great view to the fog at times, but that too was part of the ambiance. The restaurant was outstanding from the food, to the service to the beautiful view and so nice to have it just a few steps away! Front desk staff was very friendly and helpful. Be prepared - no TV, but for us, that was no problem. Overall, a wonderful place to stay in a magnificent part of the US.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LucyLouTX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

306 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    198
    72
    21
    9
    6
See reviews for
24
212
12
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (101)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Sacramento, California
Level Contributor
81 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2014

Been here four times now - always a special treat for a weekend getaway. It's peaceful and quiet - nice private deck to relax on. Love the fireplace and the romantic touch of a bottle of wine waiting upon our arrival. Some furnishings are starting to show wear and tear, but it's still one of my favorite places.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Amy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santa Rosa
Level Contributor
82 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2014

I know that management can't help the fog or the foghorn, nor the flashing light all night, but could warn you ahead of time that there could be a problem. There were no earplugs in the room and should be provided. Luckily I do not travel without them. There is considerable traffic noise in the early morning and throughout the day, not so much late at night. Some of the guests were a bit curious about other rooms. I found a women on our deck peeking in our room!

The views (if no fog) are great - decks with chairs, a 1/2 bottle of good wine with the room, just the right amount of space and a comfy bed. The room was clean, the bathroom needed some attention on the sink, rust and crud build-up, drips, etc.. Breakfast is included and has several choices. I would not order the eggs benedict. It came with a dry toasted English muffin, a thick slice of tomato that was not ripe, eggs which had a bit of cheese and parsley sprinkled over it, no sauce of any kind- so was dry. The egg was not runny enough to make up for the lack of sauce or the dry English muffin it came on. Call it something else and not a benedict! The potatoes were precooked and cold. Other choices looked good and people were enjoying them.

Room Tip: Do not get one of the older rooms. Ask for one that is updated and if possible be upstairs or in a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shanti108
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2014

We recently stayed at Albion River Inn for a full week--our longest stay ever--and what a treat it was. The rooms and the views are always spectacular. Every employee treats guests with great friendliness and courtesy. We enjoy the great breakfasts that are included, and the gourmet dinners in the restaurant. The Happy Hour is always a fun time meeting new friends and hanging out with old ones. This particular time the pianist who had played in the restaurant for years, but has moved away, was visiting for the weekend, and it was DELIGHTFUL to hear the familiar melodies that he plays so well! We hope he'll be there again in the future when we visit.
Susan and George

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Susan F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auburn, California
Level Contributor
51 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 July 2014

Stayed just one midweek night at this one of a kind Inn. Wine in the room, wood fireplace with extra wood just steps away, comfy bed, chairs on the deck to watch waves crash below and all this with a wonderful breakfast included. We stayed right there for an outstanding dinner with excellent service. The toilet should be upgraded to a user friendly High Boy with a elongated bowl or maybe grab bars.

Room Tip: We were in Room 5 which is free standing, i.e. ground floor with no other room attached.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Columbus, Ohio
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 July 2014

We had an incredible experience at Albion River Inn. Our cottage was absolutely immaculate and charming. The bed and pillows were amazing. The on-site restaurant was a huge bonus with beautiful views of the Albion River and Pacific-- along with wonderful food and service. The Inn also served their own special coffee blend which was outstanding

The gardens and flowers were spectacular and added to the uniqueness of the facility. We will definitely be back!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jstewart7725
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cypress, California
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 July 2014

We enjoyed staying at the Albion River Inn. We had an upstairs room with an excellent view. Complimentary wine, chocolate and spacious comfy chairs and a fireplace just topped off our experience. The beds and pillows were luxurious and better than I expected. Breakfast was served in the dining restaurant with carefully prepared selections. We would (and our friends agreed) come back to stay here.

Room Tip: We loved the upstairs, but other rooms had decks to enjoy too. I guess it would depend on the time o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bluewatergirlie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Albion
5.5 mi away
Mendocino Hotel and Garden Suites
0.9 mi away
Heritage House Resort
Heritage House Resort
#2 of 2 in Little River
609 reviews
3.1 mi away
Little River Inn
Little River Inn
#1 of 2 in Little River
692 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Inn at Schoolhouse Creek
Inn at Schoolhouse Creek
#3 of 7 in Little River
266 reviews
3.5 mi away
Glendeven Inn Mendocino
Glendeven Inn Mendocino
#1 of 7 in Little River
645 reviews
4.6 mi away
Brewery Gulch Inn
Brewery Gulch Inn
#1 of 25 in Mendocino
1,134 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Albion River Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Albion River Inn

Property: Albion River Inn
Address: 3790 N Highway 1, Albion, CA 95410
Region: United States > California > Mendocino County > Albion
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Albion
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3 star — Albion River Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Albion River Inn's spectacular ocean front lodging and dining create the ambiance for a romantic and relaxing vacation on the Mendocino Coast. Our well appointed guest rooms and cottages feature dramatic ocean views with many amenities for your comfort. Located on the ocean, minutes from the historic village of Mendocino, Anderson Valley Wine Country, golf, tennis, State Parks, and beaches. The acclaimed restaurant and bar are open nightly for dinner. The restaurant lawn terrace is the picture perfect setting for weddings and receptions, while Cooking Classes and Culinary Events make us your ideal destination getaway. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your Albion River Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Albion River Hotel Albion

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing