We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pretty Close to Paradise”
Review of Albion River Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Albion River Inn
Ranked #1 of 3 Albion B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
denver
Level Contributor
59 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Pretty Close to Paradise”
Reviewed 30 September 2010

I've been staying here for years. Great location on a cliff overlooking the Pacific Ocean. Cottages and rooms are well kept, comfortable, and take advantage of the view. Staff is friendly. A tremendous breakfast at the restaurant on the property is included in the price. Easy to make friends with other guests. No TV's, no cell phone service, but now ARI has added high speed Internet at no cost. Mendocino is six miles up the road.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank consumerchamp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

306 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    198
    72
    21
    9
    6
See reviews for
24
212
12
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (101)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Fayetteville, AR
Level Contributor
22 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 September 2010

We have just returned from four nights at the Inn. This was our tenth time after we discovered the Inn a few years ago. It has never disappointed us. The service is great; the rooms are very nice and cozy; the beds are very comfortable and the rooms have always been spotless and are kept that way by the staff daily. The views from the decks are spectacular and sitting on the deck while reading a good book and listening to the ocean is as good as it gets. The staff from the front office, the restaurant wait staff and the cleaning staff are all very professional, attentive and friendly. You are made to feel very welcome from the time you arrive until you leave. The food is gourmet quality and seems to get even better each time we have gone. In years past, the fog horn was a bother the first night, but we soon became accustomed to it. This time, a new system was in place and you really had to listen closely to hear it. It was not even noticeable. If you want a romantic place to unwind, relax and enjoy time with your spouse, you will not find a better place.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WCoxFayetteville_AR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lockhart, Texas
Level Contributor
20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 July 2010

We have been traveling to the Mendocino area since the 60's and have stayed at several of the local properties there. This was our first time at the Albion River Inn. This is a nice upscale property and thus the accomodations are pricy. We chose the top of the line
King Bed, Spa and Wood Burning Fireplace unit for 2 nights at $325/nt. w/o tax. The views were incredible.

We found the location, grounds and accomodations to be quite nice. The room was clean and we were quite satisified with our cleaning service each morning. We experienced one of the best sleep systems (matress) we have had on our travels. We slepted really well. The internet service worked well. We have Sprint for our cell provider and it did NOT work at all while at this property due to no cell phone tower near by. It did work however while in the village of Mendocino. We had one nights dinner at the Inn's restuarant. The food and presentation was good. The price as you would expect was a bit upscale as well.

We had a nice greeting at the reception desk upon arriving. Our departure was nothing special as she was pre-occupied with something else at the time and appeared to be multi-tasking. Having been an inn-keeper in the past, I cannot emphasize enough the importance of thanking a guest for their business.

The inn offers the following amenities (from its website):

■spectacular cliff top oceanfront views
■fireplaces ~ wood and gas
■private decks with Adirondak chairs
■comfy king & queen beds
■private baths - whirlpool spa tubs. soaking tubs for two, or standard tub shower combination
■full breakfast included
■complimentary wine, coffee and teas
■bathrobes
■binoculars
■daily newspaper
■restaurant & full bar
■award winning wine list

All in all, this is a nice, romantic destination. We would stay there again.

Side Note: The village of Mendocino is quaint with lots of shopping, several fine resturants and many small Inns to stay at. Make sure you make reservations, especially on the weekends during the summer.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank travelguy4you
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington
Level Contributor
61 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 May 2010

This hotel came highly recommended from someone who had stayed several years ago. It was okay, but not great. Certainly not worth the price given some of the alternatives. The receptionist was not very friendly when we checked in and had an attitude, consistent with some of the folks when we'd called to book. They have an overly high opinion of their hotel, perhaps because of the current lack of high end competition on the coast (but see Brewery Gulch Inn). The rooms were cute but could use an update, particularly if you consider you are paying well in excess of $200 a night (showers gave off little pressure, linens dated). Dinner at the restaurant was very good, very romantic. Overall the views and location are unique but next time I would probably check around.

Stayed May 2010
Helpful?
2 Thank rose1979
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Knoxville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
78 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 May 2010

Stayed elsewhere but took a cooking class with Chef Steve, wonderful experience with incredible food. Surrounding landscape was beautiful, with an ocean view that was wonderful. The staff was more than accommodating, and friendly. Warned about a fog horn that no longer exists, next trip back to CA coast, we will stay with them.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mulliganshores
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Porter Ranch
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 May 2010

What a beautiful place, pleasing to all of the senses!
Visually, the setting is magnificant, with flowers, the sea, the cliffs, the island with the fog horn (more on that in a moment), the bridge, the rustic interior, and even the view from the adjacent fine restaurant..
Just think, after pulling up to your room, you caneither sit on your porch and soak up the view, or if it is too chilly for your comfort you can open the curtains and enjoy the same view from behind your sliding glass doors. Read awhile or listing to music. As dark falls and the fog comesin, as it often does, take a short walk to the restaurant for an hearty or gourmet (sometimes both) meal. This may be a night where a local or semi local professional talent sings, plays,or tells stories, maybe all three.
Then the short walk back to your room feeling good. You may not have noticed, but the fog horn on the island may be playing its tune, and warning the mariners of the dangers of the land. Climb into bed,and sleep like a log, 'cause in 15 minutes the foghorn will lull you to sleep like a mother's lulabye to a baby.
I'd have given a higher rating for location, but five dots was the highest. Oh well.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank buzzstar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
La Verne, California
Level Contributor
23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 April 2010

I prefer this inn over several others that we have stayed in and which were recommended in the Mendocino area. The restaurant and the ocean views make this the place to stay. A storm rolled in while we were there and the surf was mesmerizing to watch. We were in room #5 - spacious with 2 comfy chairs and an ottoman in front of a wood burning fireplace. Robes were provided and we had a two person jacuzzi tub with a view. I read earlier reviews complaining of the fog horn. We were informed that in early April, the fog horn was replaced with a warning signal using a different system (GPS/radar?). The audible horn is now only used when small craft lacking newer technology approaches the point. The staff was friendly and efficient. Although there is no cell phone reception, there is free wireless. This pleasant inn is a place to unwind, enjoy your partner and relax. The restaurant has an excellent wine list, a flavorful menu,and a comfortable, well-stocked bar, specializing in scotch whiskey (150!). After dinner and a drink, it is wonderful to be able to walk back to your room. Mendocino is a short drive for day time hiking or shopping.

Stayed April 2010, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank sallysuesalbug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Albion
5.5 mi away
Mendocino Hotel and Garden Suites
0.9 mi away
Heritage House Resort
Heritage House Resort
#2 of 2 in Little River
609 reviews
3.1 mi away
Little River Inn
Little River Inn
#1 of 2 in Little River
692 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Inn at Schoolhouse Creek
Inn at Schoolhouse Creek
#3 of 7 in Little River
266 reviews
3.5 mi away
Glendeven Inn Mendocino
Glendeven Inn Mendocino
#1 of 7 in Little River
645 reviews
4.6 mi away
Brewery Gulch Inn
Brewery Gulch Inn
#1 of 25 in Mendocino
1,134 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Albion River Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Albion River Inn

Property: Albion River Inn
Address: 3790 N Highway 1, Albion, CA 95410
Region: United States > California > Mendocino County > Albion
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Albion
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3 star — Albion River Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Albion River Inn's spectacular ocean front lodging and dining create the ambiance for a romantic and relaxing vacation on the Mendocino Coast. Our well appointed guest rooms and cottages feature dramatic ocean views with many amenities for your comfort. Located on the ocean, minutes from the historic village of Mendocino, Anderson Valley Wine Country, golf, tennis, State Parks, and beaches. The acclaimed restaurant and bar are open nightly for dinner. The restaurant lawn terrace is the picture perfect setting for weddings and receptions, while Cooking Classes and Culinary Events make us your ideal destination getaway. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your Albion River Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Albion River Hotel Albion

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing