We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sanctuary and Solitude”
Review of Albion River Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Albion River Inn
Ranked #1 of 3 Albion B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 24 January 2011

Wonderful get away . . . just check in and never leave! Beautiful grounds and scenery of the Pacific Coast, great food in the restaurant, and you can be as sociable as you like or a hermit. Our favorite place to "recharge the batteries". PnP On The Road

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank pnpontheroad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (330)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

259 - 265 of 330 reviews

Reviewed 7 December 2010

The cottages are available in different sizes and all align the sharp edges of an awe-inspiring bluff. Each cottage has it's own back deck with Adirondack chairs to take advantage of the ocean views.

There's a restaurant on the premises that serves gourmet dinners and high-end breakfasts. If informed in advance of special dates--birthday, anniversary--they will recognize the event with a specially decorated table. In your cabin will be a complementary bottle of wine from a (local) Anderson Valley vineyard.

As for amenities, the only thing offered is wireless Internet service. Be aware there are no televisions in any of the cabins and cell service is pretty much non-existent because the area is so remote. Reasons for this are to encourage being one with the natural beauty of the giant redwoods and the Pacific Ocean. But with the roar of the ocean at your doorstep comes complementary earplugs for those persons sensitive to the that noise made and the buoy that rings during the fog-laden nights and mornings. The cabins themselves are neat, clean and supplied with basic travel needs. They also come with their own cord of wood for the wood-burning fireplace.

This is a perfect place for couples looking for a thoroughly romantic getaway.

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Marinite38
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 October 2010

My husband and I were on our 25th wedding anniversary journey traveling across the state of California for a couple of weeks. We stayed at many very wonderful hotels during our journey but the Albion really stood out amongst them. The accomodations are outstanding, the restaurant exquisite and the staff is extremely welcoming and warm.

Stayed: June 2010, travelled as a couple
Thank Cskatchk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2010

My husband and I celebrated our anniversary this year at the Albion River Inn . In the past it has been everything you want to find at a Boutique hotel, amazing site, comfortable beds and great linens. The adjoining restaurant is a locals favorite for special dinners. Sadly this visit was a big letdown! Terrible foam pillows, furnishings looking worn and they must have fired the gardener. The deck hadn't been swept in a month and the wood looks like tinder for a large bonfire . Apparently in a cost cutting attempt the pianist is only in the restaurant on weekends. A very sad stay!

  • Stayed: September 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Terry V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 October 2010

Driving to the Coast toward Albion you travek through a beautiful Redwood Forest and you think it does not get any better than this, then you arrive at Albion River Inn.
This is a wonderful little Inn with individual Cabins arranged along the cliffs just above the ocean. Every room has it's own character which are lovely but the panoramic views of the ocean make it a true paradise.
Service is handled well, rooms are available for every budget and a full breakfast is included each morning. The attached Restaurant is a gourmet delight be it breakfast or dinner and lately they started a Happy Hour with complimentary appetizers, you can also get a Soup and Salad dinner at the bar if you want a simple meal.
All in all our trip this year was amazing and we will go back next year. If you are looking for a little romantic place where you can sit on your own patio and enjoy the view this is the place to be.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Msbgd1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 October 2010

Great place for my husband and I to celebrate our anniversary. We were upgraded from a room to a cottage. At dinner, we were provided with a window table and fun little congratulations ribbons plus two glasses of champagne. The cottage was well appointed, with detail throughout. Dinner was scrumptious and the live piano music set the mood. The location was perfect for getting away from business as there was no cell signal, no wi-fi, and no TV. Just the beautiful view of the rocky cliffs and ocean from our deck. However if the idea of being without technology is frightening, a five minute drive puts you in Mendocino and back into reality.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JanineBlackForest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 September 2010

I've been staying here for years. Great location on a cliff overlooking the Pacific Ocean. Cottages and rooms are well kept, comfortable, and take advantage of the view. Staff is friendly. A tremendous breakfast at the restaurant on the property is included in the price. Easy to make friends with other guests. No TV's, no cell phone service, but now ARI has added high speed Internet at no cost. Mendocino is six miles up the road.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank consumerchamp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Albion
16.2 mi away
Ocean View Lodge
Ocean View Lodge
#5 of 23 in Fort Bragg
459 reviews
13.9 mi away
North Cliff Hotel
North Cliff Hotel
#4 of 23 in Fort Bragg
640 reviews
13 mi away
Shoreline Cottages
Shoreline Cottages
#1 of 23 in Fort Bragg
502 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.4 mi away
MacCallum House Inn
MacCallum House Inn
#1 of 2 in Mendocino
641 reviews
15.7 mi away
Beach House Inn
Beach House Inn
#11 of 23 in Fort Bragg
227 reviews
0.9 mi away
Heritage House Resort
Heritage House Resort
#2 of 2 in Little River
687 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Albion River Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Albion River Inn

Address: 3790 N Highway 1, Albion, CA 95410
Region: United States > California > Mendocino County > Albion
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Albion
Price Range: £181 - £181 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Albion River Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Albion River Inn's spectacular ocean front lodging and dining create the ambiance for a romantic and relaxing vacation on the Mendocino Coast. Our well appointed guest rooms and cottages feature dramatic ocean views with many amenities for your comfort. Located on the ocean, minutes from the historic village of Mendocino, Anderson Valley Wine Country, golf, tennis, State Parks, and beaches. The acclaimed restaurant and bar are open nightly for dinner. The restaurant lawn terrace is the picture perfect setting for weddings and receptions, while Cooking Classes and Culinary Events make us your ideal destination getaway. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia and Ebookers so you can book your Albion River Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Albion River Hotel Albion

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing