We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Kind of disappointing”
Review of Albion River Inn

Albion River Inn
Reserve with OpenTable
Albion River Inn is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #1 of 3 Restaurants in Albion
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$25 - US$40
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: View, Romantic, Special Occasion Dining
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Reservations
Kansas City, MO
Level Contributor
120 reviews
71 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Kind of disappointing”
Reviewed 11 November 2012

We ate here for our wedding anniversary dinner, they asked us when we made the reservation if it's a special occasion. Not a single ounce of recognition for the special event. First off, they seat us at a side window seat, not a prime window seat, right next to a large party. We asked to move to a more quiet spot. I guess we shouldn't have assumed they'd comp dessert, although yes I SHOULD assume it based on past experience here. Last year they not only comp'd dessert, but they wrote happy anniversary on the plate. The food was okay. Service was pretty good. Really we have a better time at the bar at Little River Inn. It was just an average basic pricey dinner, nothing special. I doubt I'll go back. We've been coming here for years. Not anymore.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Michael P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

356 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    230
    67
    42
    12
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Knoxville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
191 reviews
113 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Fantastic”
Reviewed 5 November 2012

We stayed 3 nights at the Albion River Inn and ate in the restaurant every night. The food was fantastic and it was so easy to just walk down for dinner. The service is great ,since we were staying at the inn we had great breakfast every morning too.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank Charlotte T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
California
Level Contributor
28 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“A TREASURE”
Reviewed 1 November 2012

A lovely view and delicious food! Go early enough to watch the sunset and catch Happy Hour. The ambiance is friendly and a bit formal (tablecloths, etc)...wonderful for special events, but celebrating Thursday is good too. This restaurant is just 10 minutes from Mendocino and well worth the drive. They also have rooms which are pricey but gorgeous with fireplaces and million dollar views.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ckgris44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chico, California
Level Contributor
22 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Top Notch”
Reviewed 26 October 2012

I can only add to the glowing reviews of the ARI. The food here is always fantastic, fresh and perfect. We had the most amazing Washington state oysters on this trip. They simply were the best fresh oysters I have ever eaten. This establishment is big city quality with amazing views. When on the Mendocino coast do not miss this-ever. Pricey yes...worth the splurge YES!

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Gary P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
7 reviews
“Good food, good location”
Reviewed 19 October 2012

We visited the Albion River Inn Restaurant based on the recommendation of the host at our B&B. The food was quite good (especially the lemon-ginger prawns) and the location provides an excellent sunset view on a clear evening. Entrees are a little on the pricey side ($20-$30) but the quality of the food is nice. The wine list is extensive and we got a nice recommendation from our server.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Pam M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Albion River Inn also viewed

Little River, Mendocino County
Little River, Mendocino County
 
Mendocino, Mendocino County
Mendocino, Mendocino County
 
Little River, Mendocino County
 

Been to Albion River Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing