We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Delicious!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Albion River Inn

Albion River Inn
Ranked #1 of 3 Restaurants in Albion
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$25 - US$40
Cuisines: Bar, American, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: View, Romantic, Groups, Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Forestville, California
Level Contributor
118 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Delicious!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 February 2014 via mobile

Went here for a special occasion, but it seems every day is special at this gem of a restaurant. It's not cheap, but you can pay a lot more elsewhere on the Mendocino coast. The setting is refined and elegant, the service is superb, and the food is even better. We both had the Caesar salad (excellent house made dressing and croutons) and the roast duck special, which was mouth watering delicious, as were the accompanying maple mash potatoes (way better than they might sound) and broccolini. We didn't especially care for the $20 corkage fee, but paid it anyway to drink a special bottle we brought from home. Even the desserts, which we seldom buy, were delicious (the house made sorbets, and the chocolate mousse).

Highly recommended whenever you're even remotely close by and want an excellent dining experience!

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank Bob H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

339 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    218
    65
    41
    11
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
MIDLAND
Level Contributor
116 reviews
64 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“A 28 YEAR EXPERINCE”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 January 2014

My wife and I have has a 28 year experience at Albion River Inn. We first came upon this place before it looks like today. After our first meal, we knew we be coming back. That first found us playing pool in a back room while the owner got a fire going to warm up the place. Over the years, our friendship with the owner has been one of great pleasure. He is a world traveler and brings that experience to the restaurant and Inn. Also through the years we have seen the Inn develop into what you see today: a very well run establishment with the goal of making the guests
enjoy their visit and experience the magnificent view of the ocean and headlands from their rooms. you are up close to the sea. Just visit the Albion River Inn and find out what I am talking about. The owner is hand-on and on-site. The rooms consist of many individual dwellings, some larger than others. All have fireplaces and a very modem and a autoclave clean bath. The beds and bedding will insure a good night's sleep.

What may not be apparent is the continuous attentions to the landscaping and infrastructure of the Inn itself. This can be a very romantic get-away if you want it to be.

The restaurant is another focal point of the Inn. The chief is a "James Beard" award chief and food reflects this effort. As many times as we have stayed here, it wasn't until this trip I knew about the extensive Scotch collections at the bar, I am not a Scotch drinker. I think there are over 100 ? examples of Scotch.

You will enjoy your stay at the Albion River Inn.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank ALLISONMidland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Windsor, California
Level Contributor
218 reviews
152 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“It was our first visit, but not our last....”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 January 2014

We enjoyed New Years Day by dining at Albion River Inn Restaurant. What a great way to start a new year! Staff was welcoming and the views great. The only downside is if, like us, you are driving a distance. On those coastal roads, you don't want to have more than a glass of wine and drive. The selection of entrees was good, without being overwhelming ,and the price reasonable.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank katyscat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bastrop, Louisiana
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Wonderful experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 January 2014

This was sort of a last minute choice for an evening out on our last trip to the Mendocino Coast. We were charmed by the gardens and views. The food was delicious and the service was excellent.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Arborlady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Linden
Level Contributor
57 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Our New Year's Eve Tradition”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 January 2014

Every December 31 you'll find us at Albion River Inn Restaurant, enjoying a memorable meal with excellent wine and a dram of malt whisky to follow. This year was no exception. Beginning with a glass of Scharffenberger sparkling wine, we enjoyed a fall salad and crab dumplings and entrees of sea bass and sole topped with crab. The wine was a delicious mersault from Yves Boyer-Martenot. A dram of 18 year-old Springbank accompanied the sorbet for dessert. As always the service was impeccable, and the ambiance festive.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Ficimia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Albion River Inn also viewed

Little River, Mendocino County
 
Mendocino, Mendocino County
Little River, Mendocino County
 
Albion, Mendocino County
Mendocino, Mendocino County
 

Been to Albion River Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing