We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Restaurant In Mendocino”
Review of Albion River Inn

Albion River Inn
Reserve with OpenTable
Albion River Inn is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #1 of 3 Restaurants in Albion
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$25 - US$40
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, View, Special Occasion Dining
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Reservations
Campbell, California
2 reviews
“Best Restaurant In Mendocino”
Reviewed 19 March 2014

Restaurants that have a great management team usually have great food. We had couple of dinners there recently and had a chance to meet and have drink with both very friendly owners who were very interested in what we had to say and they shared the history of Albion Inn with us as Laura, their beautiful bartender kept our glasses full. Great food with a million dollar view of the Pacific Ocean. Looking forward to our next visit.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Roje75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

356 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    230
    67
    42
    12
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
36 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Breakfast in Paradise”
Reviewed 18 March 2014 via mobile

Can't get enough of this place! Fantastic breakfast, great service and fabulous view of the Mendocino landscape. If you are gluten-free like me, ask for warmed corn tortillas instead of toast. Not on the menu, but available.

Helpful?
Thank KarenBluestone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yuba City, California
Level Contributor
63 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Romantic location, but food & service r mediocre at best.”
Reviewed 10 March 2014 via mobile

We came for our 10th year anniversary. We were made aware that there is no guaranteed table at the window for the sunset. We made the reservation for 6:10 pm, thinking that would be early enough so we can get a good table. We did not even get close to the window when she took us to our table. When we ask if we can get a closer table, she said it would be another 45 minutes. With this type of restaurant, she should have made us aware that she could not accommodate our seating request and give us an option before seating us. Our waitress did not even introduce herself. She just told us what their specials for the night, took our drink order, and walked away. The steamed shellfish is well flavored and my husband enjoyed the oyster. The filet mignon was cooked just right, but a little bit salty.. even for us who like salty food. The mashed potatoes were wonderful. The prawns were flavorful, but over-cooked. I did not taste any ginger. I asked to substitute the rice for vegetables. And the vegetables were overcooked. I expected more from this caliber of restaurant. Just like some other reviewers, i had to pour my own Sole water. The chocolate mousse was delicious and i am not even a chocolate lover. We came from southern california. This type of restaurant would not make it there if they continue to service in this manner. The romantic location can only get you so far. This is our first time here so we do not know what it was like in the past to compare. But as of March, 2014 it is just mediocre at best.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Loan T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
25 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Good Food 7 Poorly executed service”
Reviewed 8 March 2014

We went there with such high expectations but the overall experience was just ok! The staff just did not have it together that evening! The food was good but not great but the experienced could have been so much better would the staff been more attentive. Too many times our water glasses were empty and were never refilled and we refilled our own wine glasses. Even the order was not correct ...

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Tessitori
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alexandria, Virginia, United States
Level Contributor
50 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Great Sunset Spot”
Reviewed 26 February 2014 via mobile

The view is great. The service is very good. The food is solid but not up to par with top places inland. The wine list is very good as long as you want American wine. The wine prices are the best I have seen in a restaurant of this caliber. Wine plus view is worth visiting repeatedly. Though short on international wine they have a killer scotch selection and flights. Decor is dated and dull but again that is not why you should go...

Helpful?
Thank WineShepherd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Albion River Inn also viewed

Little River, Mendocino County
Little River, Mendocino County
 
Mendocino, Mendocino County
Mendocino, Mendocino County
 
Little River, Mendocino County
 

Been to Albion River Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing