We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Historic,Timeless B&B”
Review of Fensalden Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Fensalden Inn
Ranked #2 of 3 Albion B&B and Inns
Reviewed 23 February 2013

We stayed in the Navarro room.Loved the private balcony so we could step out and hear the birds and tree frogs.Wonderful having the woodland creatures all around us.Watched the deer feed while I was having a gourmet breakfast served on fine china,and a silver service Coffee set.Chris and Molly were wonderful and made us feel like family.The inn is an old stagecoach stop and Chris will tell you about the interesting history of this property.There is an ocean view from the property and far enough away from route 1 so there is no traffic noise.All of the rooms have fireplaces.The whole place is immaculate and lovingly maintained by Chris and his family.Brilliant!!! Cant wait to return.

Room Tip: All of the rooms are beautiful
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Geralyn31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (94)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

29 - 35 of 94 reviews

Reviewed 22 January 2013

We stayed in the Tower Room, which is separate from the main house and rooms. It was nice because it was very quiet, although it's right outside where the goats and ducks sleep, and the ducks get up early! It was great to have a small kitchen in the room. Chris and his wife were very friendly and by the second day, our dog was playing with theirs. The property is lovely and rambling, with trails you can hike on and take in the view. It was really relaxing because even though Mendocino is only a short drive away, you feel like you are really all by yourselves. The breakfasts were decadent and we enjoyed meeting the other guests during this time and comparing notes about what we'd done during the previous. It's a great place to bring your dog. We'd definitely go back!

Room Tip: The Tower Room is separate so it's very private, but don't plan to sleep in since it's r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JeanTucker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 November 2012

Fensalden Inn is a magical and welcoming bed and breakfast. Chris treated us like family and we felt quite at home. They were available to our needs, but not intrusive. Our room was lovely. We chose the Headlands on the ground floor. It had a private sitting porch, with views of the property and Pacific Ocean. Bedding I could sink into after a long day of touring. The heater was warm and efficient when we used it in the mornings. The bathroom felt homey too. Nice that each room has a private bath. Priceless. The view was breathtaking and the grounds tranquil. The game and puzzle room had lots to choose from and took advantage of the ocean view. Afternoon socializing with other guests and the hosts was complimented with wine and appetizers. Hummingbird visits abound! Breakfast was served at our convienience. My favorites included the salsa egg souffle and fresh berries with rich, vanilla ice cream. Yes! Ice cream for breakfast. It was decadent and delightful!! We stayed for four nights and I was homesick when it was time to leave. Fensalden was the most amazing part of our vacation. I would go back in a heartbeat, and plan to as soon as we can fit it in! (visited March 2011)

Room Tip: All the rooms are lovely. Read the descriptions and view the photos on their website to pick the on...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Lorna H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 November 2012

We learned quite a lot of history while staying at this historic inn overlooking the Pacifice. The inn itself dates back to the stagecoach days (but has all the modern conveniences) and the owner is a decendent of Nathaniel Harthorne. The rooms, expecially the Harthorne Suite, are very nice. The morning breakfast is an epicurian feast. Wonderful inn, wonderful owners.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rlwlawrisk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 October 2012

Spent 4 days at this wonderfully rustic, quiet, and glorious place, staying in the Tower cabin, complete with full kitchen, two stories, fireplace with tons of wood for burning, and the best hosts ever! If you are expecting frills and cutesy, don't go here. But if you want peace and quiet, tons of stars at night, a view of meadows and the ocean, deer, and fabulous breakfasts, this is your place! Thank you Molli and Chris! Can't wait to return.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gail C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 September 2012

Great place to stay. Breakfast is well made, gourmet, with lots of little ammenities to keep you satisfied. Went here for a honeymoon and had great service from the family who runs the inn.

Great view and recommended for those who just want to get away.

Room Tip: The tower is awesome but the bed is a little lacking in support.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jeff O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2012

We had an unforgettable stay at Fensalden Inn earlier this year. I had read reviews of how relaxing and peaceful it was, but was unprepared for just how enjoyable it was--inside and out. The extensive grounds are very well-kept, and from the hospitality of the owners, to the happy sights of deer, hummingbirds, ducks, the pet goat, and the beautiful Pacific, one is enveloped by a feeling of peace and relaxation.

We stayed in the Hawthorne Suite, which had beautiful views of the front yard to the east, and the ocean and back yard to the west. As we are landlocked most of the year, it was wonderful to walk the grounds and hear the constant sound of the ocean! We were treated to complimentary wine in our room, and there were snacks and port in the main dining room. I didn't catch all the history of the place, but believe that it used to be a stagecoach stop. The wood floors downstairs had been recently refurbished to bring out their original beauty.

The family who owns the inn are descendants of Nathaniel Hawthorne, and have furnished Fensalden Inn with many of his original possessions. As a history buff, I found this fascinating.

Breakfasts at the inn are fit for a king--beautifully presented on china, and very tasty. We felt so pampered.

One thing about the location: Fensalden Inn is located about 7 miles south of Mendocino, and it is about a 10-12 minute drive to get there. If you like being located right by shops, this may not be the place for you, but we preferred the quiet of the location. While there, we were able--in one morning no less--to drive south 5 minutes to Navarro Beach, then down the road to a Redwood grove, and to a nearby vineyard. On other days we visited Mendocino and other places.

In short, I would recommend, and love to come back to, California's northern coast, and this bed and breakfast in particular!

Room Tip: We stayed in the Hawthorne Suite, which has views of both the front grounds, and the ocean in back...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank aspire2B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Albion
7.2 mi away
Mendocino Hotel and Garden Suites
14.8 mi away
Shoreline Cottages
Shoreline Cottages
#2 of 23 in Fort Bragg
495 reviews
4.8 mi away
Little River Inn
Little River Inn
#1 of 2 in Little River
732 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Heritage House Resort
Heritage House Resort
#2 of 2 in Little River
665 reviews
6.0 mi away
The Elk Cove Inn & Spa
4.2 mi away
Inn at Schoolhouse Creek
Inn at Schoolhouse Creek
#3 of 8 in Little River
297 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fensalden Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fensalden Inn

Address: 33810 Navarro Ridge Rd, PO Box 99, Albion, CA 95410-9732
Region: United States > California > Mendocino County > Albion
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Albion
Price Range: £122 - £213 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Fensalden Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sitting on the back edge of 20 acres of gently rolling meadows at 400 ft elevation, just 7 miles south of charming Mendocino Village, Fensalden Inn was originally a Wells Fargo Stagecoach stop in the mid-1800's. Completely renovated, the Inn continues to offer a quiet respite from the hectic pace of today's world. Revel in our complete three-course gourmet breakfast each morning (with champagne and mimosas on Sundays), and gaze upon the ever-changing Pacific in the evenings as you marvel at our bird sanctuary while relaxing with a sip of port wine, complimented by a chocolate jerk ball, in the original Tavern Room.All accommodations offer a queen bed (Ridge Room offers king), gas or wood burning fireplace, small refrigerator with complimentary bottle of wine upon arrival, and private bath with shower. Tower Suite and Bungalow house a full kitchen will necessary utensils and amenities; both also have tub (Bungalow has tub with jacuzzi jets). Four rooms have private entrances, 6 with private deck, porch or balcony; majority offer ocean view. Fensalden Inn is the perfect place for a quiet getaway to our beautiful stretch of the amazing Northern California Coast. Call us today to plan your next romantic retreat, family reunion or special event. Come and experience the magic of Fensalden Inn...the Land of the Mist and the Sea! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your Fensalden Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing