We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pan Fried Shanghai Bao”

Kang Kang Food Court
Ranked #129 of 224 Restaurants in Alhambra
Price range: US$5 - US$10
Restaurant details
Level Contributor
71 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Pan Fried Shanghai Bao”
Reviewed 10 March 2014 via mobile

Came especially for this and was NOT disappointed! Super yummy but caution as the soup inside is really hot. Food court / fast food style restaurant. Didn't try anything else but they have a large selection. Prices were a good deal! Ended up buying three more orders for home!

Helpful?
1 Thank Ahyiweewee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

10 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    3
    3
    2
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles
Level Contributor
150 reviews
97 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Fast & Cheap Eats”
Reviewed 4 October 2013

So this place is my husband's go to place when I ask him what he wants for dinner. It's cheap, it's fast, and for the most part it's pretty tasty. However, this location is not consistent when it comes their dishes (in comparison to the Temple City location which is definitely better).

I like their 3 items with rice and soup. Large quantity of food, enough to be shared between two people. The soup is usually, how would I describe it... wok cleaning water soup? Haha. It doesn't taste bad but it's definitely not hearty.

We also get the Shanghai Pan Fried Buns. If you never had it before, definitely order it next time you're in here. They are delicious soupy filled meaty buns!

As for dining in, don't expect it to be fancy. It's mostly semi clean / sticky tables.

Cash Only

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank cuetxpie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles
Level Contributor
27 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Contaminated food”
Reviewed 22 May 2013

The prices are low, yet the quality is even lower. We have each ordered two items. We noticed that the server took the not-appealing part from the food container, which had an older and stale looking. Ok, we gave a try. The result was that all people in our group had severe diarrhea in the next day. The doctors diagonsed that we got campylobacter bacteria from contaminated food. So that says everything.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Tahiti86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
37 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“The best Bao and flat noodle soup in the world!”
Reviewed 17 September 2012

This fast food food court kind of restaurant in alhambra has the yummiest Bao and flat noodle soup from north china area that I ever had tasted!Just don't miss this place if you love Chinese low price food,you can take out te soup when you have cold,it just can't get better than this!the bao there is so yummy,as son as you bite,the yummy hot juice gets out,i miss this place in Alhambra!Don't miss this place if you visit or live in that area!it's worth it!

Visited October 2011
Helpful?
Thank KhatM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ojai, California
Level Contributor
34 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Come here for Shanghai style bao”
Reviewed 23 July 2012

Even though several restaurants in the San Gabriel / Alhambra / Arcadia area are doing a fine job with their takes on that Shanghai staple known as "xiao long bao", its still quite hard to find their pan-fried counterparts. Here at Kung Kung Food Court diners can have it their way....I prefer getting a small order of both ($7.13 for the pan fried and $6.39 for the steamed), an 18 bao parade of flavors that invariably sends me home with enough bao for a next-day interlude.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank John V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Kang Kang Food Court also viewed

 

Been to Kang Kang Food Court? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing