We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Comfortable and up-to-date with only minor flaws” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Renaissance ClubSport Aliso Viejo Laguna Beach Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Renaissance ClubSport Aliso Viejo Laguna Beach Hotel
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Aliso Viejo
Seattle, WA
1 review
“Comfortable and up-to-date with only minor flaws”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 March 2011

I stayed at this hotel for two nights for a business workshop. It's one of the few times I haven't selected my own hotel when traveling, but it didn't disappoint. It looks fairly new all over (outside, lobby, restaurant, rooms), and the high point was the bed, which was very soft with lots of excellent pillows. I slept great. High marks for cleanliness except for a couple of stray hairs in the bathroom.

Honestly it's a bit strange that the hotel is fitness-themed -- there are even small barbells in the bathroom -- but it wasn't overwhelming. I didn't visit their large fitness center but could see it, as well as two pools and a hot tub, from my window.

My main complaint, and the reason I rated service four stars instead of five, is that I filled out the breakfast pre-order slip and hung it on my doorknob as instructed hours before the deadline the previous night, but no one picked it up, so I was expecting a breakfast that never arrived. They apologized when I asked about it at the front desk and offered to call and make sure it didn't happen the following night.

I was also disappointed that there was no bathtub, and they'd put me in a handicapped-accessible room with a very dark shower and bench I had to squeeze around to wash my hair. For my second night I requested a room with a tub and they switched me, no problem. I'm not sure where the oversized soaking tubs they advertise on their website are, though, because the one in my room was standard. Maybe they're in the suites.

One other small beef is that the bathroom lights turn off automatically after about half an hour, which is fine most of the time but not so great when you're taking a bath and are all of a sudden plunged into darkness.

The free WiFi is convenient, if occasionally slow. All the staff members I encountered were friendly and helpful, sometimes to the point of being perky. The food in the restaurant was very good. They valet park fancy cars right in front of the hotel, probably in an effort to make it seem swank. It kind of works - we admired them. Our group took a 10-minute walk down the street to a shopping area to get dinner our second night there, and the area felt safe and was very clean and well-maintained.

I'm not sure I would have selected this hotel myself, but it was more than satisfactory and I wouldn't mind staying again.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank roundcat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

304 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    136
    109
    29
    18
    12
See reviews for
86
69
16
102
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (61)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Bordentown, New Jersey
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 March 2011

I stayed here for the weekend with my husband. Room was beautiful and food was great. Also the healthclub was amazing. Staff was amazing espially Chris at the front desk and Sara in the resturant. They both went above and beyond for us and made us feel like we were staying at Four Seasons. They are the definition of Customer Service. The pool outside was also perfect and great for laps.

Stayed February 2011, travelled on business
Helpful?
2 Thank Jelizer126
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canada
Level Contributor
24 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 February 2011

I travel to Aliso Viejo frequently for business and always stay at the Renaissance ClubSport. Conventiently located near my office, this hotel is a joy to visit. The rooms are large, beds are comfy, the bathrooms are huge. The fitness center is amazing and the outside bar/lounge has a cool, relaxing vibe. The menu in the restaurant offers healthy choices and there is Starbucks cafe with nice bagels, fruit and yogurts for breakfast. Wireless Internet is free.

The only minor disappointment is that there is no tub in the bathroom, and it would be great if the showers were a bit harder. Other than that, no compliants.

I don't know if I would stay here if I was on vacation, or visiting Orange County since it's a bit out of the way, but for business it's an excellent choice.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HernameisRio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Livingston, New Jersey
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 November 2010

My family was in the area for a wedding in Aliso Viejo. We had a number of rooms in the hotel and the staff couldn't have been nicer. Initially we were spread out over the hotel, but after speaking with the desk, the rooms were changed so that everyone was on the same floor. In addition, they waived the $10 parking fee (not sure why they have it.....i agree with earlier posters that this fee is annoying and should be eliminated). The facilities were fantastic. The gym was in the same building and it was great to just take the elevator down to the lobby and walk over to the gym. The gym was a full service operation; classes, basketball and racquetball courts and almost every machine that you could think of to use. I went to the gym three times over the weekend and had no trouble with access to machines or the free weights. Also at least some of the treadmills are set up so that you are looking out towards the mountains, which was great. There were green apples throughout the hotel and water with either cut up lemons or oranges. I did not have the experience that some people had with screaming children running around the hotel. There did seem to be alot of locals at the gym, but that is a plus rather than a negative. Otherwise the gym would probably resemble a ghost town.

The room was nicely set up and the bathroom was spacious. I thought it interesting that the shower only had a half door. The view from the room was also nice and i had the opportunity to see the sun rise over the mountains.

Overall i would strongly recommend this hotel to anyone looking to stay in the Laguna Beach area. It is obviously not on the beach, but was only about 10 minutes away barring unforseen traffic. I also agree with earlier posters about trying to avoid the Route 73 toll....you are on that road for 5 miles. I came down from LAX and took the Pacific Coast Highway, but going back took the Route 73 route for speed.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jrsy25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sacramento, California
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 October 2010

We booked two nights, but ended up staying three, it was that good. This hotel has everything you could want: INCREDIBLE fitness facility, appreciated even by the hopelessly unfit, like me. Lots of free classes, large indoor basketball courts, free weights and machines, beautiful outdoor pools, hot tub, patio area with fire pit. The locker room is sparkling clean and I had the spotless sauna to myself. There is also an indoor whirlpool and hot tub. Down the hill about half a mile is the Aliso Viejo town center mall - theatres, tons of restaurants and shops and a Ralphs. You can request a refrigerator for the room (no charge). The only downside: a $10 self-park fee or $20 for valet, but the valets provided spectacular service: Thanks for getting my glasses, Eric! There was absolutely NO traffic or room noise. Great rooms, average size but cool, modern decor with a "fitness" theme. Very comfortable bed. Loved the bowls of apples set around, including one in my room. This is NOT at the beach, but the view of city lights is still lovely. It is in a business park near Town Center in Aliso Viejo, there are restaurants, theaters, grocery stores, banks all within 2 minutes drive. The beach is only an 8 minute drive. Have an in-house Starbucks, Citrus Grill was nice, had an outdoor dining area overlooking the pool, lively happy hour activity. Ladies, the bar here is where the business men are at 6 pm. Looks like both locals and hotel guests use this watering hole. Warning, if coming from SNA airport is to check directions to avoid the 73 "partial toll road" You are on it for about 4 miles and have to pay $4.75.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SacBurbank
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
116 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 August 2010

I don't mean the typical fitness center consisting of two or three treadmills and towels. This is a complete, full-service gym, like Gold's or 24-hour. I worked out there several times and enjoyed it very much. The outside pools are nice. The fire pit is a nice touch. The hotel was very clean, and the service was good. I didn't eat in the restaurant, so I can't report on that.

I got the opportunity to visit Knott's Berry Farm on the last day. Xcelerator is a great rollercoaster.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SolowTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 July 2010

Slowest internet connection I've ever experienced at a hotel. Ten times slower than dial-up (3 kB/s). Front desk confirms this is the case every night; there's one internet line shared by everyone in the hotel.

Rooms are clean modern. Fancy connection dock for the TV (VGA, HDMI). Beds are comfortable. Bathroom is very spacious and modern, with free standing shelves but no cabinets or drawers. Water pressure is excellent.

Digital temperature controls, cordless phone, flat screen TV, iPod dock on alarm clock.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank quasimodal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Aliso Viejo
0.1 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Aliso Viejo Laguna Beach
4.4 mi away
Capri Laguna On The Beach
Capri Laguna On The Beach
#8 of 22 in Laguna Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 333 reviews
4.2 mi away
Pacific Edge on Laguna Beach, a Joie de Vivre Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.3 mi away
The Inn At Laguna Beach
The Inn At Laguna Beach
#5 of 22 in Laguna Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 698 reviews
1.9 mi away
Ayres Hotel Laguna Woods
Ayres Hotel Laguna Woods
#1 of 1 in Laguna Woods
4.5 of 5 bubbles 624 reviews
4.4 mi away
Laguna Beach House
Laguna Beach House
#3 of 22 in Laguna Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 278 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Renaissance ClubSport Aliso Viejo Laguna Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Renaissance ClubSport Aliso Viejo Laguna Beach Hotel

Property: Renaissance ClubSport Aliso Viejo Laguna Beach Hotel
Address: 50 Enterprise, Aliso Viejo, CA 92656-6026 (Formerly Renaissance ClubSport Aliso Viejo Hotel)
Region: United States > California > Orange County > Aliso Viejo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Aliso Viejo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Renaissance ClubSport Aliso Viejo Laguna Beach Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 174
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Transform your upcoming vacation or business trip into an inspiring journey when you stay at the Renaissance ClubSport Aliso Viejo Laguna Beach Hotel. Our resort-style hotel offers spacious guest rooms featuring contemporary furnishings, plush bedding, modern technologies and complimentary Wi-Fi. Let the stress melt away at R Spa, our full-service day spa, or enjoy a rewarding workout session with available personal training and nutrition counseling at ClubSport, our state-of-the-art fitness center. Our Renaissance is home to Citrus Fresh Grill, offering flavorful New American dishes including a menu of healthy options under 485 calories. With 5,500 square feet of event space, our Aliso Viejo hotel is ideal for memorable weddings and corporate meetings. Guests at our hotel will enjoy easy access to Disneyland(R), Laguna Beach and a wide variety of upscale shopping and dining. Enjoy unexpected luxury and thoughtful amenities at every turn when you stay at the Renaissance ClubSport Aliso Viejo Laguna Beach Hotel ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Marriott, Expedia, Agoda, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Renaissance ClubSport Aliso Viejo Laguna Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Renaissance Clubsport Aliso Viejo Hotel Aliso Viejo
Renaissance Aliso Viejo
Aliso Viejo Renaissance
Renaissance ClubSport Aliso Viejo Laguna Beach Hotel California

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing