We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Property w/Many Amenities & Great Food”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Renaissance ClubSport Aliso Viejo Laguna Beach Hotel
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Aliso Viejo
Certificate of Excellence
Newport Beach, California
Level 5 Contributor
89 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 130 helpful votes
“Great Property w/Many Amenities & Great Food”
Reviewed 18 July 2013

We had a little 1-night staycation here to decompress before getting back to the grind. The service and staff were great and the property has much to offer. Its got a newer more modern feel to it.

Our room overlooked the pool area and didn't feel cramped at all. There was even a chaise lounge chair next to the window. There was also a desk area, keurig coffee maker, flat screen tv, closet, safe and bathrobes. The bathroom was really nice with a glass door and rain shower. There were actually decent working blow dryers too. There were Aveda products in there as well. As far as our king size bed goes, I'm not sure if its a chain wide Marriott thing or not but the bed was on the firmer side, which for some might be fine but for me was a little difficult to get completely comfortable in. I would still stay here again anytime.

The sports club can easily be compared to an Equinox, Sports Club LA, or 24hr Fitness Ultra Sport-type gym.

There is a great outdoor lounge area with couches fire pits. We sat out here to eat dinner and ordered a bunch of stuff off the share plates menu so we could try a little bit of everything. The food was fantastic! Everything we ate was great! They also offered a healthy choice menu and a great micro brew selection. There is a bar inside and deli. The morning breakfast buffet offered everything from eggs, bacon and waffles to omelettes and hot & cold cereal and fruit. We would definitely come to this property just to eat and hang out.

The hotel sits right off the 73 TOLL road which made it very quick and easy for me to get back to work in Newport the next morning but if you're not one with a toll road transponder, be prepared to pay the tolls in cash. There was self parking ($10) as well as valet parking but it didn't look like anyone was really monitoring the self parking in the structure.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JJandAdice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

318 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    141
    112
    34
    19
    12
See reviews for
92
70
18
105
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (64)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Bloomington, Minnesota
Level 4 Contributor
49 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 July 2013

We stayed here for one night over the busy fourth of July weekend. The room was bright and sunny, with a great large shower. Although the hotel was fully booked, it did not seem crowded. We only used the pool during our stay - it was fine, but not a "resort" feeling pool area. The fitness club appeared to be top notch and was very busy with local residents and families. We enjoyed the complimentary gold elite breakfast, which was very, very good. It's a nice option in the area, fairly easy to get around. Watch out for the toll road though, it gets pricey and have cash to pay.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank farawayMN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2013

Would highly recommend this hotel. Staff is very professional. Comfortable beds and very clean facility. Breakfast buffet and a la carte menu are also really good (for the calorie-minded the 'a la carte' menu includes a great variety of low cal meals). Favorites: Flat breads (delicious) and soups.

Something that can be improved are the hair dryers in the guest rooms (little or no power).

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank guillerkirita
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RenaissanceClubSport, Manager at Renaissance ClubSport Aliso Viejo Laguna Beach Hotel, responded to this review, 10 July 2013
Dear guillerkirita,

Thank you for staying with us at the Renaissance ClubSport. We really appreciate your comments and feedback. As you stated, our innovative Food and Beverage offerings in our Citrus Fresh Grill support a healthy lifestyle - for both hotel guests and our club members. We are delighted to go beyond a basic full-service hotel experience for our guests, but also be your partner in wellness!

As well, we appreciate the feedback on the hair dryers and we'll see if perhaps we can offer a more powerful one for you on your next stay with us. We hope to see you soon.

Sincerely,

Michael Robby
Senior Hotel Sales Manager
michael.robby@clubsports.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 July 2013

I booked this stay for the 4th of July weekend with my son after staying at the one in walnut creek. The renaissance sport in walnut creek was wonderful. This one fell short of that mark. Everything seemed a little worn down. Spots on the carpet, the furniture in the room was older and worn and overall just not as sparkling as the one in walnut creek. In was also frustrated that there was no enforcement of the lap swim. while there is a family pool there were a bunch of kids playing in the lanes - and not just one lane they were jumping back and forth between lanes making it very difficult to do laps. The hotel is nice but more of a three when compared to the one in walnut creek which was definitely five star.

Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Beth W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RenaissanceClubSport, Manager at Renaissance ClubSport Aliso Viejo Laguna Beach Hotel, responded to this review, 10 July 2013
Dear Beth W,

Thank you for staying with us over the busy holiday weekend. We appreciate your candid feedback and please know we take your comments seriously in our continued quest to strive for customer service excellence, everyday - in everything we do. Here at Renaissance ClubSport, we will continue to look for opportunities to improve the guest experience as well as keep our property looking top-notch. There are some exciting initiatives happening now. We hope you will give us another try soon, so we can impress you with all the splendor that is the true Renaissance ClubSport way. Take good care and until next time...

Sincerely,

Michael Robby
Senior Hotel Sales Manager
michael.robby@clubsports.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grass Valley, California
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 29 June 2013

We arrived on June 28th, for a 2 day stay, we live in Lancaster CA, the weather forecast predicted 112 degrees there, so we escaped to cooler Aliso Viejo.
The service is excellent, all the staff is very well trained.
All the facilities are wonderful, including the pools. However the entire pool area was jam packed with small children, extremely loud, even the whirlpool was full of children around 6 year old, there were no seats available, all were taken. The Hotel advertises the pool and how wonderful it is, but they fail to mention that it is unbearable to spend any time there due to all the screaming children. The Hotel has some sort of membership for outsiders to use the facilities, since all these people came and went by car.
We were looking forward to a quiet weekend by a pool, but ended up staying in the room .
I just looked out window, at 5.50 PM, and counted 41 kids in the pools, I wonder if the pool filters are up to the job.

We are said to say we will never come back here, we were expecting something else from a 4 star Hotel

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TeriK8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, CA
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 June 2013

This was a very different experience. It's primary focus was the gym and secondary was the hotel. There are constantly regular gym members pulling up to valet park their cars during their workout. You can't. Access the lap pool without signing I. Which means kids can't come and go as they please. The gym is apparently top notch but I didn't have time to enjoy it being there with a kids sports team. The rooms are nice but the frosted glass doors on the bathroom don't allow parents to rise and not wake sleeping kids. The bathroom was large and clean but no good vent so it steamed up quickly. We had a room with 2 beds but they were full size not queens so they were dinky for this 5'11 gal and my boyfriend. The sheets were a,azing.y amooth and soft. The Mattress and pillows were very comfortable too. The desk area has a lot of outlets, perfect
For charging. There is a Starbucks in the lobby but it doesn't serve coffee. There is a quickie bar by the pool but it closes at 5. There is a large parking structure with elevator so no parking issues. The valet staff was very friendly. No quick breakfast. There is a mini 'restaurant' but it costs an avg of $15/pp for breakfast which was less than stellar. The pot of eggs were the most disgusting eggs dish I have ever eaten. My kids wouldn't eat it either. Overall beautiful And classy but not the type of place friendly to kids or a team of families.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank skittlebean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 June 2013

I really wanted to like this hotel. I enjoy working out when I travel and thought that this would be the perfect hotel to stay at. The fitness club is top notch. That part I liked. However, the hotel lacks a level of professionalism that I expect from a Renaissance hotel. The employees were friendly enough, but I felt that they needed some older more experienced professionals running the show. Walls are really thin, so you can hear your neighbors which I didn't like. Also, there are a lot of kids running around, which makes your stay less relaxing. It was like booking a hotel at an elementary school.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cuaman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RenaissanceClubSport, Director of Sales at Renaissance ClubSport Aliso Viejo Laguna Beach Hotel, responded to this review, 17 June 2013
Dear Cuaman,

Thanks for writing your review, and for the kind words about ClubSport. Here at Renaissance, we consistently strive for excellence in every hotel guest interaction, while keeping your experience delightful from the moment you arrive. One service we offer is to customize your hotel stay via a guest profile - your special requests, preferences and anything to make your stay a perfect experience, can be notated in advance of your arrival. That said, we'd love to have you back with us again and we can ensure a more peaceful, exclusive experience in another part of our hotel tower.
Again, thank you for choosing Renaissance ClubSport, and we hope to see you again soon !

Sincerely,

Michael Robby
Senior Hotel Sales Manager
michael.robby@clubsports.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Aliso Viejo
0.1 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Aliso Viejo Laguna Beach
4.3 mi away
The Inn At Laguna Beach
The Inn At Laguna Beach
#5 of 22 in Laguna Beach
736 reviews
4.4 mi away
Capri Laguna On The Beach
Capri Laguna On The Beach
#3 of 22 in Laguna Beach
406 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.2 mi away
Pacific Edge Hotel on Laguna Beach
2.0 mi away
Ayres Hotel Laguna Woods
Ayres Hotel Laguna Woods
#1 of 1 in Laguna Woods
639 reviews
4.9 mi away
The Ranch at Laguna Beach
The Ranch at Laguna Beach
#2 of 22 in Laguna Beach
695 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Renaissance ClubSport Aliso Viejo Laguna Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Renaissance ClubSport Aliso Viejo Laguna Beach Hotel

Property: Renaissance ClubSport Aliso Viejo Laguna Beach Hotel
Address: 50 Enterprise, Aliso Viejo, CA 92656-6026 (Formerly Renaissance ClubSport Aliso Viejo Hotel)
Region: United States > California > Orange County > Aliso Viejo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Aliso Viejo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Renaissance ClubSport Aliso Viejo Laguna Beach Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 174
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Transform your upcoming vacation or business trip into an inspiring journey when you stay at the Renaissance ClubSport Aliso Viejo Laguna Beach Hotel. Our resort-style hotel offers spacious guest rooms featuring contemporary furnishings, plush bedding, modern technologies and complimentary Wi-Fi. Let the stress melt away at R Spa, our full-service day spa, or enjoy a rewarding workout session with available personal training and nutrition counseling at ClubSport, our state-of-the-art fitness center. Our Renaissance is home to Citrus Fresh Grill, offering flavorful New American dishes including a menu of healthy options under 485 calories. With 5,500 square feet of event space, our Aliso Viejo hotel is ideal for memorable weddings and corporate meetings. Guests at our hotel will enjoy easy access to Disneyland(R), Laguna Beach and a wide variety of upscale shopping and dining. Enjoy unexpected luxury and thoughtful amenities at every turn when you stay at the Renaissance ClubSport Aliso Viejo Laguna Beach Hotel ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Priceline, Ebookers, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Renaissance ClubSport Aliso Viejo Laguna Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Renaissance Clubsport Aliso Viejo Hotel Aliso Viejo
Renaissance Aliso Viejo
Aliso Viejo Renaissance
Renaissance ClubSport Aliso Viejo Laguna Beach Hotel California

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing