We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Renaissance ClubSport Aliso Viejo Laguna Beach Hotel
Nearby Hotels
US$142
Homewood
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$175
US$168
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Laguna Hills Lodge(Laguna Hills)(Great Value!)
US$116
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Fairfield Inn Mission Viejo Orange County(Mission Viejo)(Great Value!)
US$140
Fairfield Inn
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$121
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$121
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Holiday Inn Laguna Beach(Laguna Beach)(Great Value!)
US$155
HolidayInn.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$162
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Laguna Brisas Hotel(Laguna Beach)(Great Value!)
US$132
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Laguna Beach Inn(Laguna Beach)(Great Value!)
US$129
US$126
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (333)
Filter reviews
333 results
Traveller rating
153
115
34
19
12
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
153
115
34
19
12
Show reviews that mention
All reviewshealth clubfitness centerlaguna beachfitness classescitrus grillamazing gymhotel gueststown centrebasketball courttoll roadsteam roomfamily poolhotel gymsports facilityself parkingfree weightslarge shower
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
177 - 182 of 333 reviews
Reviewed 31 July 2014

We checked in easily, got our keys and then found that the keys did not work; Luckily, a representative from housekeeping was nearby ( their room on the floor was directly across from our room) who let us in and arranged to have key delivered. Unfortunately, the housekeeping room was directly across from our room and the door was open a lot in the early evening (8-11p) and a lot of loud conversations were heard. We ordered room service as the kids wanted desert. The cookies were stale and the RS rep spilled my wine before delivering it to me. Promised to return ASAP (actually came 25 min later) and stated that it was on the house. it wasn't.
Finally, the room came with a pull out sofa bed, however there was no linen in the closets and we had to call to have sheets brought in and the bed made.The king bed in the room was covered by a nice mattress topper,however the sheet did not encase the mattress at all and there was no mattress pad encasing the mattress.. With movement, the topper of course moved exposing a bare mattress. I cannot think that this is in anyway appropriate in a hotel with the multitude of guests sleeping on a surface that cannot be cleaned daily.
On the room service menu for breakfast there was a place to indicate time for delivery. We put 6:00am-6:15 as we had to leave very early for an event.
No lie, at 6:15 room service calls our room and asks if we really wanted our food at that hour. When I stated, yes of course. they said they would bring it as soon as it was ready. To top it off, the food was not good. The croissants were stale and there was a lot of excess grease on the bacon.
This room was very pricey and we will not stay here again.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 980mary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2014

The room is nice, but they try to be so trendy that many things are not functional. Got a roll away, worked great unless you wanted to lay on it. Warning, do not leave personal items out, came back from the wedding to find all of the shoe boxes, suit and dress covers (placed in the closet) thrown away. Finally, ask about parking before you do so - $100 for three days parking. Don't question them either, had the guy (appeared to be in charge of some kind) tell me he told me on the phone how expensive it was. When I told him I never called him he pretty much told me I was a liar (to be honest, his exact words were "I know I talked to you"). In the end, at least they were very very courteous when they said how sad they were and handed me the bill. Oh, BTW, I will not be staying there again.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Barth M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2014

Excellent room (spacious, good shower amenities, big bed with 6 pillows), great fitness and pool facilities (good variety of equipment, free classes, details right down to fruit-infused water, heated whirlpool), great food at the bistro (eg. smoothies) and the grill (fish tacos are really good!).

Good service as well.

About 15 mins walk to the town centre and 20 mins to Anaheim Disneyland by cab without traffic.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Rex_raccoon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2014

We selected this property primarily because it was only a short distance from the Pageant of the Masters. It delivered other advantages. The hotel offered free access to an excellent workout facility. The pool area was lovely. Our room was spacious. We enjoyed free parking in a structure that was very close to the property. Staff was friendly and gracious. There were a few downsides. Despite a large showerhead in the European-style shower, the flow was weak. The bathroom lighting was designed to automatically go on upon approach so a visit there in the middle of the night could awaken someone sleeping in the bedroom. Since the bathroom door was made of glass, the light could continue to irritate the sleeper. As the sleeper, I was not happy. The towels were scratchy. A simple breakfast for the two of us cost more than 40 dollars with tip.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Debra-Lynne T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RenaissanceClubSport, Director of Sales at Renaissance ClubSport Aliso Viejo Laguna Beach Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 July 2014

Dear Debra-Lynne T,

Thanks for choosing the Renaissance ClubSport Hotel for your recent visit to the Laguna Beach area and the famous Pageant of the Masters festival. We hope you enjoyed the show and discovered something wonderfully new during your time in this area.

Your experience in the hotel and our deluxe guestrooms is also very important to us in our on-going commitment to providing the best possible hotel stay for our guests in this unique location, near Laguna Beach. We will follow up on the items you mentioned, as well, we'd like to invite you to come back again soon - it would be my pleasure to personally assist you and ensure a perfect hotel stay in one of our best guestrooms. Please let me know.

As you experienced, our Aliso Viejo hotel near Laguna Beach, is a unique blend of full-service hotel and world-class sports club. Guests enjoy our trademark Renaissance hospitality with complimentary access to ClubSport, a 75,000-square-foot fitness resort complete with a massive fitness floor, six group exercise studios, aquatic center, splash park and childcare services. Additionally, we are only 5 miles away from the international resort destination of Laguna Beach, which awaits you with its famous Pacific coastline – just minutes away in Laguna Canyon, guests can experience seasonal events such as the famous Pageant of the Masters festival, the Sawdust Festival, the Festival of the Arts, and more.

Thanks for choosing Renaissance Hotels and remember to live life to discover!

Sincerely,

Michael Robby
Director of Hotel Sales
michael.robby@clubsports.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2014 via mobile

I stayed 3 nights on business at the hotel. To note are the very large rooms (compared to city hotels) and the great bath. Really good breakfast buffet as well. You need a car! Walking to the next shops is easily 15-20min. Downside: A bit pricy for a place that far out. I would definitely recommend it.

Stayed: February 2014
Thank HuskyMNL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RenaissanceClubSport, Director of Sales at Renaissance ClubSport Aliso Viejo Laguna Beach Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 25 July 2014

Dear DT78MNL,

Thank you for staying with us at the Renaissance ClubSport Hotel - your feedback and comments are very important to us and we appreciate your time to write your review for the reference of future hotel guests.

As you know, at our Aliso Viejo hotel near Laguna Beach, we have created a unique blend of full-service hotel and world-class sports club. Guests enjoy our trademark Renaissance hospitality with complimentary access to ClubSport, a 75,000-square-foot fitness resort complete with a massive fitness floor, six group exercise studios, aquatic center, splash park and childcare services. Guests can seamlessly integrate a workout with relaxation, rejuvenate at the R Spa, and savor locally-inspired cuisine at Citrus Fresh Grill.

Renaissance ClubSport is located just 5 miles from the picturesque coastline of Laguna Beach. Being so close to this international resort destination of Laguna Beach with its famous canyons and coastline – we try to offer a solid value for families and business travelers alike, with the peace of mind at you are staying with a Marriott brand hotel.

Thanks for choosing Renaissance Hotels.

Sincerely,

Michael Robby
Director of Hotel Sales
michael.robby@clubsports.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews